Chef Li Zhanxu: Blend of Tradition and Openness in Beijing’s Hutong

Strolling through the hutong alleys of Dongsi Shiyitiao, compared to the last time I visited Beijing I seem to have stepped into a different world, where natural light penetrates and greenery abounds. The architectural style of Qu Lang Yuan is very charming and full of Chinese elements. Old structures, red bricks and tiles are cherished and beautifully preserved. Qu Lang Yuan has always been a hot topic among diners, and as soon as you step through the entrance, you will hear the cheerful voice of Chef Li Zhanxu.

Chef Li is friendly and pleasant, just like the girl next door, but her inner self is actually very unassuming, straightforward, and resilient. After graduating from high school, she set foot on French soil. She quickly mastered the French language, and embarked on a three-year programme of traditional French cooking. During the six years in France, she gained a wealth of experience by interning and working at various restaurants.

Resonance with French Cooking

When she first travelled to the small city of Angers in France, there was not a single Chinese restaurant in the area. Nostalgic for Chinese food, Chef Li started to explore cooking on her own.

She initially went to France with the intention of studying fashion design, however, she found that cooking provides an emotional connection with people. It builds a better understanding of the sharing culture of local community and how we communicate with each other.

Later on, Chef Li relocated to Lyon, the gastronomic capital of France. She chose to follow the well-organised training programme at Institut Paul Bocuse.To her surprise, stepping into a French kitchen and learning to cook helped her discover her true potential and passion in life. The comprehensive training courses laid a solid foundation for her future career.

Chef Li Zhanxu (3rd from right) at Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse

Fight and pride

After graduation, she went on to work at several well-known restaurants. As an Asian girl, she had to face challenges such as cultural differences and language barriers. But this has already become valuable experience in her life and growth.

She first worked in Lyon with Chef Christophe Roure, who, after obtaining the MOF, opened a Michelin two-starred restaurant that’s known for its unique Japanese-inspired French cuisine. This experience left her with a deep understanding of the essential cooking styles from various cultures.

(Left)Chef Christophe Roure (Right)Chef Li Zhanxu

She then went to Paris to join the Michelin three-starred restaurant Plaza Athénée, which specialises in seafood and grains and demands the highest level of culinary expertise. “It was extremely hard work,” she recalls. From 8 a.m. to 1 a.m., she worked hard and solved tasks in the kitchen. The experience provided her with an insight into the operation and management of a fine dining restaurant and posed a greater challenge to her culinary skills. She finished the programme with an outstanding score of 18/20, making her one of the top interns in the school. Her learning journey was captured in a documentary made by French television TF1.

Chef Li Zhanxu(7th from right) at Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse

The trip in Paris also extended to OKA, a one-starred restaurant run by Brazilian Chef Raphaël Rego, which gave her the opportunity to reach out and communicate with diners. It broadened her horizons and also rewarded her with the encouragement and support she needed to go further in her culinary endeavours.

She also mentions the campus restaurant Saison, whose chef Davy Tissot was a winner of the Bocuse d’Or. She refers to him as a great source of inspiration.

Returning to Beijing

Looking back on her time in France, Li admits that she was considering staying longer. Before joining OKA, she felt that her experience at Athénée had been tough and wanted to learn dessert making. She was Chef de Partie at OKA and had received the working visa before the outbreak of covid. The restaurant was forced to close down, and she finally decided to return to Beijing.

She recalls how impressed she was with the setting of Qu Lang Yuan since she first visited the venue for a meal in 2017. She felt she could make a difference by combining local Chinese ingredients, serving wares with her own culinary philosophy. This is why she chose to return to Qu Lang Yuan.

With a vision in mind and a desire to attract diners from diverseplaces, Chef Li collaborates with a different artist every quarter to bring more possibilities to the restaurant space. Exhibitions in the pipeline include traditional artefact displays, so as to create an even more stunning culinary experience that blends food, paintings and wares.

The Essence of Her Cooking

Chef Li’s cooking philosophy is rooted in Chinese ingredients and culinary culture, while also incorporating the essence of Western cuisine, injecting a fresh vitality and creativity into the ingredients. The variety of Chinese ingredients continues to expand, with seafood and various vegetables gradually elevating in quality.

We may take the way she cooks sea cucumber as an example. The traditional cooking methods may involve braising or stewing, but she prefers to present the deliciousness of sea cucumber in innovative ways, challenging the traditional cooking techniques. The cooking philosophy of both Chef Li and Qu Lang Yuan is not just about deconstructing tradition, but constantly refreshing herself through breakthroughs.

Sea cucumber, barnacle, gillardeau oyster, wakame, seaweed

The summer menu is based on the concept of the “height of summer”. From “Scallop, watercress, cucumberlychee, lemon leaf oil”, to litsea cubeba oil and Japanese soy sauce vacuum-marinated sea cucumber, the appetizers are perfectly crisp and blends seamlessly into the overall dish. Such bold combinations seem to reveal Chef Li’s unique style. She skillfully incorporates Chinese wine and special rice wine into the set menu, adding another layer of anticipation.

Underneath another dish of air-dried pumpkin flowers, there are stir-fried savory “noodles” made from king oyster mushroom. Recently, many European chefs have drawn attention by cutting squid into noodles, while cutting king oyster mushrooms into noodles is equally creative, providing an additional option for those pursuing a low-carb diet, bringing pleasure to their taste buds.

maitake, king oyster mushroom, pumpkin flower

The first main course is oil-sealed fresh abalone, grilled over charcoal to be tender and more fragrant. The combination of truffle chicken stock and abalone slices, along with a sauce made from abalone liver and Sichuan pepper, blends the essence of Chinese, French, and Japanese cuisines. Aged M9 wagyu beef seasoned with a secret sauce and salsola collina, presents the texture of stingray slices similar to beef tendon, served in a yakitori style.

The signature Jack mackerel is air-dried overnight, delivering a richer flavor. Excess oil on its surface can be directly used for cooking, and the remaining tender fish meat mixed with dried radish from Chaozhou are added to glutinous rice. The pan-fried fish is cooked to perfection, making it a masterpiece of the day. As for dessert, Oolong crème brûlée paired with purslane leaf and beetroot sorbet offers a refreshing taste that lingers on the palate. The richness of the Oolong tea intertwines unexpectedly harmoniously with the creamy flavor, leaving a deep impression.

Seeing tradition with an open mind 

The path of innovationfor Chinese cuisine is facing pressure. Some believe that creative dishes detract from tradition. But at the same time I also feel that Chinese cuisine has many untapped potential and great opportunity. Many young chefs are more exposed to Western cuisine during their studies, and the number of Chinese culinary schools is relatively small. This may have made innovation in Chinese cuisine more difficult.

Regarding the concept of “New Chinese Cuisine”, she states that everyone can have different perspectives when it comes to defining a dish, but an open mind and respect for tradition will always be the bedrock for any development. Both questioning of the convention and experimental spirits are valuable forces driving Chinese cuisine towards a more diverse and imaginative future.

Chef Li Zhanxu and the Author

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Qu Lang Yuan, Allstar Communications, Katherine Gu

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 329

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】对话主厨李展旭:北京胡同里的传统与开放,交织出独特之路

时隔良久再踏足北京,漫步于东四十一条的胡同,仿佛进入了一个别样的天地,自然的光线渗透其中,绿意盎然。曲廊院的建筑风格极具韵味,充满浓厚的中式特色,古老的建筑和红砖瓦片得到了珍视和保留。如今,曲廊院近期成为食客们热议的话题,一踏入门口,便能听到主厨李展旭爽朗的声音。

虽然外表似乎是邻家女孩,但李展旭的性格却坦率直爽,内心更是蕴藏着巨大的抗压能力。高中毕业后,她毅然踏上法国的土地,迅速掌握了法语,接着展开了为期三年的传统法式烹饪课程。在法国的六年里,她在各个不同的餐厅实习和工作,积累了丰富的经验。

跨足法国烹饪,唤醒心灵共鸣

初赴法国的小城昂热(Angers),当地不曾有一家中餐厅。李展旭怀念中式美食,因此开始自行探索烹饪。透过网上的教程,她发现自己很快就能调制出美味的菜肴。这些成功的瞬间激发了她的持续兴趣,也描绘了一个能带来成就感的未来图景。

曾在理科领域迷茫的她,透过烹饪找回了自信。她最初前往法国,初衷是学习时尚设计,然而烹饪的魅力让她产生了偏离的思考。通过烹饪,她轻松地与他人建立联系,特别是在法国这样强调共享美食的文化环境下,美食成了沟通的纽带。

烹饪路上,李展旭迁往美食之都里昂。她选择博古斯学院,这里的教学模式有条不紊,不仅涵盖了厨艺技巧,还包括前厅管理、菜单设计等多方面培训。在她六年的法国时光里,烹饪为她揭示了内心的兴趣和潜能,全面的培训为她未来的职业道路打下了坚实基础。跨足法国的厨房,唤醒了心灵深处的共鸣。

李展旭主厨(右3)在Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse

奋斗与骄傲

李展旭的厨艺之旅饱含着激情与多彩经历。从毕业之际起,她积极融入多家知名餐厅的团队。身为亚洲人,她要面对文化差异、语言障碍等挑战。然而,这些难题塑造了她的坚韧与成就感,为她的人生成长与厨艺道路注入了珍贵的经验。

首先,她在里昂的“Le neuvième art”餐厅跟随主厨Christophe Roure。主厨Christophe Roure取得MOF称号后开设餐厅,餐厅因日法风格菜系的料理理念的独特性而受欢迎,荣获米其林二星。这段经历让她深刻领略到不同文化的烹饪精髓,奠定了她坚实的艺术基础。

(左)Le neuvième art餐厅主厨Christophe Roure (右)李展旭主厨

之后她前往巴黎,投身米其林三星餐厅“Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse”。这个餐厅专注于海鲜和谷物烹调,要求烹饪技艺至高无上。她回忆道:“工作极其辛苦。”从早上8点到晚上1点,她都在厨房辛勤付出,面对繁重任务。这段经历让她领略到高级餐厅的运营与管理,也为她的烹饪技能提供了更深层次的挑战。她以18分(满分20分)的优异成绩结业,成为学校实习生中的佼佼者。此外,她的学习之旅还被法国TF1电视台拍成纪录片,在全法国播放,为她的努力增添了更多意义。

李展旭主厨(左7)在Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse

巴黎之行还延伸至“OKA”餐厅,这家由巴西主厨Raphaël Rego主理的一星餐厅,给了她走出去和客人直接沟通的机会,不仅扩宽了她的烹饪视野,也让她收获了鼓励和支持,因此在餐饮之路上越走越远。

另外,她提到在“Restaurant saison by Davy Tissot”校园餐厅,主厨Davy Tissot曾荣获博古斯烹饪大赛冠军。从他身上,她汲取了丰富的灵感与经验。

重返北京

在北京回到曲廊院后,李展旭回顾起当初在法国的时光,她坦言当时曾经考虑是否要在法国待更长的时间。在加入”OKA” 餐厅前,她深感在 “Plaza Athénée by Alain Ducasse”的经历相当辛苦,于是她想尝试学习甜品制作。在 “OKA” 餐厅,她已成为一名高级厨师(Chef de Partie),也被提供了工作签证,然而疫情爆发导致餐厅关闭,计划受到了影响,并因此决定回到北京。

关于与曲廊院的缘分,她回忆道,自2017年她首次造访曲廊院用餐后,对该地的环境印象深刻。这与她在法国学习的烹饪理念有所契合,她觉得自己可以通过结合中国的本土食材、食物和器皿,以及她自己的烹饪理念,因此她选择了回到曲廊院。

远景与创新:美食与艺术

展望未来,李展旭心怀愿景,渴望吸引来自不同背景的食客,为更多人展示他们的创意。餐厅每季度都会与不同的艺术家合作,举办绘画展览,为这个空间带来更多的可能性。

她们的计划包括展示传统器物的展览,将美食、绘画和器物相互融合,营造出更加惊艳的美食体验。年初,她们与年轻的艺术家合作,打造了与餐具融合的全新菜品,将艺术与美食完美交融,献给每位食客。在与艺术家合作时,她会根据艺术作品和器具的风格,调整菜品的呈现方式,沉浸在这个创意的过程中。独特的用餐体验,引发味蕾与灵感的交流。

烹饪的核心

谈及烹饪理念,李展旭言简意赅地表达了自己的信仰。她的理念扎根于中华食材与饮食文化,同时吸纳了西方烹饪的精髓,为食材注入了全新的活力与创意。她提到中国食材种类的丰富不断扩展,海鲜和各种蔬菜品质逐渐升华。

以海参为例,传统的烹饪方式或许是卤制或炖煮,然而她则更喜欢以创新的方式呈现海参的美味。她巧妙地以创意手法展现海参的风味和质感,挑战了传统的烹饪方式,同时也为食材开拓了全新的可能性。曲廊院并不仅仅是解构传统,更是在突破中不断刷新自我。

海参 藤壶 吉拉多生蚝 裙带菜 龙须菜

在品尝盛夏菜单时,从一开始的柠檬叶油搭配腌渍带子,到木姜子油和日本酱油的真空腌渍海参,包入藤壶肉混合吉拉多生蚝酱,对于海参爽脆恰到好处,即使作为冷菜,也完美地融入整体。然而如此大胆的搭配似乎透露出主厨的独特风格,这并非每个人都敢尝试的安全之选。而她巧妙地将中国葡萄酒和特制米酒融入套餐,更让人期待。

另一道风干的南瓜花下,是翻炒入味的杏鲍菇“面”,散发着复杂的香气。近来,欧洲的众多主厨将墨鱼切成意式面条的创意引起了人们的瞩目,而将杏鲍菇切成面条则是充满创意,对于那些追求低碳饮食的人来说,多出了一种选择,为味蕾带来一份愉悦。

鸡油菌 舞茸 杏鲍菇 南瓜花

首道主菜是油封的鲜鲍,经过炭烤后,肉质柔软,香气更浓。松露鸡汁与鲍鱼片的搭配,再加上以鲍鱼肝和大红袍花椒制作的酱汁,融汇了中法日三国烹饪的精华。其次,湿式熟成的西冷和牛,以秘制豆瓣酱汁和猪毛菜盐进行调味,刺鱼片的口感仿佛在品尝牛肉筋,以串烧的形式呈现,别具一格。

招牌的一夜风干竹荚鱼因水分减少,味道更加浓郁,外表的油脂在烹饪过程中逸出,只留下细嫩的鱼肉,与潮汕菜脯和糯米饭的结合更显美味。煎制的鱼肉恰到好处,堪称当日佳作。至于甜品,乌龙茶烤布蕾搭配上苋菜叶和红菜头制作的冰沙,清新的口感令人回味。乌龙茶的浓郁与奶香的味道交织出出乎意料的和谐,给人留下深刻的印象。

传统与开放的交织

我们也探讨了中菜创新的挑战和可能性。中菜的创新道路可能面临不小的压力,部分人认为创意菜式背离了传统。但我也同时感受到中菜在当今有更多未被探索的可能性。许多年轻厨师在学习过程中更多地接触西餐,中餐学校的存在相对有限。这或许导致在中餐领域的创新受到一些限制。

关于“新中菜”的概念,她强调每个人对菜肴定义的角度可能都不尽相同,但她的核心目标是以最佳方式利用食材,呈现出最令人愉悦的美味。她将西方的烹饪技巧融入中国的食材中,虽然另类,也收获了一些老客人的喜爱。

开放的思维和尊重传统的态度将在中菜的发展中扮演重要角色。无论是保守的质疑还是年轻一代的创新,都在推动着中菜走向更加多元和具有创意的未来。

李展旭主厨与笔者

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: 曲廊院、Allstar Communications、Katherine Gu

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:法国三星L’Ambroisie主厨即将卸任;香港阿一鲍鱼创始人逝世

香港米一携手三家亚洲知名餐厅呈献餐饮盛宴...

关闭