Newly Awarded One Michelin Star – Wang Yong and Friends’ Spring

Hangzhou Michelin announced today that Wang Yong, the chef at Hangzhou Four Seasons Jinsha Restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star. Hangzhou Michelin has a total of 6-star restaurants, with all have been awarded one star. Looking back to my visit to Hangzhou in early April, I had the opportunity to visit Jin Sha, where one can savour the expertise of Chef Wang Yong in Shanghainese and Zhejiang cuisine. In addition to seasonal menus that change every year, there is also a bespoke Chef’s Private Menu that’s designed to reflect culinary insights and inspirations Chef Wang has gained from travelling in search of exotic cuisines and global flavours.

@tastytrip YouTube

Chef Wang says the Private Menu is a conclusion for the inspirations accumulated during the past year of travel and reading, and a way to share fun, delicious dishes with good friends. Even though the inherently experimental menu may not be very rational, it is widely celebrated for its boundless innovation among regular customers and Chef’s friends. Each year, the much-anticipated Private Menu is always full of surprises and exciting highlights.

Early April is when Hangzhou enters its most beautiful season. This time, the menu features fresh seasonal ingredients crafted into a total of 11 dishes alongside 7 pairing wines, set in a lively ambience with stunningly vibrant decorations. Keller’s versatile Rieslings are selected. With their fresh and vibrant aromas, crisp acidity, and pronounced fruit flavours, the Rieslings are perfect for a variety of dishes no matter they are fried, richly sauced, or spice-laden.

The first cold starter echoes the theme of this year’s Private Menu – spring. Chef Wang combinesspring blossoms and broad bean puree, along with Yunnan citron, to symbolise that every fruit begins with a flower, but not every flower results in a fruit. The pleasantly astringent taste is balanced with a slight bitterness of citron jelly and chrysanthemum greens. The dish expresses Chef Wang’s most intuitive feeling about spring.

Chef Wang Yong has a special fondness for Guangzhou, a city that’s famous for serving some of the best chicken dishes in South China. To honour one of his favourite dishes – salt-baked chicken, Chef Wang presents salt-baked geoduck that captivates a variety of complex flavours of the spices while retaining the chewy texture and seafood aroma of the geoduck.

Spring Blossoms, Broad Bean, Cédrat Jelly/Salt-Baked Geoduck Clam

Dublin Bay prawn is paired with sweet and rich pine nut and a refreshing peppermint sauce to form a unique flavour scheme. Next up is chicken soup seasoned with white pepper, accompanied by herbal and slightly citric basil, typha latifolia (broadleaf cattail) and tender Australian abalone slices.

Dublin Bay Prawn, Pine Nut & Peppermint/Chicken Consommé, Sliced Australian Abalone Typha Latifolia Basil

The pairing logic for the next three dishes is determined by Heloise Huang, Market Director of L’Imperatrice Fine Wines (a HK-based wine importer), to match for similar intensity and textures. Kirschspiel, placed at the forefront, is more delicate. Hubacker has a broader and richer profile with prominent tropical fruit flavours, making it a suitable pairing for the garlic dish. Morstein at the end is grand and complete.

The soft-tender Qianjiang eel is grilled in honey glaze and coupled with fried sea urchin and a shrimp tomalley & pickled bamboo shoot sauce blended with ginger juice. An extremely rich and layered combination which made me want to ask for a bowl of rice.Would a white pepper soup perhaps be a good choice to cleanse the palate?

The next dish comes impressively rich as well. Creamy pufferfish roe is blanched in oil, baked in a pot of milky Cheddar cheese and topped with a luscious layer of golden fried garlic.

Jack Mackerel,Plum Sauce Jelly/Grilled Globefish Roe, Fried Garlic, Cheddar Cheese

In 2022, Chef Wang visited many places in China. After visiting Changsha, the capital of Hunan Province, he developed a special liking for the gingery-spicy flavour, as he found that dishes from South China are typically less hot but rely heavily on the use of ginger as a seasoning.Spring saury fish is considered one of the best ingredients in season. The fish is deboned, stuffed into fish maw and cooked in a gelatinous broth made from ginger-spiced duck feet. The process is time-consuming and requires meticulous technique, but Chef Wang says this is what he finds to be the most interesting part: Hunan cooking techniques are employed with a lavish use of ginger and chili, retaining the tender texture of the fish maw and the original umami of the saury fish.

Braised Spring Saury, Fish Maw, Ginger

Braised cherry wagyu beef is served with spring bamboo and crunchy Chinese broccoli for extra texture. This is the Wagyu version of the soy sauce braised pork. Quite an amount of wine has been consumed at this point.

Based on garden peas and pork sauce, the dish also features tender mini shrimps and steamed rice. The shrimps are sourced from Qingdao, a coastal city in Shandong province. The locals there refer to these shrimps as “nano shrimps” because of their tiny size. Interestingly, Chef Wang felt that the “nano shrimps” didn’t quite highlight the cuteness of these delicate creatures and decided to call them “mini shrimps”.

Cherry Wagyu Beef, Spring Bamboo, Chinese Broccoli/Braised Rice, Shrimp & Pork Sauce

The steamed rice is mixed with pork sauce, mini shrimps and a dash of shrimp paste to make the dish full of flavour and texture. The shrimp doesn’t have a lot of fats so the addition of pork sauce provides extra richness and makes the overall mouthfeel more layered and satisfying. The sweet and smooth garden peas complement the dish beautifully, which I couldn’t resist asking for more of.

The first dessert is a refreshing and delightful Bird’s Nest with Loquat Dew. Chef Wang has a special affection for the cherry blossom season and enjoys delicacies such as Sakura-flavoured mochi and salted Sakura. Inspired by this, he made a Sakura sorbet, which carries a hint of tartness of salted plums, serving as a palate cleanser after the preceding powerful courses.

Loquat Dew, Bird’s Nest/Sea Salt Sakura Sherbet

The most impressive part came after the dessert: the hidden menu! The group of satiated diners was invited into the kitchen, where we were greeted by a joyful array of baked wheat pancake, fried dough sticks and savoury tofu pudding, as if we were inside a Chinese breakfast eatery. A complete reflection of Chef’s playful personality! To prepare for the surprise, Chef Wang specially ordered a baking oven to make the pancakes, and I have to say it’s the most delicious pancake I have ever tasted, perhaps because we had so much fun that day.
As Chef Wang says, it is a blessing to spend a lovely April day with your beloved people.

– Review on Jin Sha –

 

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Jin Sha/Katherine

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 329

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】新晋米其林一星-杭州金沙厅王勇与好友们的春天之约

杭州米其林今日公布,杭州四季金沙厅王勇摘下一星。杭州米其林一共6家星级餐厅,皆为一星。回想到四月初回上海时,拜访了杭州金沙厅,在金沙厅可以品尝到王勇擅长的本帮菜与江浙菜系,一年的时令菜单以及私人订制的“主厨私宴”,菜单则是他旅途的感悟与结晶,也是他这一年对食材与菜品的理解和表达。

@tastytrip YouTube

王勇说:“一开始办主厨私宴的初衷是对自己一年旅行、看书等所累积的灵感的一个‘释放点’,就想为自己做一年总结,有趣、好玩、好吃的菜品与好朋友分享。” 所以这并不是非常理性的菜单,甚至有点实验性,除了老客户可以预订外,也邀请好朋友来品尝分享他“天马行空“的创意,每一年总是让人万分期待,这一场高潮迭起的飨宴。

今年四月初杭州最美的春季,宴席以春季时令食材为主,用餐空间也布置的如梦似幻,充满少女心。这场妙趣横生的私宴共为宾客呈现了11道菜式与7款配酒。这次配酒由母仪美酒综合菜单的味型选了keller的雷司令。雷司令是配餐全能手,高酸犀利但又风味足够充沛宏大,尤其是成熟度好的酒款果味的甜感比较突出,所以无论是油炸、浓油赤酱还是香料味很重的菜都好搭。

第一道冷菜,正值杭州最美的时候。而今年主厨私宴的主题是春季。对于春天来说,最直观的感受就是花朵盛开。所以主厨王勇用菜花和蚕豆泥做了个搭配,里面加了云南的香橼,代表着春天的繁花盛开,但不一定所有的瓜果都会结果。这道菜有一种青涩的味道,所以主厨王勇选择了带点苦味的香橼冻,配菜是菊花菜。这道菜表达了主厨王勇对春天最直观的感觉。
主厨王勇特别喜欢广州这个城市。在广州,最好吃的当然是鸡。他特别喜欢吃盐焗鸡,所以用盐焗的方式做了一道象拔蚌菜。盐焗最迷人的地方在于香料的搭配,入口时有各种复杂的香味,但最终会带来象拔蚌的甜味,保留了鲜美的口感和海鲜的香气。

春花 蚕豆泥 香橼冻/盐焗象拔蚌

薄荷汁和鳌虾,鳌虾与松子搭配,松子的油性与甜味相互呼应。从鳌虾尾部开始吃,搭配了松仁和薄荷酱,味道清新而独特。接下来是汤品,白胡椒鸡汤,鸡汤以白胡椒调味,搭配了香气扑鼻的九层塔蒲菜和嫩滑的鲍片。

薄荷松仁 大鳌虾/白胡椒鸡汤 九层塔蒲菜 鲍片

接下来三道菜的搭配逻辑,母仪美酒的市场总监王怡芸(Heloise Huang)按照菜的味道浓度和质感厚度来配酒,kirschpiel是比较纤长的风格所以放在最前面,hubacker宽厚、热带水果味比较突出,所以配炸蒜势均力敌,最后的morstein是最宏大且complete的。
钱江鳗鱼经过蜜汁烤制,口感鲜嫩,搭配了炸海胆和虾头酱笋姜汁,层次丰富。非常的重口,此时又需要一碗白饭。也许白胡椒汤来清口效果会更好?
随后又来一个重击,油浸河豚白籽,芝上金蒜:河豚白籽经过油浸处理,口感鲜嫩,整锅的芝士焗白籽撒上炸至金黄的蒜头,增添了奶香和蒜香的风味。

蜜汁钱江鳗鱼 炸海胆 虾头酱笋姜汁/油浸河豚白籽 芝士金蒜

2022年王勇主厨去了国内许多地方。在拜访长沙之后,他特别喜欢姜辣的味道。他认为江南或南方的菜肴更具特色,不太辣,而是有浓郁的姜香味。他使用了姜辣鸭掌的原理,将其中的胶质煲出来并过滤。待花胶酿刀鱼酿好后,再用这个提取出的汁液来煨煮。刀鱼是在春天里最好的食材之一,主厨将刀鱼去骨,只保留肉,将其酿在花胶上。这个工艺有一定的难度,但他觉得这是最有趣的部分。他们使用了湖南的烹饪技巧来演绎这道菜,用湖南的姜辣方式制作,使其汁液醇厚。同时保持了花胶的软糯口感,刀鱼则保持了原味。

姜辣花胶酿刀鱼

接下来红烧樱桃和牛搭配了鸡汁春笋和爽脆的芥兰,口感丰富。是平常红烧肉的和牛版本,此时已经相当费酒。
这道菜是小豌豆肉酱袖珍虾焖饭,以小豌豆和肉酱为基础,搭配了鲜嫩的袖珍虾和焖饭,味道美味可口。王勇起了个名字叫”秀珍”来形容这种袖珍虾。虾的原料来自青岛,但青岛的人告诉他们这种虾叫”纳米虾”,因为它很小。主厨觉得”纳米虾”这个名字不够合适,于是自己起了个名字”秀珍”,以形容这种小虾的可爱。

樱桃和牛 鸡汁春笋 芥兰/小豌豆 肉酱袖珍虾焖饭

主厨王勇用肉酱和秀珍虾搭配来捞饭,并加入了少许虾酱,独特气味,鲜味十足,米饭更有层次感。为什么加上肉酱呢?因为虾本身没有太多的油脂,口感就不够丰富,所以加入了肉酱的油脂,让虾更加饱满,口腔中的感觉更加丰富。搭配春天的小豌豆实在太美妙,这道菜的层次感非常出色,带来了不同的口感体验。忍不住追加了小豌豆。
甜品第一道是燕窝枇杷露:枇杷露中加入了燕窝,口感清凉爽口。雪葩以樱花为主题,制作成雪葩的形式。王勇主厨对樱花季节情有独钟,他喜欢樱花麻糬和樱花渍等美食。出于对樱花的喜爱,他尝试制作了樱花冰淇淋,它带有一丝梅子般的咸酸味道,对于前面连续重击起到清口的功效。

燕窝枇杷露/樱花雪葩

而最令人印象深刻的莫过于当晚甜点之后的隐藏菜单,已经酒足饭饱的众人被邀请入厨房,不禁发出惊呼!宴会厅的厨房顿时成为高级早餐店 “大饼油条配咸豆花”,完全体现了王勇的玩味个性。 为了这场餐后的惊喜,王勇还特别订制了烧饼烤炉,不得不说,这的确是我人生中最美味的烧饼,也许是当天太开心。

如王勇师傅说的,人间四月天能跟喜欢的人们一起度过,是幸福。

– 金沙厅影片回顾 –

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: 金沙厅/Katherine Gu
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:OAD亚洲上海UV夺冠;亚洲第七Florilège将迁新址

奉天繁华客座澳门永利;MONO x Me...

关闭