Sichuan Cuisine: Yong and Its Soul-stirring Chinese Aesthetic

Housed in a century-old villa in the Dongshankou old town of Guangzhou, restaurant Yong, owned by vessel collector, investor and Sichuan cuisine master Lan Guijun, has become a veritable treasure-house of culture and gastronomy. Through refurbishment and landscape redesign, the building evokes an aura of yore as if we were going back in time while enjoying Master Lan’s cuisine. It is heart-warming to see the time-honoured and almost forgotten oriental aesthetic come alive again.

@TastyTrip YouTube

The villa is a 1918 Republican building, acquired by restaurant owner and redesigned by a landscape architect. The original name Xi’an Garden has been retained, as well as its basic structure. Decorations were made to walls, the ceiling and flooring to fully reflect Chinese elements. The high ceiling of private dining rooms was applied a coat of gold leaf by a Macau-based master with 30 years’ experience, giving it a contemporary feel and even more stunning is the warm, soft glow created by partial lighting on the metallic surface adding a beautiful reflective quality to the room. A classical, serene ambience fills the space as guests profoundly admire at the owner’s collection of exquisite ceramics from Tang and Song dynasties.

Upon entering Yong, you can only marvel at the fact that there is a story to tell about each and every sight: the entrance door is made of golden phoebe nanmu wood; the stepping stone under the door is Ming Dynasty volcanic rock; the staircase is made of white marble from Qu Yang in Hebei province; the floor is made of granite from Hunan province. Each of the tables in the restaurant is varnished by a lacquering technique that involves natural drying of the coat which results in different patina on the surface due to varying weather conditions. Each table takes months to make. It’s truly eye-opening to see such an intensive and elaborate use of Chinese aesthetic in a restaurant.

There is a camphor tree in the front courtyard, surrounded by Guangzhou cherry trees. Imagine how romantic the courtyard would be during the flowering season. The restaurant’s private dining rooms take their names from the Lantingji Xu (or Preface to the Poems Collected from the Orchid Pavilion), a Chinese calligraphy masterpiece written by the well-known calligrapher Wang Xizhi from the Eastern Jin dynasty (317 – 420).

There are few restaurants in my knowledge that focus so much on Chinese aesthetic. The fusion of China’s rich history and aesthetic at Yong is also reflected in its cuisine, which, led by Master Lan and Head Chef Zhang Jian, features signature dishes from Yuzhilan Chengdu, as well as Chef Zhang’s personal creations. 

The pre-meal tea is Roasted Mountain Oolong & Yunnan Crimson Rose, where rose pedals serenely float in the warm and mellow tea liquor, conveying the beauty of oriental tea rituals. Then, we have a small bowl of chestnut soup made from two different types of sweet chestnuts in season. A complex process of roasting, boiling and steaming is necessary to bring out the natural sweetness of the chestnuts, making it a perfect soup for a wet and cold winter day in Guangzhou.

Cold dishes are an important part in a Sichuan banquet. The following six cold plates are each impressive and together beautifully presented in a silver food box. Peppery Chicken with Scallion is a delightful dish made with deboned Qingyuan chicken thigh marinated with fresh peppercorns and ginger before being rolled and boiled in low heat and then chilled. The sauce is made with homemade red chilli oil, Sichuan green peppercorn and scallion. A local fare from Dazhou in Sichuan, the Crispy Shredded Beef is paper-thin, spicy and numbing. The Rose-infused Lanzhou Lily Bulbs have natural sweetness and are pleasantly refreshing.

Roasted Mountain Oolong & Yunnan Crimson Rose / Cold dishes

Chicken Feet with Pickled Pepper by Master Chef Lan can be ordered here. Spiny Lobster with Five-colour Noodles is one of my favourite, which includes homemade five-colour noodles, crispy fried lobster tail and kung pao lobster. The plating of colourful noodles has upgraded; the lobster tail is deep-fried in Sichuan style until crispy and sprinkled with chili powder and rattan pepper powder, leaving a slightly tingling sensation between the lips; the lobster meat simmered in lobster broth is perfectly cooked a bit loose in the center and paired with a sweet and sour kung pao flavour sauce to complement its umami and freshness. 

Spiny Lobster with Five-colour Noodles

At Yong, dishes are served by calculating the total amount of food normally consumed by each diner and controlling how many ingredients should be allocated for each dish. This way, diners can enjoy the food without the worry of overeating. It would be difficult to achieve this with the usual Chinese style service (everyone helping themselves from the same dish).

After cold dishes, we are served Chef Lan’s signature dish – Golden Thread Noodles. The noodles are as thin as silver needles, and the rich, full-bodied soup base inspired from Steamed Chinese Cabbage in Supreme Soup is more like a French consommé. It’s a kongfu dish that requires masterful knife skills. I can imagine the effort Head Chef Zhang Jian has paid to grasp Master Lan’s techniques.

Spiny lobster, shrimps and black tiger prawns are stewed together to produce a thick, gelatinous soup before being cooled down and solidified into a tantalizing prawn jelly. A selection of 12-year Russian sturgeon caviar is added to enhance the umami of the soup through fermented flavours. Pine nuts are garnished on top and the small crunchy biscuit on the bottom adds to complexity in texture. Significant improvement in the preparation process. The stewed fish maw features aged matsutake from Yunnan and chicken broth. The fish maw is simmered to tender but not sticky while the earthy mushroom brings out the original flavour of the ingredients. A warming and nourishing dish.

Golden Thread Noodles / Caviar Prawn Jelly

Yong’s set menu includes grilled dishes, which is probably the biggest difference in menu design compared to Yuzhilan Chengdu. Seafood is a strong point here. Chef Zhang demonstrates skilful chargrilling with great handling of food’s doneness. It would be tastier if the seared pomfret was more fatty that day though, probably due to the catch. Next up is wild morel mushroom filled with succulent Wagyu beef, whose oil is used to sauté the morel until full of buttery and meaty aromas. The finishing touch – green peppercorn powder – adds to the addictive numbness of the Sichuan flavour. The dish is beautifully presented in a philosophy of simplicity.

Chargrilled Pompano with Pickled Peppers/Morel Mushroom filled with Wagyu beef

Sun-dried using a special method from Iwate Prefecture in Japan, 18-head South African cold-water Yoshihama abalone is slowly simmered for 6-10 hours in a thick stock that’s been stewed for over 20 hours with Japanese dried scallops, local chicken and Jinhua ham. The soup comes out thick, velvety in the end and is enhanced by adding Chinese baijiu for a winy finish. It is the longest cooking dish on the menu. The firm, chewy abalone is further complemented by organic Wuchang rice, pearl rice and a thick, savoury sauce that trickles a lasting aftertaste. 

Different from Yuzhilan Chengdu’s version, the Chaoshan-style Crispy Sea Cucumber & Hot and Sour Glass Noodles is developed by Chef Zhang. Wild caught sea cucumber from Aomori is simmered in clear chicken broth and stuffed with minced Iberico pork and morels, deep-fried until crispy on the outside and tender inside. The pairing sauce is made with chicken broth and pumpkin puree, boasting umami notes and savoury aftertaste. A small bowl of chicken broth-based hot and sour glass noodles is served immediately afterwards, changing the flavour from mild to exciting. The Chef works late almost every night to ensure all soups and sauces are freshly made over a long period of time, so that guests can enjoy nourishing and airy dishes at Yong.

Yoshihama Abalone / Crispy Sea Cucumber · Hot and Sour Noodles

Next is an outstanding main course developed by Chef Zhang. 28-day Zhongshan Shiqi squab breast is dry-aged for four days before being roasted until the skin is crispy and meat juicy. Fresh sweetcorn is chargrilled and served on side. The finishing dish is still vegetable in spring water, and this time was taro.

Squab Breast / Vegetable in Spring Water

Yong’s cuisine is based on a variety of soups with highlights of charcoal grilling. Chinese flavours, or more specifically Sichuan flavours, are the charming mainstay but techniques like deep-frying and grilling bring a touch of Japanese kaiseki.

Were we in Guangzhou or Chengdu? I almost couldn’t tell. Here, I see the meaning of heritage. After a hundred years, Yong has restored this historical building to its natural patina and past glory.

-END-

Author: Jocelyn 华姐Photo: Daniel Zhu/Yong

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 329

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】广州川菜蘭亭永,诉尽暧暧内含光的中式美学

在广州老城区东山口的一栋百年历史建筑中,由器物收藏投资人与川菜大师兰桂均师傅开设的餐厅「蘭亭永」进驻后成为一座由美食引领的文化宝库,透过造景专家的改造唤回历史中那段光辉的片刻,再透过美的演绎,让人彷彿进入时光隧道,在大历史中品尝兰师傅的料理。看见那沉睡百年几乎被人遗忘的中式美学再度活跃,足以让人感动万分。

@TastyTrip YouTube

蘭亭永所在建筑是1918年民国时期所建,餐厅主理人买下后找来造景师傅重新活化空间,保留当时「锡安园」的称号,不更动结构,但是在墙面、天花板到地板内部空间则极尽中国之美加以修饰,其中特别找来澳门有30年经验的老师傅运用传统金箔工艺,将天花板贴金做旧,呈现时代感,再透过局部光线让空间反射黄金那内敛、柔和的光线,类似烛光的明暗带来古典氛围,在挑高的包间中,让人沉静下来观赏主人收集的唐宋陶瓷器皿。

一走进蘭亭永只有惊叹,当中的一景一物都有故事可述,如金丝楠木打造的大门,进门脚下踩的石头是江南园林的常见建筑用料明代火山岩,楼梯材料是河北曲阳的汉白玉大理石,地板使用湖南的青石等等。餐厅中的每一张桌子使用大漆工艺,要求自然风干呈现桌子不同色泽,每张桌子需费时数月才完工。也许是我眼界不够,第一次看到如此考究的中国历史美学运用在餐厅里。

在前厅的院子,还有一颗香樟树作为迎客树,四周种植广州樱,想象若是开花季节,这座前庭有多诗情画意。餐厅的牌坊、包厢所有取名来自兰亭集序,都是中国历史的顶级艺术。

记忆里甚少有一家餐厅如此讲究中式美学。「蘭亭永」融合历史与中国美学,更体现在料理的部分,在兰师傅与厨师长张健手艺下,有成都玉芝兰的经典菜品,也更多了张健的个人风格。

一开餐的餐前茶使用云南无量山的炭焙乌龙与云南墨香玫瑰,玫瑰花瓣悠游在棕色茶汤中,传达美的诗意。一开始的栗汤采用两种当季栗子制作,淡淡的栗香,细心品尝下无比甘甜,这道汤品制作过程繁复,是经过烤、煮、蒸等多道程序才能淬炼出栗子最自然的鲜甜,是广州湿冷雨季的暖心料理。

冷菜也是川菜宴席中的重头戏之一,接下来的六道冷菜样样精彩,美丽的摆在银制食盒中,其灵感来源于古代食盒。冷菜中椒麻葱香鸡讨喜,使用清远骟鸡将大鸡腿剔骨后保留鸡皮,再以鲜花椒和姜腌制,做成鸡肉卷经低温水煮后冰镇。椒麻葱油汁是自制红油与青花椒、葱调制,鸡肉入味又能保留鸡肉原味。灯影牛肉片薄如纸,滋味麻辣鲜脆,这道菜是四川达州的地方传统名食。玫瑰浸百合取兰州百合也带有自然甜味。

无量山野放炭焙乌龙与云南墨香玫瑰/冷菜

在这也可品尝到兰师傅的招牌菜泡椒凤爪。其他让我特别喜爱的有刺龙虾五彩怪味面,包含五彩自制冷面、酥炸小青龙虾尾肉,冷宫保溏心龙虾肉。五彩面摆盘有升级的美感,酥炸虾尾分別撒海椒面和藤椒面,兼具川菜的辣和麻味,酥炸方式采传统四川炸酥肉方式处理。龙虾肉考究的以龙虾汤煨制,搭配宫保酱汁,低温慢煮的龙虾熟度控制绝佳,口感溏心,保留咬劲与龙虾的鲜甜滋味,宫保酱汁也浓淡适中,没有覆盖龙虾本身的鲜甜。

有刺龙虾五彩怪味面

在蘭亭永是采西餐控制每人食物总重量的作法,精准拿捏食物总重量再去分配每道菜的食材多寡,能够享受美食而无负担,这是以合菜方式较难达到的。

冷菜之后是兰师傅的经典菜大刀坐杠金丝面,面条细如银针,汤底用的开水白菜中的高级清汤,而浓郁醇厚的程度更像法式清汤。这是一道需要刀工的功夫菜,厨师长张健能承袭兰师傅手艺实属不易。

再来是鱼子酱虾冻膏,使用三种不同风味的虾熬成浓汤,冷却后成为汤膏,再利用鱼子酱的咸鲜味与爆开的口感,提升虾汤膏化开的鲜度,上面有松子,再以塔饼承装,塔皮薄脆,料理工艺有显著提升。清炖花胶是搭配云南大理的陈化松茸与鸡汤,花胶炖煮的糯而不黏,加上松茸的鲜香,完全展现食材本味,起温润养身之效。

大刀坐杠金丝面/鱼子酱虾冻膏

蘭亭永的套餐中包含烤物,这是与成都玉芝兰菜单设计上最大的分水岭。其中海鲜是强项,厨师长张健展现熟练的碳烤技艺,生熟度拿捏得当,碳烤泡椒海捕鲳鲹可能是因食材关系,当天鲳鲹本身的油脂稍低。接下来是香煎羊肚菌和牛,羊肚菌中填入和牛,使用和牛本身的油脂煎羊肚菌,外皮酥脆,和牛馅汁水饱满,以青花椒粉装饰盘底,采大道至简的哲学,摆盘优美。

碳烤泡椒海捕鲳鲹/香煎羊肚菌和牛

鲍鱼选用十八头的南非冷风带吉品干鲍,再以日本岩手特有的吊晒工艺风干,鲍鱼泡发后以日本干贝贝柱、土鸡、金华火腿熬制20几个小时的浓汤小火慢炖6~10个小时,熬出浓醇的豉香味,是师傅花时间熬汤做菜时间最长的一道菜,搭配了有机东北五常大米跟珍珠糯伴浓稠酱汁食用才是完美的一道菜。

脆皮青参配酸辣粉有别于成都玉芝兰的版本,是厨师长张健以潮汕作法研发,把黑毛猪肉末加入羊肚菌做成内馅镶进海参里,再高温酥炸使海参外脆内嫩,搭配松茸鸡汤加南瓜泥调制的酱汁。上菜时温度控制得宜,紧接来一小碗鸡汤做底的酸辣粉,口味由温润转为刺激,起到改口作用。兰师傅讲究天然本味,所有汤品与酱汁都是长时间熬制,师傅每天熬汤到很晚,才能带给宾客滋养无负担的料理。

本色原味吉品鲍鱼/脆皮青参·酸辣粉

接下来的主菜豉香熟成乳鸽采碳烤方式,表皮酥脆,肉质鲜嫩多汁,搭配切平的碳烤玉米,这道菜是张健自创菜,表现杰出。最后依旧是回到自然原味的白水菜,这次食材是槟榔芋。

豉香熟成乳鸽/白水菜

蘭亭永的料理为各式高汤为基底加上碳烤,具有中式味型,但因有炸、烤物,有些怀石的意味,川菜味型依旧是基底,表现不落俗套。

但让最动人的是,当夜是在广州还是在成都?我分不清楚,在这里我看到了传承的意义,百年后的今天,蘭亭永以开放、自然、朴实的方式,活化了这栋历史建筑。

-END-

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Daniel Zhu/蘭亭永餐厅官方

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 329

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料