White Truffle Hunting in Alba: Unearthing Priceless Delights

Every autumn, the city of Alba in the Piedmont region of Italy attracts gourmands from all over the world to indulge in the captivating flavours of white truffles – not only to satisfy gustatory desires, but also to experience the fun of following truffle hunters on their quest for these elusive delicacies.

White truffles possess a unique aroma, often described as a blend of garlic and earthy undertones. Some perceive the subtle notes of garlic and nuts in white truffles, while others describe the alluring scent as hormonal. Ultimately, the charming aroma of white truffles is difficult to define, making it a highly sought-after culinary treasure.

One-month Delay in the Best Time for White Truffles due to Climate Change

According to Italian law, the season for legally hunting white truffles begins in October (the specific timing varies by region, for example, in Calabria and Toscana it begins in early September). In the past, the peak production period was from late October to early November, with temperatures between 5 and 6 degrees Celsius being ideal for optimal growth and vitality. But in recent years, winter has arrived later, causing a delay in white truffle’s peak season. Compared to when I went to Alba to collect white truffles ten years ago, this year’s peak season has been delayed by a full month, falling between the end of November and the beginning of December, which may become the new norm in the future.

Temperatures affect the ripening time of white truffles, while drought is detrimental to the final quality. Truffles need rain when they grow, however, summer droughts cause a decrease in the yield and quality. Some truffle hunters supplying high end restaurants are well financed and can compensate for the lack of ideal growing conditions by artificial means. For example, the contract white truffle supplier of Alba’s three-starred Piazza Duomo maintains the quality of the truffle by irrigation during the dry season. But this is a costly means for which the average truffle hunter does not have the resources.

In Italy, truffle hunting and excavating requires a licence. White truffles cannot be cultivated, and truffle hunters usually hunt within their own territories. Therefore, white truffle hunting requires working with a legally licensed truffle hunter who charges a fee based on the amount of time spent on the trip or the number of trips taken. Of course, truffles excavated are owned by the hunter, and can be purchased directly. This year we went with Ezio, a truffle hunter we have known for many years, and Dora, a well-trained truffle dog. We arranged the time to meet Ezio, but the day before it rained heavily, and the soil was too muddy for the dog to walk on. So we had to reschedule the trip. Reserving two more days in the neighbourhood of Alba is highly recommended for sometimes the hunt has to wait until soil gets dry enough. Truffle hunting requires good timing.

I heard that some people hunt truffles at night, so as to protect their own “prize” from being discovered by others. I’m not sure if it’s hearsay, because truffle hunters are only certified to hunt within their own territory. Our intriguing hunting experience in thewood started early in the morning, the air crisp and refreshing. Ezio and his truffle dog led us to focus on the soil beneath our feet, looking for roots of oak, willow, and poplar trees. About 10-15 cm underground, we found the trophy. Once it was unearthed, even the forest was brimming with its fascinating aroma.

It is said that some truffle hunters bury the truffle in advance to avoid disappointing their guests who have come a long way. However, experienced hunters know theirterritory in the smallest detail; they know the secret places where the precious truffles grow. Tourists with savvy eyes will be able to tell whether the truffles found out have been buried intentionally or are actually grown there. After truffle hunting, and if we are lucky, we can go to the truffle hunter’s place for a satisfying truffle meal. The mantra for cooking white truffle is “keep it simple.”

White truffle comes in unique aroma and various shades of colour. Depending on the host tree they live off, those with pink flesh carry the fragrance of the tree root and are considered the most precious part. Generally, if the colour is too dark and the veining is not clear, it may be due to prolonged storage or improper preservation such as too much moisture in the air.

In Italy, poached eggs, scrambled eggs, pastas, risottos, or consommés blossom with the addition of shaved white truffles. Tajarin (a kind of thin egg pasta) is a much-loved option to go with the white truffle for its chewy texture and rich flavour that is similar to Chinese noodles. Of course, using tagliatelle is also good, depending on personal preference. White truffles are not recommended to be served with strong-tasting red meats, as the goal is not to overpower the aroma of the truffle. So for red meats, black truffles are a better choice. However, some restaurants recommend white truffle and red meat at the same time, which makes their professionalism questionable.

Some like to soak white truffles in vintage champagne and drink it together. Aged Chardonnay, for instance, naturally has the musky, earthy notes of white truffle. Italians sometimes pair white truffle with Fassona beef tartare, a local specialty with very little fat and delicate texture. After removing hard tissues and membrane, the raw beef is chopped up and seasoned with salt, then shaved some white truffles on top and sprinkled with mild olive oil.

White truffle is ideal for pairing with dishes with a neutral base. For example, the chef at Milanese restaurant Trippa does not even use olive oil when serving Fassona beef, for fear of overpowering the aroma of the white truffle. While warmth unlocks white truffle’s aroma, high heat can minimize it, so it must never be cooked. As for how much white truffle to put on each dish, experienced chefs would take into account other ingredients’ flavour and texture before deciding the thickness of the truffle slices. Usually, the slices are often thinner when pasta strands are thinner.

The white truffle season now runs from early October to early January, yet the price continues to rise. In 2023, the price of white truffles in Piedmont restaurants is mostly 8-12 euros per gram. If the price and quality are good, it’s worth buying more from the restaurant. Our group has 10 people and we spent about 3,000-4,000 euros on white truffles alone for one meal. But it has been three years since we last visited Alba, how could we stop from there? I remember my friend telling me, “Eating does not make you broke,” and I wonder if that’s really true.

If you want to preserve white truffles, remember not to vacuum seal them. This will cause the truffle to lose its immediate aroma. Chef’s method is to put them together with rice in a sealed bag, sometimes wrapped in clean kitchen paper to absorb moisture and prevent from heat. My storage condition is not a professional kitchen, so usually they are consumed within three days I get them. Professional chefs may be able to preserve them for up to one week. The key point is that white truffles are extremely fragile and their superb aromas cannot wait.

We are faced with an era of high inflation and abnormal climate, while Chinese cuisine has also widely incorporated white truffles into its dishes. Scarce availability and high demands mean a trend of reduction in the price of white truffles is very unlikely to set in. Enjoying this much-coveted delicacy may be pricy, but the joy it brings is priceless. So I guess it is always worth a try.

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Peray Hsiao

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
The Siam: an Imaginarium of High Design and Service Excellence

The Siam is undoubtedly the hallmark among the exuberant designs led by starchitect Bill Bensley and, in his own words,...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】与松露猎人同行,寻猎白松露

每年秋天,意大利Piemonte大区的城市Alba,会聚集来自世界各地的饕客,为了就是一尝白松露的迷人滋味,不只满足味觉口欲,也可跟着松露猎人亲自寻找的乐趣 。

白松露具有独特的香气,通常被形容为混合了大蒜和地下植物的气味。有些人认为白松露散发出淡淡的蒜味和坚果的香气,也有人说白松露散发出荷尔蒙的味道,引人入胜,很难定义。

气候变迁 白松露的最佳产期日期平移一个月

意大利合法猎白松露的季节一般在十月左右开始,具体情况因地区而异,譬如Calabria、Toscana地区九月上旬即开始,Liguria、Lombardia地区九月中旬开始。以前出产高峰期是十月下旬到十一月初,温度五到六度最好,此时生长活力最旺盛。但近年冬天晚到,白松露高峰期一直延后,相较十年前我到阿尔巴采白松露的时间,今年整整往后延了一个月,Peak落在十一月底到十二月初,在未来极可能变成常态。

不只气温影响成熟时间,干旱也不利白松露最终出产质量。出产时的质量与当年气候有很大的关系,松露生长季节需要雨水,然而夏季干旱造成白松露产量与质量都在降低,有些供应高端餐厅的松露猎人资金雄厚,可以人工方式弥补自然的不足,如阿尔巴唯一三星Piazza Duomo的合作白松露供应商,在干旱季节施以人工灌溉维护白松露生长质量,然而需要耗费大量资金,一般松露猎人没有这样的资源。

在意大利白松露采集需要执照,白松露虽不能人工栽培,但松露猎人都有自己的领地,不能侵门踏户到别人的圈地,因此要体验采白松露,必须跟着有合法执照的松露猎人,大多都是按时间或次数计算费用, 而猎到的白松露当然是归松露猎人所有,可以直接购买。今年我们跟着熟识多年的松露猎人Ezio与训练有素的松露犬Dora一起寻找白松露,跟他约好时间见面,然而前天下大雨,脚下土地落叶一片泥泞,不利猎犬行走,因此改期。建议到阿尔巴采白松露,最好在附近预留两天时间,以免向隅,即便当日天气晴朗,若是土壤湿度太高,对于猎犬来说是无法忍受的,猎松露需要天时地利人和。

耳闻有人采松露有在半夜进行,为的是不被其他人发现白松露踪迹,不确定是不是谣传,但松露猎人有明确的认证制度,也有自己的领地,不过整趟行程仍然有着一丝神秘感。我们一行人在清晨进入森林,空气冷冽清爽,Ezio和他的松露犬带着我们专注在脚下土地,寻找橡树、柳树、白杨等树根附近,约在地下10~15公分处,找到它的确是需要些运气。但一但出土,即便是在森林里也带来强烈的芬芳。

据说有些松露猎人为了不让远道而来的客人失望,事先埋好白松露,但经验丰富的松露猎人熟悉松露惯常生长的区域,通常都能够找到,作为观光客,其实仔细观察,也可以看出白松露是被刻意埋藏,或是透过自然搜索而挖掘出来。猎松露活动结束后,我们到松露猎人的家庭小餐品尝简单的白松露套餐,幸运的话可以自食其力,所谓的白松露套餐切记过度炫技。

每一颗白松露都有不同的香气,深浅颜色不一。而白松露刨下粉红色的部分带有树根的香气,是最精华的部位,香气也更浓厚。通常颜色过度暗或纹路不明显,可能是置放太久、保存不当导致受潮等因素造成。

谈到白松露的吃法,在意大利最常见的是在水波蛋、半熟炒蛋、面条、炖饭,或是清汤中刨上些许薄如蝉翼的白松露。面条最讲究的是是蛋黄细面Tajarin,口感富有弹性,软硬度比较像中式面条,当然使用意大利宽面也不赖,看个人喜爱。白松露不建议搭配红肉的主菜,红肉酱汁强烈会掩盖白松露的气味,搭配黑松露较为适合,不过有些餐厅推销白松露连重口味红肉酱汁菜肴都推荐,这反应着商家的良心。

也有人喜欢将白松露泡到年份香槟里,与香槟一饮而下,如老Chardonnay葡萄酒天生有白松露的香气。若要搭配红肉,意大利人喜爱搭配当地特产Fassona生牛肉,这种牛肉脂肪极少,瘦肉为主,但肉质细致,将新鲜生牛肉挑筋去膜后剁碎,洒盐调味,再刨上白松露,添加些气味不强烈的橄榄油。

白松露佐餐原则是愈简单愈好,不宜浓妆艳抹,如米兰餐厅Trippa主厨甚至连橄榄油都不使用在Fassona生牛肉,调味简单,深怕橄榄油会抢去白松露的气味。白松露怕高温,只能利用食物的余温,白松露菜单必须非常克制。至于每道菜需要刨上多少白松露,有经验的主厨会看食材味道强烈程度以及口感,精心斟酌、调整白松露的厚度,譬如搭配细面条就使用比较薄片的白松露。

现在白松露产季从十月初到一月初都可能有,然而价格则是节节攀升,2023年在Piemonte大区白松露在餐厅的价格大多介于一克8欧元到12欧元。如果价格跟质量好,多跟餐厅秤重购买一些,我们一行10人,一餐饭大约花了3~4千欧元单单在白松露上。但对于阔别三年的Alba,岂能收手。想起朋友对我说:“吃不穷的”,心中想想真的是这回事吗?

若要保存白松露,切记不要抽真空,真空环境会抽掉白松露的香气,询问厨师后得知的做法是将白松露与白米一起放入密封袋,有时放入厨房纸巾,避免潮湿及高温。我的存放方式比不上专业厨房,通常仅在三天内即会消耗掉,但在专业厨师的处理下则可保持一周,见仁见智,但重点都是白松露娇弱得无法等待,一不小心,便会香消玉殒。

在物价高涨与气候异常的年代,中菜也以白松露大量入菜,将来似乎再也没有降价的趋势。虽然品尝白松露代价高昂,然而其带来的欢愉无价,两相一比一切都值得。

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Peray Hsiao

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 295

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:西班牙Disfrutar、Noor摘三星;秘鲁Maido获「拉美最佳餐厅」

米二主厨黄景辉携手5J火腿发表赏味宴;A...

关闭