Asia’s Best Female Chef Pam:Potong Narrates Chinese-Thai Cuisine

Even the world around us is building more walls, globalization continues to flow through intangible things. Whether it’s the fusion of various cuisines or the subtle tweaks made to local dishes in order to bring in other culinary traditions, one can see that a new generation of chefs is creating trends – each has a story behind. Chef Pam’s fusion cuisine stems from her family background. Thai by birth, Chef Pam is the fifth generation of her family who immigrated from southern China. Chinese-Thai cuisine was her everyday diet, which also led to the creation of Potong, one of Bangkok’s most sought-after restaurants.

Chef Pam grew up in a Thai-Chinese immigrant family in Bangkok, with roots tracing back to Jinmen, Fujian. Over a century ago, her great-great grandfather opened a pharmacy in Bangkok’s Chinatown, naming it “Potong Pharmacy” after himself. The belief was widespread among the Chinese community that a humble and unassuming name would bring lifelong stability and joy. Potong (or ordinary in Chinese) thus became a blessing passed down through her family from her great-great grandfather.

YetPotong is anything but ordinary. The building is nestled in a dimly lit alley of Bangkok’s Chinatown. On the day of my visit, I even got lost and after several detours, I finally spotted the restaurant’s staff standing outside the entrance waiting for me. It’s a five-storey-tall, century-old, narrowly-arranged building. Looking up, one can see the pharmacy’s original logo; its ancient reliefs have guarded the family for over a hundred years. Now, in the hands of Chef Pam, the pharmacy has transformed into one of Bangkok’s most sought-after restaurants. The building, after renovation, continues to intrigue visitors with an air of enigmatic charm.

@tatlerasia

Chef Pam learned the techniques of Chinese-Thai cuisine from her mother, who loves cooking and hosting banquets, which elevated her culinary taste and fostered a lifestyle of enjoying food with friends. Having embarked on a career in cooking after high school, Chef Pam later arrived in New York to continue her journey at Culinary Institute of America and honed her skills working at Jean-Georges for many years. However, Chinese-Thai cuisine remains in her genes. She describes the dishes at Potong as leaning more towards Thai, with slightly spicier flavours and a different choice of ingredients compared to Chinese cuisine.

The interior of the restaurant preserves the contours of the original building, allowing the modern style to coexist with ancient embellishments. Walking into it would be like traveling back to grand old times. Start with a homemade kombucha at Sino Bar at the first floor, its interplay of sweet and sour flavours is utterly refreshing. Then take the lift to the fourth floor, where various sausages and spices fill the air with the ambiance of a traditional dried goods store. The staff serves grilled sausage slices and pan-fried radish cakes, evoking familiar Chinese flavours. Looking up at the ceiling, one can spot the words “Min Sheng Jin Men,” indicating the early Thai-Chinese community’s emphasis on “roots.”In the 20-course Tasting Menu, each dish embodies Chef Pam’s 5-Element philosophy of “Salt, Acid, Spice, Texture, and Millard Reaction”.

The menu begins with an array of dishes that showcase the versatility of palms (or sea coconut). Featuring various parts of this ingredient, the dishes include brioche made from palm meat with rich cashew nut paste. The intense nutty aroma and smooth texture offer a feeling of tasting foie gras. Crispy on the outside and chewy within, the deep-fried palm sesame ball is part of a series of hors d’oeuvres that, while intended to stimulate the appetite, bring to mind the indulgence of petit fours with their interplay of sweet and savoury flavours. Adding a touch of fun, the waitstaff then presents a comic booklet narrating Chef Pam’s team searching for the palm ingredient.

Fried palm sesame ball

The yin-yang noodle is a signature dish that draws inspiration from a classic Chinese-Thai dish Rad Nah. Infused with squid ink, the black and white noodles are topped with a layer of white vinegar jelly to cut through richness, complemented by finely chopped morel mushrooms. Crowned with a spoonful of caviar and drizzled with creamy pig bone broth, the dish is finished tableside with freshly grated egg yolk and shrimp roe. The umami flavours are exceptional, offering a delightful taste that lingers, leaving one savouring every memorable bite.

Another dish features blue crab with mud crab emulsion and black pepper jam. The blue crab meat is sweet and plump, while the mud crab’s rich, buttery roe is spooned into one side of the crab shell, with a delightfully sweet black pepper jam on the other. Served with golden, crispy brioche, the umami of the mud crab complements the aromatic and spicy black pepper jam – a new take on the classic “black pepper crab” dish.

Yin-yang noodle

Blue crab with mud crab emulsion and black pepper jam

The roast duck is another famed dish at Potong. I wondered why one would want to go to Thailand to try a dish that’s fundamentally Chinese. But Potong’s version far exceeded my expectations. The Peking Duck is a dish often emulated by chefs abroad, with new interpretations found at Tokyo’s SÉZANNE, Shanghai’s Da Vittorio, and Ling Long, to name a few. Here, the duck skin is presented in Chinese style – even the fat is crispy, while the meat remains medium-rare, preserving its rich juices. This requires precise techniques such as air-drying and repeated oven cycles to achieve the perfect layer and texture.
Here, the roast duck is prepared with Chinese and Western techniques, infused with Thai elements. For instance, the dipping sauceis richer and spicier, complemented by Sichuan pepper duck, egg custard, and a glossy bowl of stirred rice. Not just the duck meat is used; duck heart and brain are also served, reflecting the chef’s commitment to sustainability and the culinary trend of whole-ingredient utilization. 
This is also an important part of Chef Pam’s memoriesabout her family. Eating at a round table was a daily routine when she was a child. This dish is especially presented on a turntable, symbolizing the sharing culture of Chinese dining, which is the kind of human touch she wants to convey at her restaurant.

14 day 5-spiced aged duck

Roasted duck brain / duck heart

Sichuan pepper duck / egg custard /scallion

When Potong opened, I was curious about how it will present Chinese-Thai cuisine. Although many people have different opinions on the term “fusion”, it doesn’t need to be so complicated. It may be the immigrant roots of Pam’s family, or the environment itself, which is a melting pot of different cultures. Sometimes the best answer is no answer at all.

A year after the pandemic, a glance across Asian dining scenes reveals vastly different circumstances, yet Potong requires three months in advance to book a table. Chef Pam has just been crowned Asia’s Best Female Chef 2024, becoming undoubtedly a leading figure among the new generation of female chefs. With solid skills and a resolute character, Chef Pam is intelligent, full of charm and very nice to talk to. She truly embodies the legacy of her family.

When talking about the current trend of new Chinese cuisine, Chef Pam believes the new generation of chefs has brought in global perspectives which naturally will come to shape their culinary concepts. While hoping to see more creative expressions, she also believes that cooking cannot be feigned; it can only be done with sincerity. So when time changes, there is always something worth fighting for. Chef Pam has already found it, which is clearly stated on the sign above her restaurant entrance: Potong is the reason for everything.

@tatlerasia

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Peray Hsiao/Instagram

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 314

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Carlyle & Co., a beaconing social landmark in Hong Kong

Carlyle & Co., perched above the sumptuous Rosewood Hong Kong below, whispers intimacy and exclusivity. Named after and inspired by...

Close

​【Jocelyn专栏】2024亚洲最佳女主厨Pam,曼谷「普通大药房」述说中泰料理

即使世界筑起高墙,但全球化仍在无形资产中不断流动,无论是多种菜系的融合,还是藉由其他菜系做的本土菜微调,都能看见新一代厨师正在创造潮流。每一种结合背后都有一个故事,Chef Pam的融合料理源自她的家族背景,作为泰国华裔第五代,中泰料理很自然就是她的日常饮食,也促成了当今曼谷最难预定餐厅之一「普通大药房」的诞生。

Chef Pam生长在一个曼谷华裔移民家族,她是第五代,祖籍是福建金门,一百多年前她的曾曾祖父在曼谷中国城开设了一家药房,以自己的名字将药房命名为「普通大药房」,由于华人普遍相信,取名低调朴实就能带来一生安稳喜乐,「普通」成为她曾曾祖父传承给整个家族的福泽。

但「普通大药房」一点都不普通,建筑坐落在曼谷中国城里一处灯光昏暗的巷弄中,造访当天还迷路,绕了好几圈后,在灯火阑珊处看到餐厅的人在外面等候。那是一栋五层楼高的旧式狭长型百年建筑,抬头所见是药房的招牌,古老的浮雕几百年来守卫着这个家族,现在传承到第五代Chef Pam手中,大药房摇身一变成为曼谷时下最炙手可热的餐厅之一,而装修后的老宅,也带来一丝神秘的魅力感。

@tatlerasia

Chef Pam从母亲那里习来中泰料理的技巧,母亲喜爱宴客,也间接垫高她的美食品味与享受美食会友的生活,上高中后因为不爱静态活动,因此选择走上厨艺这条路。她曾远赴Culinary Institute of America深造,后来在纽约Jean-Georges 工作多年,精进厨艺。然而,中泰料理仍是她的基因,不过她形容「普通」的料理更偏向泰式,调味上辣度稍高,食材运用上也与中菜不同。

餐厅内部设计保留原始建筑的轮廓,让现代风格与百年前的浮刻雕花并存,徬彿进入华丽的旧年代。先在一楼的酒吧品尝自制康普茶,酸甜交织十足开胃,接着搭乘电梯到四楼,现场悬挂着各式腊肠与香料,瀰漫传统干货店的气氛,服务人员送上炙烤腊肠片与香煎萝卜糕,是熟悉的中菜味道,在天花板看见“闽省金门“的字样,看出早年泰国华侨对于「根源」的重视。而菜单包含20道菜式,体现了Pam的五元素料理哲学,即「盐、酸、香料、质感和美拉德反应。

菜单的开席,主厨使用棕榈(又名海底椰)各个部位贯穿多道菜色,包括使用棕榈肉制成的布里欧面包,抹上油脂丰富的腰果抹酱,香气浓郁的坚果香与丝滑绵密的口感,入口当下有品尝鹅肝酱的错觉。外酥内糯的酥炸海底椰芝麻球等一系列的海底椰小食,虽说是开胃小点,但因为咸甜交错,有种petit four先上的感觉。服务人员还递上一本漫画小册,讲述Chef Pam团队如何找到海底椰食材的故事,饶富趣味。

酥炸海底椰芝麻球

阴阳面是招牌菜色之一,发想概念来自经典中泰料理Rad Na,揉入墨鱼汁的黑白面条,中间覆盖上一层白醋果冻作为去腻的作用,加上切得细碎的羊肚菌,最后放上一匙鱼子酱,浇淋上熬成乳白色的猪骨汤,并在桌边现磨蛋黄以及虾黄收尾。鲜味非常出色,且一口鲜香已足的份量,令人齿颊留香、回味无穷。

另一道蓝蟹肉佐红蟳酱与黑胡椒酱,青蟹肉甜而饱满,红蟳鲜甜的蟹膏酱,填入蟹壳的一侧,另一侧则是甘甜的黑胡椒抹酱,搭配金黄酥脆的布里欧面包。红蟳的鲜甜充盈在口腔中,配上黑胡椒酱的香气与甜辣风味,是「黑胡椒螃蟹」这道料理的重新诠释。

阴阳面

蓝蟹肉佐红蟳酱与黑胡椒果酱

Potong著名的经典菜色烤鸭,先前一直怀疑为何要远赴泰国吃这道中菜代表性料理,这次整套烤鸭吃下来,完全是与预期中不同的味道。北京烤鸭是海外厨师时常取经的一道料理,譬如东京SÉZANNE、上海 Da Vittorio、玲珑都有新版本,鸭皮完全酥脆的中式呈现方式,做到脂肪也完全酥脆,鸭肉呈现半熟状态,保留丰富汁水,期间必须风干以及反覆进入烤箱等不同的精确工艺,才能呈现出完美的结构与质感。

在这里烤鸭也是呈现这样的中西并存作法,但融入泰式元素,譬如沾酱更富辛香味,搭配花椒鸭肉末蒸蛋,还有一碗油亮的拌饭。不只取用鸭肉,鸭心、鸭脑也都呈盘上菜,反应主厨重视可持续性,认同全食材运用与不浪费的饮食潮流。

这也是Chef Pam 家族回忆中很重要的一部分,在圆桌上用餐是童年的日常生活,这道菜特别使用转盘来呈现,象征分享与团圆的中式餐桌,也是她想在餐厅中传达的一种人情味。

14天熟成五香烤鸭

烤鸭脑/鸭心

花椒鸭肉末蒸蛋

餐厅开业后,我就一直很好奇如何呈现中泰料理,虽然许多人对于对融合一词有很多不同度见解,但不需如此复杂,成为融合料理的因素千百种,有可能是家族背景历史,如Pam家族的华裔移民渊源,也有可能是所处环境,本身就是一个文化大熔炉,有时候没有答案就是最好的答案。

疫情过后一年,综观亚洲各地餐厅状况大不相同,但Potong需要提前三个月预订。Chef Pam刚摘下今年亚洲 50 最佳女主厨头衔,无疑是新一代女厨当中的代表人物,她有坚实的实力,眼神中流露出坚毅的性格,思路清晰,充满人格魅力,完全传承了家族掌门人的风范,跟她聊天是一种享受。

聊到当今新中菜的潮流,Chef Pam认为是新一代厨师的全球化经验,做菜灵感是一种自然的演变,她也很期待看到更多料理上的创意展现,但是她也强调做菜是假装不来的,所有料理都必须出自真诚,即便时光流淌,背后势必有一个支撑的理由。而她做中泰料理的理由,则清楚的写在自家门口的招牌上,「普通大药房」就是一切之本。

@tatlerasia

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Peray Hsiao/Instagram
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 314

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮业十二大事迹回顾:Noma 2024冬季停业、法国Guy Savoy降星、利马Central夺冠

- 2023亚洲50佳:泰国LE DU荣...

关闭