The Chairman & 102 House Tick the 3rd Collaboration in Shanghai

After three years of anticipation, The Chairman and 102 House once again joined forces in Shanghai at the end of this August, marking their third collaboration. The first time was at The Chairman in Hong Kong, the second at Den in Tokyo, and this time at 102 House Shanghai with the theme of Huangpu River-inspired Cantonese Flair.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip YouTube

Mr Danny Yip, the mastermind behind The Chairman, shares his observations on the changes in Chef Xu over the years. He says, “Chef Xu has always had that fire in his belly, but in addition to that, his techniques have greatly improved and ideas expanded. Perhaps it has something to do with him moving to Shanghai, a bustling metropolis that can broaden one’s horizons.” When recalling their first collaboration, Chef Xu says, “It was January of 2018, and it’s already been five years.” Danny jokes about the feeling of “getting old,” to which Chef Xu responds, “Danny, you’re still as young as ever.”

Chef Xu admits that Mr Yip’s influence on his path as a chef has been profound. Before meeting Mr Yip in person, Chef Xu had been following his’s column articles and was captivated by the kitchen lore and food stories described. One quote was particularly mentioned: “Mastering two woks is better than going to university.” To Chef Xu, this meant that truly mastering the art of cooking with two different woks might carry more significance than obtaining a university education. This kind of reverence and love for cooking deeply moved Chef Xu.

Mr. Danny Yip (Left) and Chef Xu Jingye (Right)

Recalling his encounter with Danny, Chef Xu says, “I never imagined that one day I would have the opportunity to meet Mr Yip, let alone collaborate with him on a four-hand.” Due to travel restrictions caused by Covid, the duo of chefs hadn’t meet each other in person, but they found a way to keep in touch. Chef Xu explains, “Though we were unable to meet up during Covid, we had each other’s WeChat. He would talk to me on WeChat from time to time, and ask me if I were working on any new dishes.” Now they are finally able to reunite and work together again, which makes Chef Xu incredibly happy.

Danny follows up, “During the pandemic, chefs had limited activities. If we really put our hearts into research, the past three years would have been sufficient for us to develop some good dishes. Because we’d only have one thing to focus on – cooking.” Danny highly praises their collaboration at 102 House, noting, “102 House exudes a warm and cozy dining experience. Working with team 102 House was seamless, and we had great interaction.” Danny goes on to affirm Chef Xu’s progress, “He has improved significantly, and it’s not just him; the entire restaurant team has made great strides as well.”

102 House

Everything at the themed dinner was honed by the two chefs together. Chef Xu says they were constantly revising the menu because they wanted to give diners the best experience. “We want to make it the best it can be,” says Chef Xu, “Even though we’ve set the direction, we still want to utilise every minute to make it better. This involves multiple adjustments such as flavours, elements added or removed.” Each dish is injected a heavy dose of soul.

The opening eight small plates are a new interpretation of traditional cold dishes. Danny talks about his special feelings towards Shanghainese food: “I grew up eating Shanghainese food in Hong Kong, but my family mainly cooked Cantonese food. That’s why I’ve wanted to combine the techniques of Cantonese cuisine with culinary elements of Shanghai for a long time.” He reveals that they revised two dishes the night before the menu was finalised. Chef Xu adds, “It was almost one in the morning when we decided to change these two dishes.”

Eight Small Plates

The “eight small plates” is an idea Danny wanted to realize. He noticed that restaurants in Shanghai would serve several small cold plates once guests are seated, which is not the case in Cantonese cuisine. So he wanted to introduce this tradition and do more with it, hence the concept of “eight small plates” on which Danny shared his thoughts and innovations. At The Chairman, they have never formally served cold dishes or amuse bouche, mentions Danny.

Danny says, “The cold dishes we eat are often just sidekicks; they’re a great tradition but rarely outstanding.” He wants to break away from that stereotype and try to give each small plate its own character. To achieve this, Danny says he spent a lot of time thinking about how to make each of these dishes attractive. He wants guests to be pleasantly surprised as soon as they sit down. “Most of the time, people don’t remember what exactly they ate in the amuse bouche. But I want my cold dishes to be memorable.”

Danny shares a very special dish from the “Eight Small Plates” – Spinyhead Croaker with Black Bean Sauce. The dish is inspired by his childhood memories. “This is a classic fare of the 1980s in Hong Kong. We had this fried fish called dace bathed in black bean sauce which was often eaten straight from the can. The younger generation may not have tried it, but for me, it is an unforgettable memory. I have been wondering how I can transform this household dish into a Fine-Dining version.” This time in Shanghai, they used a particularly small type of croaker called spinyhead. He says, “We used over 300 spinyheads to make this dish. First, we deep fry the fish, then we make a richly flavoured black bean oil, and we soak the fried fish in the oil for a few days.” It retains that special taste of canned dace, but even better because of its tender texture.

Dishes fromEight Small Plates

From homemade steamed eggs to premium abalone soup, I keep asking Danny and Chef Xu to share some of their favorite dishes. Danny starts with the Corn Juice Steamed Eggs, “This is a dish that I’m particularly fond of. Simply put, it’s steamed eggs mixed with corn juice. For Cantonese people, steamed eggs is a household dish that everyone knows how to make. I want to bring a taste of home to Shanghai.”

“Gourmet Mr Chua Lam once asked me what I would make if I were given an egg. I said steamed eggs with corn juice. Of course, at that time I was just saying. But this time I really made it and diners loved it. It’s elegant, flavourful, and nostalgic.” Chef Xu then shares, “One of my favourite dishes is the abalone soup. The soup is made from hundreds of abalone that have been simmered for a long time and has a very rich tang, coupled with dried softshell turtle skirts and fresh softshell turtle liver. Many people may not know that the texture and flavour of softshell turtle liver is even better than goose or duck liver.” Danny also speaks highly of the soup, “It is very powerful, and the best you can get from abalone, so to speak.” Chef Xu adds, “Everyone raved about it and many wanted to have some more. It’s a pity we can’t keep up with the demand because the preparation is really time-consuming.”

Corn Juice Steamed Eggs

The triumph of this dinner is Braised Pork with Preserved Vegetables & Stewed Sea Cucumber, echoing the dinner theme and showcasing a seamless fusion of Cantonese and Zhejiang cuisine. Braised Pork with Preserved Vegetables is a classic dish in Zhejiang, which perfectly complements the specialty of Guangdong – teat sea cucumber, in a way that achieves a subtle balance of mouthfeel and flavour. Danny adds, “The combination of fatty pork and sea cucumber is the trick, because they are so similar in texture that it is difficult to distinguish between the two. This kind of subtlety is truly fascinating.” At the dinner, knowing there would be a main course, I couldn’t resist asking for a bowl of rice.

Danny notices that the image of Chinese cuisine has been given more importance. “Many of our friends overseas are talking about well-known Chinese restaurants such as Yong Fu and Xin Rong Ji. They have a global vision, and the influence of Chinese cuisine has indeed increased.”

Danny states that he couldn’t speak for other restaurants, but he values the uniqueness of a restaurant. “Finding and maintaining originality and what’s unique about a restaurant is the first step towards internationalization.” He believes that Chinese cuisine should focus more on originality rather than imitation. “Restaurants in other countries highly emphasize innovation; the personality of the chef is fully represented in the dining experience. If we want Chinese cuisine to become more internationalized, maintaining originality and uniqueness is crucial.” He further explains, “The diversity and vibrancy of Chinese cuisine should be better represented, with various terroir, character, and creative forms.”

In recent years, the unique charm of Chinese food is finally gaining global recognition. When neon lights started to shine through the night, a culinary exchange between friendship and craftsmanship began, one that’s harmoniously blended with style and elegance. This is the true essence of a four-hand. As dishes were served one after another, guests were left amazed and satisfied, enjoying each other’s company.

Undoubtedly, this is the most unforgettable four-hand dinner held by far in Shanghai this year.

The Author and Mr. Danny Yip (Left) and Chef Xu Jingye (Right)

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Allstar Communications、102 House

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
The List, A New Compass

The inaugural world’s 50 best hotel list surely results in frenzy among hoteliers and luxurious experience fanatics despite the wanting...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】浦江粤影:香港大班楼与上海102小馆三度联手,载入史册的夜晚

经过三年的等待,今年八月底,大班楼与壹零贰小馆在上海再度携手合作,这是两者的第三次联手。第一次是在香港的大班楼,第二次则是在东京的Den,而这次的主题是浦江粤影,合作地点正是上海的壹零贰小馆。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip YouTube

对于徐泾业师傅这几年的变化,大班楼主理人叶一南先生(Danny)分享了他的观察。他说:“徐师傅以前是充满热情的,但如今除了仍保持着那份热情,他的技法和想法都有了很大的开阔和进步。可能这跟他搬到上海这个大都市有关,上海是个能够扩展视野的地方。”两位还回忆起了他们的首次合作。徐师傅提及:“那是2018年的一月,已经过去了五年。” 而Danny半开玩笑地表示自己“感觉老了”。徐师傅则回应:“没有老,叶先生你还是那么年轻。”

徐师傅坦言:“叶先生对我做厨师这条路上的影响是深远的。”他回忆起自己在认识叶先生之前,就一直关注他的专栏,被其中描述的厨房趣事和食材故事所吸引。提及叶先生的文章,徐师傅特别提到有一篇对他影响特别深,里面有这样的金句:“炒掂两只镬,好过读大学”。这句话对徐师傅来说,意味着一个人真正掌握和精通两个锅的炒作技巧,可能比读大学还要有意义。这种对料理的尊重和热爱,深深地打动了徐师傅。

叶一南先生(左)与徐泾业师傅(右)

对于自己与叶先生的相识,徐师傅感慨地说:“从来没有想过,我会有一天真的能够认识到叶先生,更没有想到我还能和他合作进行四手联弹。”由于疫情的影响,他和叶先生多年未见面,但两人一直保持着联系。他说:“虽然因为疫情我们见不到面,但我们一直在微信上聊天,叶先生经常关心我,问我有没有研发新的菜色。” 现在他们终于能够再度合作,徐师傅表示自己非常开心。

Danny接着说:“在疫情期间,厨师们没有其他活动,如果真心用心去研发,这三年足够研发出很多好的菜色。这段时间我们只需要专心做菜。”Danny对这次在壹零贰的合作给予高度评价,他表示:“壹零贰的空间给人一种很温和、舒适的用餐感觉。与壹零贰的团队合作非常顺利,大家的默契非常好。”当被问及徐师傅是否有进步时,Danny肯定地说:“他进步了很多,而且不只是他一个人,整个餐厅的团队都有很大的进步。”

壹零贰小馆

四手菜单好事多磨

这次以浦江粤影为主题的晚宴,每一道都是双方一起研发的菜,菜单一改再改,徐师傅表示他们对于菜单不断的修改主要是希望能够给食客最好的一餐。徐师傅表示:“我们之所以不断修改菜单,是因为我们太想将这个菜单做到最好。即使方向已经定下来,但我们仍然希望用尽每一分钟将其改得更完美。这涉及到多方面的调整,比如味道、元素的添加或删除等等。”用心地呈现每一道菜品背后的灵魂。

一开场的八小碟便是传统凉菜的全新演绎,Danny则谈到了他对上海菜的特殊情感:“我从小在香港就是吃上海菜长大的,而家中主要煮的是粤菜。所以我很早之前就想要结合粤菜的技巧和上海菜的元素。”他还透露,在菜单最终确定的前一天晚上,他们还修改了两道菜。徐师傅补充说:“当天真的很晚,差不多凌晨一点钟的时候,我们才决定要改这两个菜。”

八小碟

“八小碟”的概念是Danny一直很想实现的一个想法,就是结合粤菜的技巧和上海菜的凉菜传统。”Danny解释说,他注意到上海的餐厅在客人一坐下来时,就会上好几小碟凉菜,而这在粤菜中是没有的。所以他想要引入这种传统,而且做得更多,于是有了“八小碟”的概念。Danny分享了他对于「八小碟」的思考和创新。他提到,在大班楼,他们从未正式地做过凉菜或amuse bouche。

Danny说:“我们所吃的凉菜常常只是配角,它们虽然是一个很好的传统,但很少令人惊喜。” 他希望能够打破这种固有观念,尝试让每一小碟都有其特色。为了达到这个效果,Danny表示他花了大量时间思考如何让这「八小碟」的每一道菜都能吸引人。他想要当客人一坐下,能够感到惊喜。“我希望客人能够记住我的「八小碟」,因为大多数时候,人们往往不太记得amuse bouche到底吃了些什么。但我希望我的凉菜能够在他们的记忆中留下痕迹。”

Danny分享了「八小碟」中一道非常特别的菜品——豆豉梅童鱼。这道菜源于他儿时的美好回忆。他说:“这道菜实际上是香港八十年代的一个经典。当时,我们经常享受罐装的豆豉鲮鱼。很多年轻的朋友可能没有尝过,但对我来说,它是一段难忘的回忆。我一直在想,如何将这样一道家常菜品转化为Fine-Dining的版本。”这次来到上海时,使用了一种特别小的梅童鱼。他说:“我们用了超过三百条小梅童鱼来制作这道菜。首先,我们将鱼油炸,再制作出一款香气浓郁的豆豉油,最后将炸好的鱼放入油中浸泡几天。”这道菜不仅保留了罐装鲮鱼的那种特别味道,而且因为使用的是梅童鱼,所以其口感更为优美。

豆豉梅童鱼

这次的菜单精彩之极,我继续追问Danny和徐师傅分享心爱之作,从家常蒸蛋到极品鲍鱼汤。Danny首先提及了“粟米蒸蛋”:“这是一道我特别钟情的菜品。简单来说,就是以粟米汁制成的蒸蛋。蒸蛋对我们广东人来说,几乎每家每户都会做的家常小菜。我想要将这种家乡的味道带到上海。

“美食家蔡澜先生曾经问我如果给我一个鸡蛋,我会做成什么菜。我回答说用粟米汁来做蒸蛋。虽然当时我只是说说,但这次真正做出来,发现顾客都非常喜欢。它不仅口感优雅,而且很好地传递了我们广东的家常情怀。”徐师傅则分享了 “鲍鱼汤”。 “我最爱的其中一道菜就是这鲍鱼汤。汤底是用上数百只鲍鱼经过长时间煮熬而成,味道非常浓郁。汤中还加入了干燥的甲鱼裙边和新鲜的甲鱼肝。许多人可能不知道,甲鱼肝的口感和风味,甚至比起鹅肝或鸭肝还要来得出色。”对于这道鲍鱼汤,Danny也给予了高度的评价:“它的味道非常浓烈,可以说是鲍鱼味的极致。”徐师傅补充道:“几乎每位客人品尝后都赞不绝口,许多人还希望能加点,但因为制作过程繁复,我们供不应求。”

粟米蒸滑蛋

而这次晚宴的得意之作:“梅干菜扣肉焖海参”。这道菜恰好地呼应了主题,更展现了广东菜和浙江菜的完美融合。梅干菜扣肉是浙江的经典菜式,而与广东特色的猪婆参与之相得益彰,两者在焖煮过程中完美结合,使得口感和风味达到了一种极致的和谐。Danny说:“梅干菜扣肉焖海参中的肥猪肉与海参的搭配更是亮点。它们的口感如此相近,以至于品尝时,很难分辨自己是在品味猪肉还是海参。这种微妙的平衡真的非常有趣。”当日用餐时,明知道最后会有主食,还是忍不住加了一碗白米饭。

中菜迈向国际,贵在原创与风土

聊到大班楼在2021年拿到亚洲50中的第一名,当时对中餐界无疑是振奋人心的消息,当今的中餐在国际舞台上受到了前所未有的关注。Danny观察到,不仅在香港,在中国大陆,中餐的形象都受到了更多的重视:“很多我们的外国朋友都在讨论雍府、新荣记等知名中餐厅。它们早已逐步走向国际,中餐的影响力确实增强。”

Danny也谦虚的说他无法代替其他餐厅发言,但同时他也强调了餐厅的独特性:“每个餐厅都应该保持自己的特色和原创性,这是走向国际的第一步。”他认为,中菜应该更加注重原创,而不是简单地模仿。“在国外,餐厅都高度注重原创性,每家餐厅都是厨师性格的体现。若想使中餐更加国际化,保持原创性和特色至关重要。”他进一步解释道:“中餐的多样性和丰富性应该得到更好的呈现,不同的风土、性格和创意都应该被充分展现。”

中餐近期以其独特的魅力在国际上崭露头角,但也带来引人深入的反思和启示。当晚华灯初上,一场友谊与厨艺的交流开始。我中有你,你中有我,这才是真正四手的奥义,随着菜一道一道的上桌,众人惊呼中的收场,宾主尽欢。

毫无疑问,这是今年在上海最令人难忘的一场四手晚宴。

笔者与叶一南先生(左)与徐泾业师傅(右)

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Allstar Communications、壹零贰小馆

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:北京​米其林指南发布;世界五十佳酒吧51-100名揭晓

香港大班楼遭抄袭;成都隐庐客座澳门永利;...

关闭