JL STUDIO: Splashing Delicious Southeast Asian Colours

At the Michelin two-starred modern Singaporean restaurant JL STUDIO in Taichung, Singaporean Chef Jimmy Lim Tyan Yaw has re-imagined traditional South-East Asian cuisine with unique flair and a deep desire. Having been refining his approach to traditional cuisine, Jimmy’s colourful but unconventional dishes are a delightful departure from cooking’s new minimalism.

This was my second visit to JL; the first time was three years ago, before Covid. The restaurant is on the second floor of a two-storey complex. It’s a pity that the main entrance is shared with the restaurant on the first floor, which is also owned by the same investment group. Immediately after entering the restaurant, I walked past an open kitchen where the kitchen staff were grilling with open fire. The interior has more South-East Asian elements after renovation and the service is warm and laid-back.

Chef Lim hopes to share the inclusivity and harmony of Singaporean cuisine with diners. He describes Singaporean cuisine as “a vibrant melting pot of flavours influenced by different cultures, people and religions, yet very harmonious and unique”.

The cooking techniques were evident but understanding the origins of each dish was a challenge for me due to lack of knowledge of Singaporean cuisine. Luckily, through Chef Lim’s interpretation, I was able to experience a beautiful choir of traditional South-East Asian flavours.

The traditional food of Singapore uses a variety of spices and seasonings. JL STUDIO’s dishes offer an authentic view of Chef’s hometown cuisine recomposed with creativity and aesthetics. The show began with very eye-catching appetizers. 

The Kueh Pie Tee was presented as two thin crunchy crisps sandwiching tender rose shrimp and vegetables in oyster sauce — A delicacy that instantly wins your heart. The Rojak was a sweet and sour bite-size tart with cucumber. The Rose Kueh had a cookie made from rice flour and egg, garnished by edamame beans and pandan leaf juice to add a tinge of green. These are all common snacks in Singapore and Malaysia, but the Chef has incorporated French techniques to add complexity and elegance.

Kueh Pie Tee | Rojak | Rose Kueh

The Rasam (a spicy and tangy South Indian soup) is traditionally made with tamarind and common spices in India such as cumin, chilli powder and turmeric. The cherry tomato and vegetable soup was served in the form of a jelly placed at the bottom of a wide-mouthed champagne glass. Other ingredients included water bamboo and tuna, which brought a sense of richness to the dish while also tasted refreshing and appetising.

Rasam

Lo Hei (sashimi) is a traditional New Year’s Eve dish in Singapore, which carries implication of growth and prosperity. The dish usually features slices of sashimi, shredded vegetables and crunchy peanuts for extra texture, all tossed together before serving. At JL STUDIO, the main ingredients are swordfish, yuzu and sesame, with raw fish being topped with green spinach crisps, as if they were two carp fish swimming at ease. Vegetables and fried fish skin were wrapped inside of a transparent sugar ball, which was crashed into the plate to form the whole picture with the sashimi. It was a breakaway from the traditional Lo Hei, bursting with a variety of delightful flavours, textures and playful childhood memories.

Lo Hei(Sashimi)

The Shroom Kut Teh took inspiration from bak kut teh, a meat dish cooked in broth. Gongliao abalone and Xingse shiitake were used instead of meat, and the purpose of using aiyu was to mimic the texture of gelatin, which is a healthier alternative. Traditionally-served fried dough sticks were replaced with shredded burdock, which also gave it a crunchy texture. It’s hard not to be impressed by the flavours exuding from the dish, since it was so touching and nostalgic.

Shroom Kut Teh

Traditionally served steamed or grilled, Otak-otak is a South-East Asian fish cake made of ground fish mixed with spices and wrapped in banana leaf or atap leaf parcels. Chef reinterpreted the dish using Maine lobster, orange and cucumber, wrapped in banana leaves and sizzled to bring out the aroma of the leaves. The lobster was cooked perfectly. Again, childhood memory was the theme of the dish.

Assam Babi is pork belly or pork shoulder in tamarind sauce. It is another South-East Asian dish with a rich, fragrant flavour and a spicy kick. Chef recreated the dish using Iberian pork, pickled pumpkin and a satay-style vegetable stew. Jimmy said that meat is normally used in satay dish, but here he chooses zucchini, tofu and pineapple, which is more like a satay-style ratatouille. He also replaced peanut sauce with grilled pistachio sauce to make it lighter.

Otak Otak/Assam Babi

Before dessert, Jimmy surprised us by presenting a Sambal Tempoyak dish (rice with durian and fermented chilli sauce), served with coconut milk and sakura shrimp. The addition of the rich and creamy seared foie gras was a stroke of genius. The slight aroma of durian allowed for good appetite even for those who do not particularly fancy durian. It was a beautifully presented dish, surprisingly contrasting and yet harmonious.

Chef Lim is very good at deconstructing traditional dishes and reconstructing different elements to create new forms. For example, the famous Singaporean breakfast combo (eggs, kaya toast and coffee) is transformed here. The Yaw Kun Kopi Tiam came with a basket of “eggs”, but were actually made of frozen kaya, burnt toast in the middle and coffee powder sprinkled on top. It had everything you need and everything you saw was edible.

Sambal Tempoyak/Yaw Kun Kopi Tiam

Next up was a dessert named using the geographic coordinates of Singapore’s landmark – the Merlion. It was decorated with coconut, jackfruit and calamansi in the shape of the Merlion, paying homage to Chef Lim’s homeland. The final dessert Bandung was inspired by the popular Southeast Asian rose milk tea, adjusted to make into an ice cream with atap seeds added inside to give it a different mouthfeel. It’s finally covered with white chocolate and sprinkled with rose petals. Wonderfully aromatic and refreshing.

N 1.2868° E 103.8545°/Bandung

On what it means for JL STUDIO to recreate traditional Singaporean cuisine, Jimmy says, “Singaporean food is being re-imagined into unexplored territory, with the hope that the flavours revolutionised will suit modern tastebuds so that people will be able to understand and enjoy Singaporean food more.”

Jimmy has the ability to orchestrate traditional flavours with bold and stylish colours from South-East Asian culture. His dishes are vibrant, complete and personal, a loud and clear endeavour to carve his own arena instead of following the trend of Nordic minimalism in today’s fine-dining industry.

@jimmy_limty_instagram

JL STUDIO has continued to refine itself since it opened, and I have certainly felt the transformation each time. Many people thought that the location in Taichung would be a disadvantage, but now it seems that JL is well on the way to make Taichung into the next gourmet destination.

Two Michelin stars is just a start. I believe with the recovery of global traveling, JL is to welcome more overseas guests for sure.

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 329

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】缤纷挥洒 JL STUDIO 驾驭南洋缤纷色彩

台中米其林两星现代新加波料理JL STUDIO,主厨林恬耀Jimmy Lim来自新加坡,以自身天赋重新呈现传统南洋料理,席间可以感受到他的南洋料理颜色鲜艳却不落俗套,更有别于目前新派料理对极简的追求,带来色彩的愉悦。几年下来他将传统料理精细化的手法更为精进。

因疫情时隔三年再访JL,餐厅落在建筑物的二楼,一楼是投资集团旗下的另一家餐厅,没有独立入口有些可惜。一进餐厅映入眼帘的是开放式厨房,厨师们正在明火烤炉前烧烤,重新装修后的室内风格有更多南洋元素,外场服务也走轻松自宜的风格。

主厨Jimmy对新加坡料理诠释是包容与协调。他称「新加坡美食受到不同文化、种族和宗教的影响,充满活力,是味觉上的大熔炉,却又调和的非常协调与独特。」

碍于我对新加坡料理知识的贫乏,虽可以看出烹饪手法巧妙,但深入理解每一道菜的起源依旧是隔层纱。然而透过他的诠释,也能够感受到传统南洋风味带来的高低跌宕。

传统南洋料理多辛香料, JL STUDIO提供的菜奠基在他对家乡菜的理解,再以自己的创意与美感重新呈现。首先先从家乡传统菜色起手,一开始便十分吸睛,分别是金杯粿、罗惹与蜂巢饼。

完全“变形”的金杯粿,由两片薄酥片夹入蚝油生胭脂虾以及蔬菜,酥脆的饼皮与软糯的虾肉一同入口,入口便让人频频点头的美味。罗惹rojak味道酸甜,与小黄瓜做成小塔,便于食用;其中蜂巢饼是以米粉与鸡蛋为基底,除了加入毛豆,添加香兰叶的汁液呈现翠绿的颜色。这些开胃菜都是在新加坡、马来西亚常见的小吃,经过主厨融入法式技巧,每一道都精巧优雅。

金杯粿 | 罗惹 | 蜂巢饼

再来是以一道南印度传统料理蔬菜汤Rasam为名的冷汤,传统上这道汤品是以罗望子为底料,以及如孜然、辣椒粉和姜黄等印度常见香料,主厨将西红柿蔬菜汤做成果冻的型态置于宽口香槟杯底部,食材有茭白笋与鲔鱼,品尝来活色生香而风情万种,虽是清爽而开胃,鲔鱼也为这道菜带来了丰腴感。

Rasam

捞鱼生是新加坡传统年菜,有风生水起的含义,摆盘以生鱼片、切丝蔬菜与增添口感的花生等,在食用前拌在一起食用,看上去丰盛有余。而在JL STUDIO,主食材是旗鱼、柚子、芝麻,这道菜则是以意象呈现,盘中旗鱼生鱼片上铺上了以菠菜制成的绿色脆片,可爱至极,彷彿是两只悠游的鲤鱼,捞鱼生的蔬菜与炸鱼皮等则是包裹在透明糖球里,食用前将糖球入盘中砸碎与鱼生混合在一起。完全跳脱原本传统捞鱼生的想象,口感及风味多重,讨喜充满童趣。

Lo Hei(捞鱼生)

Shroom Kut Teh菇骨茶发想来自肉骨茶,选用贡寮鲍鱼、新社香菇与爱玉制成,鲍鱼与香菇取代肉类,使用爱玉目的是要模仿胶质的口感,是主厨思考后更健康化的作法。而传统吃法会搭配油条,这里以牛蒡丝取代,同样带来酥脆的口感,有一种既熟悉又陌生的感觉,不过很难不被这充满回忆的滋味所打动,这是当天我最喜爱的一道菜。

Shroom Kut Teh菇骨茶

Otak Otak乌打是鱼肉与香料混合之后,再以香蕉叶或亚答叶包裹后采蒸或烤的小吃,在东南亚一带常见。主厨使用缅因龙虾、香吉士、小黄瓜重新诠释这道菜,使用香蕉叶包裹后,现场在表面炙烧,逼出香蕉叶香气,龙虾呈现恰如其分的熟度,这也是一道主厨想重现儿时回忆的作品。

Assam Babi是罗望子五花肉或猪肩肉,也是传统南洋料理,味道馥郁芬芳,充满辛香料的刺激。主厨使用伊比利亚猪重现这道菜,搭配腌制过的南瓜,佐以沙爹风味的炖菜,Jimmy说一般说到沙爹都是使用肉,在此他使用了节瓜、豆腐、凤梨,更象是沙爹风味的ratatouille,同时他也把花生酱汁改为开心果酱,整体更轻盈。

Otak Otak/Assam Babi

在甜品之前,Jimmy呈上了一道惊喜,sambal tempoyak(榴莲发酵辣酱饭),搭配椰浆以及樱花虾,神来一笔的加入香煎鸭肝(Foie Gra)让整道菜更丰腴厚重,淡淡的榴莲香气,即便是不吃榴莲的人也可以入口。这是一道婀娜多姿的佳肴,出乎意料的又对立又和谐,是大熔炉无误。

Jimmy Lim擅长将南洋传统菜色解构,取其元素另外制成意想不到的型态,如新加坡著名早餐,在这里就成一道经典,取其鸡蛋、咖椰吐司、咖啡构成早餐或午茶的三大元素,上菜时以一篮子鸡蛋呈现,中间有烤土司,上头洒上咖啡粉,所有元素应有尽有,且看上去的每一边一角都可食用。

Sambal Tempoyak/Yaw Kun Kopi Tiam(新加坡早餐)

再来一道以新加坡地标鱼尾狮为经纬度来取名的甜品,以椰子、菠萝蜜、金桔妆点如鱼尾狮的型态,是一道对家乡致敬的创作。收尾的甜点玫瑰球,发想来自东南亚等地流行的玫瑰露加上奶水的饮料,调整为适当比例后制成冰淇淋,添加亚达籽赋予不同口感,外面再淋上白色巧克力、洒上玫瑰花瓣,不落俗套。

N 1.2868° E 103.8545°/玫瑰球

对于JL STUDIO再现传统新加坡料理的意义何在,Jimmy表示,「新加坡美食被重新想象到未开发的领域,希望革新后的口味更符合现代人的味觉,让人更能够理解和享受新加坡美食。」

Jimmy有能力将传统味道赋予华丽外衣,用色大胆,又能够驾驭南洋风的缤纷色彩,料理完成度很高,个人色彩鲜明。在当今顶级餐饮业追求北欧风极简下而褪色的趋势中实属少见。

@jimmy_limty_instagram

JL STUDIO开业几年来他不断精进自己,我也确实感受到每一次的蜕变,原本很多人以为餐厅落脚台中,容易被遗忘,但现在看来,或许是让台中成为一个美食目的地的开始。

二星只是一个起点,经历了全球旅行重启后,势必为JL STUDIO迎来更多海外宾客。

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Jocelyn 华姐/instagram

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:施玉安荣获亚洲最佳女主厨;Noma京都加开场次

疫情转好 洛杉矶室外用餐法令或收紧;加州...

关闭