The Poem of Food: Refer is Empowering Beijing’s Culinary Scene

Nestled in the bustling streets of Beijing’s Taikoo Li Sanlitun, Refer has been invigorating the Capital’s culinary scene over the last three years since its opening. With an open mind and deep vision, Chef Talib Hudda draws on local terroir and refines techniques and flavour combinations as he transforms food into fine art. Revisiting Refer after almost two years, it was all the more touching.

TastyTrip Youtube Channel

I used to think Beijing is a “food desert”, especially for Western cuisine, but that has changed after Refer opened. Housed in a commercial building in Sanlitun, Refer ensures maximum privacy for guests: contacting staff is a must before you can access the floor where the restaurant is located. From arrival, reception, entering the lounge, through the kitchen and to the dining area, it is like visiting a friend’s place. A view of the busy streets outside is attainable through the window curtains, but this is a space where you can leave your troubles behind. You will be greeted by warm reception from the kitchen team as you enter the dining area, so full of energy as if covid had never existed.

Refer has all the qualities of a top-notch restaurant. With competence and confidence, Chef has insisted on doing a trifold menu that encompasses a vast range of ingredients, but each dish is dealt with utmost care and exquisite technique. The ability to combine perceptions, cooking skills and the art of plating with subtlety and elegance requires meticulous craftsmanship.

The first dish is a romantic Caviar Flower which is a classic item on the menu. It is a beautiful combination of ingredients and textures: a crispy shell of elderflower kombucha loaded with 9-year sturgeon caviar and garnished with petals of vinegared yellow beetroot, lily bulb and onion. The elegant plating is like presenting a flower bouquet to diners.

Next up is a rich and buttery Japanese bluefin tuna chutoro (mid-belly) aged for 5 days and wrapped in a sheet of caramelised seaweed crisp. The addition of 2-year shiso vinegar jelly adds delightful elements of sushi.I do have preference in sour taste but this dish is already top-tier.

Caviar flower / Bluefin

Although easily mistaken as a cheating dish, the Buckwheat Sandwich is surprisingly appetizing and yes, we are still in the appetisers section. Black buckwheat puff pastry is paired with A5 Wagyu beef tartar and wasabi mayonnaise, a perfect matcha as such. Rich, balanced and crisp, the dish is finished off by a final touch of Canadian sea urchin. Exact configuration of ingredients is the key and a strong suit of the chef.

Smooth and rich chicken liver mousse is garnished with crispy stout beer croustade, and brightened by a citrous black plum sauce, as well as Indian tellecherry pepper to jazz up the spice. Fresh cornflower pedals add a floral note to the finishing touch. A bite-size portion keeps the good taste at its best moment.

Buckwheat sandwich / Chicken liver

A fusion of Nordic style and Japanese ingredients, the dish depicts a peaceful winter sea and whalebone-white snow on the beach. Coriander cured Japanese mackerel is served with fresh cucumber and nanguo pear to enrobe the tender fish with a sweet and fruity flavour. Paired with bonito sauce, dill oil and crispy Chinese yam seasoned with chamomile vinegar, this delicacy splashes winter freshness on the tongue. I have strict standards for sashimi, but Refer’s detailed mastery of it is out of question. Another hamachi dish is dealt in both Chinese and Japanese methods and served with Chinese spring roll wrapper to enhance layer and complexity.

Coriander cured mackerel / Hamachi

A scallop dish that showcases the power of pink. Chef Talib says it brings together “all the pink in winter”. Brittany scallop is decorated with Beijing pink cheek strawberry and purple oxalis in a warm vinaigrette made from homemade rose vinegar and brown butter. Rose and scallop are a natural food pairing. The dish exudes an elegant aroma of rose and a warming sensation that takes the edge off the chill.

Inspired by the traditional French cold dish – Foie Gras Torchon, Refer’s foie gras is freshly shaved for a delicate texture and served with thin green apple slices and a jelly made from Tokushima sudachi juice for a refreshing taste. A dash of Chinese green peppercorn vinegar brings a unique tart, numbing twist.

Brittany Scallop / Foie gras

Lightly sizzled in a sea buckthorn BBQ sauce and coupled with marinated egg yolk, the delicate and tender scampi from New Zealand is further drizzled with Shaoxing Sauce Vin Jaune and decorated with homemade kumquat kosho. Fruity and spicy aromas intertwine as the rich and savoury flavours charm the taste buds away.

Lobster and rice cake, a long-standing classic on Refer’s menu, takes on a new look each year. But the thing that remains unchanged is it continues to satisfy both the Chinese and western palate. The Japanese broth cooked with cream produces an irresistible umami that will please everyone with its excellent warmth.

Wild Scampi / Blue lobster

The next dish is a chargrilled miso-marinated Alaskan black cod, similar to Saikyo yaki, but lighter in flavour, retaining the original flavour of the fish. The cod is perfectly cooked and topped off with a generous layer of caviar, coupled with walnut & oyster sauce, and a secret-recipe XO chili oil. You know how good it is just by reading these words.

We were served Jiabeilan wine from Ningxia to pair the province’s another much sought-after delicacy – Tan sheep. The mutton is cooked in three ways: chargrilled loin, slow-cooked leg of lamb and stewed mutton with vegetables. Black truffle is shaved into cloud-shaped slices and put in a separate bowl to put on top of the stew, which included vegetables like red kidney beans, purple kidney beans, lotus root and specially ordered Hunan larou (cured pork meat), served with a foam of leek oil and white kidney beans, and a mutton broth that is rich and full of flavour. The mutton is tender and has no gamey flavour. All three ways are outstanding and deliciously presented.

Black cod / Ningxia Tan Lamb

This winter-inspired dessert sees a choir of seasonal grapefruit sorbet, local Beijing strawberry jam, strawberry crisps, and homemade sheep milk yoghurt foam. The second dessert, Earl Grey Ice Cream, is served with baked apple, caramel miso and white chocolate mousse for extra flavour, and a macadamia nut custard at the bottom for a creamy finish.

One of the Petit Four is a gingerbread filled with glutinous rice cake (an old Beijing snack) and dried persimmon. A soft Chinese-style filling wrapped inside a crispy crust, lovely and yummy.

Winter Strawberry / Baked Apple / Petit Four

On a revisit, I still feel the vibes that Refer has, are very similar to that of the three-starred Copenhagen restaurant. Geranium is luxuriously elegant but Refer combines an exquisite feel with a relaxed and intimate ambiance. It’s amazing to see how Talib Hudda is able to handle Chinese, French and Japanese dishes with ease, and how the passion for research allows him to keep innovating and evolving. As you go through the menu, you can see how well the dishes are executed and how Talib’s personal style is becoming more visible.

Author & Chef Talib Hudda

Although Beijing Michelin Guide is a bit confusing to me, there is no doubt in my mind that Refer is a two-star restaurant.

-END-

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Daniel Zhu/Refer

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Japanese-inspired French cuisine: A Talk with Lionel Beccat at Esquisse

Esquisse, meaning “sketch” in French, is more than a name. An artistic theme runs throughout Esquisse, from the bright and...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】诗意之美,北京Refer为京城增添柔软力量

北京三里屯Refer开业近三年来不断为京城赋予温柔的力量,主厨Talib Hudda持开放的心胸与眼界,汲取感官可及的风土元素,将食材幻化成精致艺术,在料理技术与味觉调和上更精益求精,这次睽违近两年再回到Refer,所有一切更令人感动。

TastyTrip Youtube 频道

过去对北京西餐的偏见,直到Refer开业后逐渐打破刻板印象。餐厅处在三里屯的商业大楼中,为了保持隐私性,必须先联系餐厅才能直达该楼层。从等候、接待、上楼进入客厅,经过厨房直达用餐区,过程宛如拜访朋友的私宅。透过窗纱可以隐约透见窗外街景,但已足以让人忘却身在何处。一经过餐厅,厨师们的招呼声不绝于耳,士气高昂仿若疫情不曾存在。

Refer具备一家顶级餐厅应该有的气质,主厨的自信支持他对三折页长菜单的坚持,虽然包山包海,样式繁多,但每一道份量都小巧,精巧如珠宝,主厨能将视觉、烹饪技术、摆盘艺术集于一身,表现得精巧雅致,背后需要何其极致的工艺。

第一道经典就浪漫袭来,呈花束一样的鱼子酱花是Refer的经典菜色,入口瞬间多种口感交融,食材选择虽然是鱼子酱料理常见的搭配,但Refer赋予一些美感,以接骨木花康普茶做的脆壳包覆9年鲟鱼子酱,点缀上醋渍过的黄色甜菜头、百合、洋葱做的花瓣,如同侍者为客人送上鲜花一般。

接下来是蓝鳍金枪鱼,选用熟成五天的日本蓝鳍金枪鱼中腹,油脂丰腴,海苔脆片有一层糖结晶,极其酥脆的口感会让人忍不住惊呼,搭配自酿2年紫苏醋做成的果冻,有寿司的元素,我个人喜好酸度更高的风味,不过已经属上乘之作。

鱼子酱花/蓝鳍金枪鱼中腹

荞麦三明治是很奇妙的组合,有cheating dish之嫌,这样的组合有些犯规,但也出乎意料之外地激起食欲!是的,这还是在开胃的章节。使用黑荞麦做成酥皮,搭配山东A5和牛塔塔以及山葵蛋黄酱,两者本来就是绝配,滋味既浓郁又平衡、爽口,最后的重击是鲜甜的加拿大海胆,等于集天下山珍海味于一体,入口充满食材香气,主厨功力在于比例拿捏适度。

绵密浓郁口感厚重的鸡肝慕斯搭配西梅酱,瞬间为口中带来味觉平衡,新鲜花瓣带来花香的芬芳,为咸度增添一些甜味,加上鸡肝的旨味,一小口份量的设计,让滋味收在最完美的时刻。

荞麦三明治/鸡肝慕斯

鲭鱼料理也富有季节的诗意,主厨将摆盘呈现北国的冬季风景,画面富有冬季海洋与岸边积雪的景色寓意,食材有香菜籽腌渍的日本马鲛鱼,搭配黄瓜和南果梨,以及富有日本特色的木鱼花酱汁和莳萝油,积雪样的粉末是洋甘菊醋的味道。这道菜美味又美丽,我对生食要求极高,Refer对生食细节的掌握是高水平演出。另一道黄狮鱼亦是中日交融作法,搭配中式春卷皮,强调了层次感。

香菜渍马鲛鱼/⻩狮⻥

Refer的扇贝料理呈现大地的粉红力量,上菜的时候,Chef Talib说这道菜集合了冬天里所有粉色事物,将法国布列塔尼的扇贝点缀上粉玉草莓与紫色酢酱草,搭配自制玫瑰醋和棕黄油调制的油醋汁,玫瑰与扇贝风味本身就是绝配。酱汁是微微温热的,为冬季增添一丝暖意,口感浓郁而富有层次。

鸭肝使用法国传统做法,布包肥肝Torchon of foie gras ,是一道十分经典的冷菜。鸭肝刨成薄片口感非常细腻,搭配青苹果薄片加上日本德岛酢橘汁做的果冻,带来一丝清爽,特别的是还添加中国的青花椒醋,增添酸麻的口感。

布列塔尼扇⻉/鸭肝

海鲜料理选用新西兰的海鳌虾与沙棘果烧烤酱一起炙烤后,搭配沙棘果酱和腌制蛋黄酱,淋上黄酒酱汁,添加自制金桔胡椒油,入口爽脆,继而溏心的口感,呈现完美的断生,因此熟度的掌控至关紧要,品尝来香气逼人,让人胃口大开。

龙虾年糕这道长期盘踞在Refer菜单上的“经典菜品”每年都不断地再进化,法国蓝龙虾搭配加入龙虾肉的年糕,同时满足中外人士对蓝龙虾以及年糕的喜好,再以日式高汤加奶油产生无人能抗拒的甘美滋味,以绝佳的温热温度讨好所有人。

野⽣海鳌虾/蓝⻰虾

接下来炭烤的味噌腌制阿拉斯加黑鳕鱼类似西京烧作法,但味道清淡些,保留鱼鲜的原味,恰好的中间微微透明的程度,豪气的铺上鱼子酱,搭配核桃和牡蛎做的酱汁,以及秘制XO红油,光听解说就知道有多美味。

接下来侍酒师上了宁夏加贝兰葡萄酒,搭配同样来自宁夏的滩羊,羊肉以炭烤外肌、低温慢煮的羊腿、炖菜三样式呈现,黑松露刨成云朵样另成装在碗中,置于在炖菜上,炖菜里有红腰豆,紫色乌芸豆,粉藕等蔬菜和特别定制的湖南腊肉,配上韭菜油和白芸豆做的泡沫,以及羊肉清汤,滋味馥郁饱满,让人食指大动。羊肉毫无腥膻味,羊肉卷中两种部位以及作法的羊肉滋味甜美,炭烤香气逼人,非常出彩。

⿊鳕⻥/宁夏滩羊肉

甜点也让人毫无悬念,第一道甜品是西柚冰霜,搭配北京的草莓酱与脆片,以及自制绵羊酸奶泡沫,是属于大人的甜品。第二道甜品伯爵茶冰淇淋,底下搭配烤苹果,焦糖味增和白巧克力慕斯增添了多重风味,最底下是夏威夷果奶冻,以奶香作为结尾。

Petit four其中一个小甜点用老北京糯米凉糕和柿饼做夹馅的姜饼,口感很酥脆,中式馅料软糯,让人爱不释手。

冬季草莓/烤苹果/Petit four

再次来访,还是感受到Refer与哥本哈根三星餐厅有相同的气质,只是Refer更有人间烟火气。看见Talib Hudda在中法日等菜品做法的转换更游刃有余,热爱钻研的个性让他能持续推陈出新,令人惊艳。一道菜单品尝下来,起承转合,完成度极高,Talib个人风格也越见明显。

作者和主厨Talib Hudda

即便北京米其林让人感到困惑,但在我心中,Refer已是毫无疑问的二星餐厅。

-END-

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Daniel Zhu/Refer餐厅官方

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 329

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料