Satoyama Jujo: Niigata’s Century-old Boutique Hot Spring Hotel

This year, I came across a short documentary on YouTube called “Evolution of the Snow Country”, where a crisp, monochrome, ink-painting-like world created by winter snow that blankets Niigata looks the most impressive when the train passes through those tunnels. The Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata describes precisely this ancient land – Niigata, especially the Uonuma region which is known as “the rice granary of Japan”. Uonuma produces a premium rice varietal, Koshihikari, the very finest white and glossy like pearls. For me, a rice enthusiast, it is an irreplaceable delicacy.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip

In the southern part of Uonuma, there exists a charming boutique hot spring hotel called Satoyama Jujo nestled in the foothills of Niigata. Each dish served here is imbued with a deep connection to the land, particularly those using Koshihikari rice, which has attracted many rice lovers. Built around the rustic framework of a magnificent 150-year-old Japanese farmhouse, the architecture has now been revitalized under new ownership. The Scandinavia-meets-Japan interior creates an elegant yet welcoming ambience.

Satoyama Jujo is not just a hotel, it’s an experience. Stepping inside, you’re not just indulging in delicious cuisine, but immersing in the rich tapestry of Japanese rural life. Toru Iwasa is a graduate of Musashino Art University and a pioneer of organic lifestyle. Even though his magazine Jiyujin has ceased publication, Satoyama Jujo continues his philosophy and becomes a beacon for a pastoral ideal of life.

The countryside is home to many fresh and organic ingredients but does not always have truly exceptional restaurants. Satoyama Jujo’s globe-trotting head chef, Keiko Kuwakino, spent many years exploring the world from Australia to Europe, from India to the Himalayas. Each place she went to becomes an inspiration for her cooking: the aromatic Australian herbs, the Indian yoga, the majestic Nepalese mountains… These experiences converged to create her unique culinary style. When Satoyama Jujo’s news popped up, she knew exactly where she should be heading.

Keiko has been at Satoyama Jujo since 2014 and took over as head chef in 2018. Her dishes mirror her own journey as a traveler. Diners won’t just be tasting the food, but feeling those cultures being connected and borders crossed.

Keiko Kuwakino,instagram@keiko_kuwakino

Keiko has been staying at Satoyama for almost ten years. For many people, this seems like an incredible amount of time. When asked about her feelings on this, she smiled and replied, “Really? I’ve never really thought about it. But now that you mention it, it is quite amazing that I have been here for ten years!” Her life as a chef has been filled with adventures and discoveries. In her younger years, she travelled around the world, an experience that deepened her understanding of health. “I have always been concerned about how to live a healthier life,” she shared. As a result, she delved into the study of yoga and even maintained a strict vegetarian diet for seven years.

For many, Keiko’s ten years at Satoyama Jujo seems to be an incredible time.As time passed, her interest gradually shifted towards food. “For me, eating is not just about nourishment, it is a way of life.” She stressed that her cuisine does not focus on ostentation but rather on the true essence of food. During that time, she saw a new career trajectory – running a kitchen. Her cooking, she says, seeks the true nature in food, rather than glory. When asked if anything has changed over the past ten years, she begins to reminisce. “Imagine, ten years ago, this place was almost deserted,” she said. “At that time, Niigata was far from the hustle and bustle of the city, completely different from Tokyo or Osaka.” But time flies, and transformations occurred. The concept of destination restaurants started gaining attention in Japan and even globally. “Indeed, it has been a tremendous change.”

instagram@satoyamajujo

Recalling the time when the hotel was first opened, she says, “At that time, opening a hotel in the countryside was almost an adventure because very few people wanted to come here”. They tried to find more guests, but the situation was never good enough. Now, the hotel has become a first choice to stay for many travelers, including those from overseas. “Over the past decade, we have gone from zero to where we are now. For us, this is the best reward.” Currently, most of the visitors are from Tokyo and other cities in Japan, with a 30-40% from overseas since the borders have reopened. For a destination restaurant, this is quite significant.

Kuwakino feels closely connected to the land she treads on. For her, the pleasure of being able to pick up ingredients right from her own garden and cook them herself is unrivalled. “If I lived in the city, none of this would happen,” she shares. Her farm-to-table philosophy is not just a popular style of cooking, but an emotional and philosophical approach to food.

Kuwakino’s attitude towards food is one of reverence and appreciation. Each dish incorporates her respect for food and love for life. When asked about her cooking style, she responds, “My dishes are simple, but with sincerity and sophistication. They are grown from my own garden, bursting with life.” She is an avid explorer of ingredients, constantly collaborating and innovating with local farmers and producers. The restaurant earned a star in the Michelin Guide’s special Niigata edition and recognized on The Japan Times’ list of the country’s best destination restaurants.

This time I stayed for two nights. Although I am not a big fan of hot springs, I could truly unwind and relax even just by gazing at the distant mountains. There are several dishes that left a deep impression on me. The dish Bees’ Life features foamed honey mixed with bee pollen, paired with freshly picked herbs and flowers to awaken taste buds. While dining, rice is cooked in a clay pot over an open flame on the table. I particularly enjoyed the warm and heartfelt flavour of the white miso soup with mugwort mochi, myoga and watercress. At this point, a staff opened the clay pot and let me taste the texture of slightly uncooked rice. Another dish is whale fat with onions, adorned with marinated black pepper and sansho flower, rich and yet refreshing. Keiko mentioned that eating whale meat is a local tradition. The grilled turnip with grouper is also excellent. The meal naturally ends with rice and miso soup. Keiko has a unique perspective on cooking, believing that food is not just to satisfy hunger, but also serves as a way to express emotions and tell stories. In her restaurant, each dish has its own story, and every flavour is filled with emotion. The whale dish, for example, is not just a combination of flavours, but Kuwakino’s admiration and love for the ocean.

Bee’s life,Honey (foam) and bee pollen

Whale fat, onion Pickled black pepper pickled Sansho, peppers flower

@satoyamajujo

“Sometimes, farmers can offer unexpected suggestions, such as growing a new type of vegetable or trying out a special cooking tip. Working with them can help me discover new ingredients and cooking methods. It’s a two-way learning and exploration.” It was a memorable experience to accompany Kuwakino on an early morning forage for wild fruits and sansai (mountain vegetables). Her love for this place was evident. She is very different, though being a chef, as fame and fortune mean nothing to her.

“Whenever I go to a new place, I try the local food, ask locals about their cooking methods and if they’d like to teach me.” In this way, Chef Kuwakino mastered various techniques and incorporated them into her dishes. She has developed a deep, affective bond with this land and its people. How many people in this world can truly appreciate the stories behind food? Kuwakino is practicing her beliefs through real actions.

When I first arrived at Satoyama, I was captivated by the beautiful scenery, but even more so by Keiko’s cuisine and her stories. Here, I not only experienced delicious food but also a philosophy of life and a deep respect for food.

Tranquil and far-reaching, it is truly wonderful. Satoyama is a true luxury to me, where luxury does not mean extravagance and complexity. In today’s society, people often pursue novelty and trends, but this is a place of historical significance, a sanctuary for travelers. Here, I am deeply moved by the people living amidst the mountains and forests.

The Author and Kuwakino Keiko

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: satoyama-jujo.com、instagram@satoyamajujo、@keiko_kuwakino、Katherine Gu

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Quique Dacosta: A Mediterranean Feast of Exquisite Flavors

This journey was undertaken to attend the World's 50 Best Restaurants awards ceremony in Valencia, Spain. In the scorching heat...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】里山十帖:日本新泻百年温泉旅馆的料理新旅程

今年在Youtube上看到了「雪国进化论」这部短纪录片,新泻的冬天如同水墨画,白雪覆盖了大地,每当火车穿越那片隧道,彷彿进入了一个被雪花给深深覆盖的仙境。川端康成笔下的「雪国」正是描述这片古老的土地——新泻,尤其是被誉为「日本的米仓」的鱼沼地区。提到鱼沼,不得不提到它的米,那种名为「鱼沼産コシヒカリ」的越光米,每一粒都晶莹剔透,如珍珠般闪闪发光。对于米爱好者如我而言,这是一种无可取代的美味。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip

在鱼沼的南部,深藏于新泻的山腰间,有一家名为「里山十帖」的酒店。那里,每一道菜都与这片土地紧密相连,特别是那由越光米制作的料理,更是吸引了不少「米」控前来品尝。里山十帖这座建筑带着150年的历史痕迹。虽然一度被时间遗忘,但如今,它在新的主人之手下得到了重生。古老的农舍与北欧风格的家具完美结合,呈现出一种典雅而不失温馨的氛围。

里山十帖不只是一个住宿的地方,更是一个体验。走入其中,你不只是在品尝食物,还有那源远流长的日本乡村生活。岩佐十良,这位武藏野美术大学的毕业生,曾引领过日本的有机生活风潮。即使他手中的《自游人》杂志已经停刊,但里山十帖仍继续他的理念,成为人们心中的一个理想生活模板。

然而乡村并不是一个完美的天堂。尽管这里的食材新鲜、自然,但真正出色的餐馆却是一种奢侈。里山十帖的主厨桑木野惠子,有着丰富人生故事。她从澳大利亚到欧洲,再到喜马拉雅山脉,她所踏过的土地都成了她料理的灵感。澳大利亚的香草、印度的瑜伽、尼泊尔的山脉……当她回到日本,所有的经历都汇聚成她独特的料理风格。而当她看到了里山十帖的报导,一个念头瞬间在她心中浮现:这里,将是她下一个舞台。

自从她于2014年加入里山十帖,一直到2018成为料理长,每一道料理都带着她的旅行故事,让食客不只是品尝到食物,更是感受到那跨越国界的文化与情感。

桑木野惠子,instagram@keiko_kuwakino

Keiko已经在里山十帖待了将近十年。对许多人来说,这似乎是一段令人难以置信的时光。当我问及她对此的感受时,她笑着回应:「真的吗,我从未细想过这个问题。但现在你提及,确实挺惊奇的,我竟然在这里已经待了十年!」这位厨师的人生充满了奇遇和冒险。年轻时,她踏足了世界各地,这段经历让她对「身体」和「健康」有了更深的认识。「我一直都很关心怎样能够更健康地生活。」她分享,也因此,她年轻时投身于瑜伽的学习,甚至坚持了七年的全素饮食。

随着时间的流逝,她的兴趣渐渐转向了食物。「对我来说,吃不只是为了饱足,它更是一种生活方式。」虽然她从未计划过要成为一名厨师,「我只是追随我内心对于食物,特别是烹饪的热爱。」她强调,她的料理并不着重于所谓的华丽,而是注重于食物的真正本质。被问及过去的十年是否有何变化时,她开始回忆起往昔。「想象一下,十年前的这里几乎是荒芜之地。」她说,「那时的新泻,远离都市的喧嚣,和东京或大阪完全不同。」但时光如梭,这里发生了转变。目的地餐厅的概念在日本,甚至于全球,都开始受到瞩目。「确实,这是一个巨大的变革。」

instagram@satoyamajujo

回忆起刚开业时的情景,她说:「当时,乡村开设酒店几乎是一种冒险,因为很少有人愿意来这里。」那时,他们曾面临着寻找客人的困境,酒店的客流量始终不理想。但现在,这里逐渐成为了许多旅客,包括海外游客,的首选之地。「过去的十年里,我们经历了从荒芜到繁荣的变化。对于我们而言,这是对我们努力的最好回报。」目前主要的访可来自东京或其他城市。由于边境已经开放之后现在30-40%的客人是海外客人。对于一家目的地餐厅,这实际上是相当高的。

Keiko与这片土地有着深厚的情感。她旅居过世界各地, 但Keiko说:「我热爱这里,不愿离去。尽管我们距离大城市很远,优质的食材成为了一大挑战,但这正是我选择种植食材的原因。」对于Keiko而言,能够从自家的花园中直接摘取食材,然后亲自烹饪,这是一种无与伦比的乐趣。「如果我住在城市,这一切都不可能发生。」她分享道。她的菜肴理念,可以概括为「从农场到餐桌」。这不仅仅是一种流行的烹饪风格,更是她对待食物的哲学与情感。

她对待食材的态度,可以说是敬畏和珍视。每一道菜肴,都融入了她对于食材的敬重与对生活的热爱。当被问及自己的菜肴风格时,Keiko回答:「我的菜肴很简单,但它们充满了真实和深度。因为这些食材来自我自己的花园,它们充满了生命的活力。」与其说Keiko是一名主厨,不如说她是一位食材的探索家,与当地的农民和生产者合作,不断挖掘和创新。餐厅还荣获《米其林指南新泻特别版》的一星,并被Japan Times 评选为日本年度目的地餐厅。

这次我特别待了两个晚上,我对温泉并非狂热者,但在此远眺远山度过两夜,身心真正的的到放松。有好几道菜让我印象深刻。蜜蜂的生活这道菜以蜂蜜打成泡沫与蜂花粉,搭配当日的采摘的香草及花朵开启了味蕾。用餐的同时,生米在土锅里端上餐桌,在面前以明火直接加热。我非常喜爱艾草麻糬与茗荷及豆瓣菜搭配的白味噌汤品,是既温暖又直击人心的美味。这时外场人员先打开土锅,让我品尝夹生米饭的口感。另一道鲸鱼脂肪搭配洋葱以及点缀腌制的黑胡椒与山椒花,亦是丰腴中夹带清爽,主厨提到吃鲸鱼肉也是这里的饮食传统。石斑鱼搭配烤芜菁亦是不遑多让。最后自然是米饭与味增汤的收尾。她对于料理有着独特的见解,认为食物不只是为了满足飢饿,更是一种表达情感和故事的方式。在她的餐厅里,每一道菜都有着自己的故事,每一个味道都充满着情感。像是那道鲸鱼脂肪的菜肴,不仅仅是味道的组合,更是Keiko对于海洋的尊敬和爱慕的表现。

蜜蜂的生活/ 鲸鱼脂肪,搭配洋葱、黑胡椒与山椒花 @satoyamajujo

「有些时候,农民们会给出意想不到的建议,比如种植某种新的蔬菜或尝试某种特殊的烹饪技术。与他们合作,有时甚至能够开创出新的食材和烹饪方法。这是一场相互之间的学习与探索。」能够一早跟Kieko上山同行采集野生的山菜以及果实,是很难忘的体验,在这过程中可以感受到她对这片土地的热爱。她跟我所见过的大部分厨师非常不同,名利对她如浮云。

「每当我到达一个新地方,我都会尝试那里的当地食物,并询问他们的烹饪方法,甚至请求当地人教我。」通过这种方式,Chef Keiko逐渐掌握了多种烹饪技巧,并与之融入了她的料理中。Keiko与这片土地和人们发生着深厚的联系。在这个世界上,还有多少人能够真正感受到食物背后的故事和深度呢?Keiko透过实际行动,展现了这一切。

刚来到里山十帖的时候,我被这里的美景所吸引,但更多的是被Keiko的料理和她的故事所深深打动。在这里,我不仅体验到了美食,更体验到了一种生活的哲学和对于食物的敬重。

宁静致远,如此美好。里山十帖对我而言,是真正的奢侈,奢侈并非指华丽繁复。现今社会,人们往往追求新颖、時髦,但这是一家历史悠久可称为旅行归处的旅馆。在这里,我被住在山林之间的人们深深感动着。

笔者与桑木野惠子

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: satoyama-jujo.com、instagram@satoyamajujo、@keiko_kuwakino、Katherine Gu

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:Hiša Franko成斯洛文尼亚首家三星;首版「世界50佳酒店」榜单揭晓

洛杉矶Nobu因性骚扰遭诉;东京米二寿司...

关闭