Maths, Science and Art: How Tempura Reaches the Realm of Divine

A person who is able to do simple things to the fullest without being distracted can be called a shokunin (professional). But what is the definition of a person who goes beyond being professional? Tetsuya Saotome, the 78-year-old chef of the prestigious Japanese tempura restaurant Mikawa Zezankyo, is often referred to as one of the gods of Japanese cuisine. He has made “making tempura” a form of art, which is not only backed up by intuition but also by science.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip

I have visited several popular tempura restaurants in Tokyo, including those that are difficult to book or have a modern style. Planning food trips is both a job and a hobby for me. But personally, I prefer simple meals, and Zezankyo has always been irreplaceable for me because I really like traditional-style tempura and Saotome-san’s amicable humour. Though the quality of food is undeniably important, the personality of the chef does have an impact on the style and charm of a restaurant, especially when it is presented in itamae style.

Many of today’s restaurants are making their tempura lighter and grease-free, some even with almost no coating on certain ingredients. The technique is no easy feat, the result by all means delicious. But Zezankyo has been approaching tempura making with the traditional method, with a thin, crispy coating that retains the essence of tempura and a unique aroma from a mixed use of sesame oil and cottonseed oil. I am baffled by opinions that desserts are good because they are not sweet, or that tempura is tasty because there is no extra grease on the oil-absorbing cooking paper placed underneath. For those who have never visited a professional tempura restaurant, “deep-frying” seems to be an original sin. Well, trying out new things may help us gain a different perspective.

The first thing that stroke me as I stepped into Zezankyo was the elegant willow tree depicted on a green wall. Even the range hood is custom-made in the shape of a huge bowler hat with perfect curves, a kind of hat Saotome-san likes wearing.

At Zezankyo, tempura is prepared with ingredients at the core, without any over-seasoning or processing. All techniques are aimed at highlighting the flavours of the ingredients themselves. Just like the sushi maestro Jiro Ono, Tetsuya Saotome-san cherishes the gifts of nature and works behind the counter day in and day out, creating bite-sized pieces of pure heaven from fish, seafood and vegetables. The focus at Zezankyo is squarely on the food.

Tetsuya Saotome has upheld a principle of “one foot, five inches” as the golden rule in making tempura, reflected in the distance between the cooking counter and the guests, the control of frying time, and the selection of seasonal ingredients, ultimately emphasizing precision. At Zezankyo, the cooking counter is most of the time quiet except for the sizzling sound during frying, as the chef must rely on sound to manage the cooking process. Saotome-san explains that ingredients undergo processes of dehydration, boiling, and roasting in the frying pot, essential to ensure ingredients reach their best conditions. After the water in the tempura batter evaporates at high temperatures, the ingredients will be boiled and finally roasted in the oil, thus achieving a crispy yet not greasy result.

My favourite part is the prawn head, whichis perfectly crispy and appetizing. The squid, which is crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside, is also unforgettable. Saotome-san has been making tempura for over fifty years. He believes that the most sensitive temperature for the human tongue is 45 degrees Celsius, and he also understands what temperature can bring out the best of each ingredient. For example, tempura prawn must be controlled between 45-47 degrees Celsius to bring out its sweetness. Japanese whitings taste the best when their water content is reduced by 70%. For sea eel, which has more water content, it takes two minutes of deep frying to dry it out and remove the fishy taste. The highlight is the anago near the end of the meal which Saotome-san cuts with his chopsticks, making a very satisfying crunch sound. All of these cannot be achieved without years of practice and precise measurements. With enough data, the numbers speak for themselves.

Prawn Head / Sea Eel

In addition, the sea urchin wrapped in shiso leaves is also a masterpiece. Saotome-san says that in the past, sea urchins were mostly served with seaweed. He made improvements to the dish and uses crisp shiso leaves to wrap the slightly raw sea urchin, fried to perfectly sweet and satisfying. The meal was originally finished with scallop tempura don. Scallops are fried together as a cake instead of being fried individually since they taste better and sweeter when they are fried as a whole. On that day, the scallop was replaced by equally delicious prawn because the quality of the scallops did not meet Zezankyo’s requirement. The restaurant only uses salt and traditional tempura sauce for dipping, reflecting Saotome-san’s confidence in his cooking techniques. That day we were accompanied by food critic Mr. Masuhiro Yamamoto, who is a longtime friend of Saotome-san. He describes Saotome-san as a scientist, mathematician, and artist.

Sea Urchin wrapped in Shiso Leaves

The third floor of the restaurant displays Tetsuya Saotome’s art collection, which is said to number 40,000 items, including antiques from the Edo period. Saotome-san used to draw all the menus by hand, only recently they changed to printing based on original hand-drawing. Chinese is also added to the menu now. Saotome-san is not only a tempura master, his passion for culture and spirit of research have enabled him to remain dedicated to a frying pan for more than 50 years, treating cooking as a scientific and artistic endeavour.

Tetsuya Saotome started looking for work in Tokyo at the age of 15. He initially wanted to pursue a career in sushi, but after being convinced that being a tempura chef could enjoy a higher salary, he began training under a celebrated tempura chef at Tensho, a century-old tempura restaurant in Ueno. He and Jiro Ono, the god of sushi, have been close friends for many years, and have filmed together in the NHK documentary The Gods of Food: The Last Promise. In the film, Jiro Ono, whois still working in his nineties, says that he wanted to spend the last minute of his life in front of the sushi counter, while Tetsuya Saotome jokingly says that he would fall into a frying pot if he collapsed on the worktop. I laughed and cried at the same time. It was touching to see how the two of them developed a strong friendship despite the age difference of about 20 years.

Tetsuya Saotome(Left) and Jiro Ono(Right)

I have visited Zezankyo many times over the past few years. Though Saotome-san may not initiate conversations as frequently as others, once we got to talking, I could feel his strong energy and great sense of humour. Less cared about titles like “the god of tempura”, he is a man of great influence, yet for over fifty years, his unwavering dedication and relentless pursuit of excellence have been truly admirable.

Saotome(Right) and the Author

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Katherine Gu/Peray Hsiao/mikawa-zezankyo.jimdofree.com/instagram

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
FANHUA Allows Northeastern Chinese Cuisine to Bloom in the South

China’s Northeast region boasts the country’s best abalone, sea cucumbers and sea urchins, mostly harvested from the cold, clean waters off the northeastern coast. However,...

Close

​【Jocelyn专栏】数学、科学与艺术三位一体,天妇罗如何达到神人境界?

专注无杂念地将简单的事情做到极致,可以称为职人。若能达到超越职人的水平,那应该如何定义?日本天妇罗名店是山居的主厨早乙女哲哉先生,今年78岁,是日本料理界的神人之一。他将天妇罗做到神乎其技的境界,甚至能够讲授学术,这背后不仅是直觉,更有科学的支撑。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip

尽管在东京拜访过几家天妇罗名店,包括那些预约困难或具有新派风格的店铺,规划美食行程既是我的工作也是爱好。但私下大多时候我更倾向于简单的餐饮,而是山居在我心中始终拥有无可替代的地位。这其中一大原因是我确实偏爱传统天妇罗,加上早乙女先生幽默风趣,令人难以不喜爱。食物固然重要,但主厨的性格也的确影响了餐厅的风格与魅力,尤其在板前形式呈现的餐厅更为明显。

现今许多新一代的天妇罗强调更轻盈、低油,有些流派甚至只在特定食材上撒粉,出锅时几乎无面衣,其技法亦非易事,当然也是美味的。而是山居的天妇罗则坚持传统做法,面衣薄而脆,使用芝麻油混合棉籽油,带有独特的香气。我个人偏好山居的版本,虽然轻盈但仍然保留了天妇罗的精髓。对于那种认为甜品好吃是因为不甜,或天妇罗好吃是因为油纸上无油的评论,我感到困惑。对于那些未曾拜访过专业天妇罗店的食客来说,似乎存在着对“油炸”的原罪偏见。但一旦真正理解其深奥之处,必定会有全新的认识。

踏入是山居,首先映入眼帘的是绿色墙面上描绘着柳树的优雅姿态,连抽油烟机都特别定制成带有完美弧度的巨大礼帽形状,这也是早乙女先生常戴的绅士帽。

在是山居,天妇罗的制作以食材为本,不进行任何过度的调味或加工。所有的技巧都旨在突出食材本身的风味,这是一种素颜料理。早乙女哲哉先生珍视自然的恩赐,就像寿司大师小野二郎一样,在幕后日复一日地工作。他们的料理都非常纯粹,强调食材如海鲜、蔬菜等的天然美味,无需额外的装饰,食材本身就是主角。

早乙女哲哉先生的“一尺五吋原则”即是其心中的准则,体现在料理台与客人的距离、油炸的时间控制、选择季节最佳食材的方式等方面,强调的是精准。是山居的料理台,除了油炸时的滋滋声外,大多时候是宁静的,主厨必须依靠声音来掌控料理。早乙女先生解释道,食材在油锅中会经历脱水、蒸煮与烧烤的过程,这些步骤都是必不可少的,以确保食材的风味达到最佳。油锅中的蒸煮过程,是因为面衣中的水分在高温下蒸发,脱水后进入烧烤阶段,最终使食材达到脆而不腻的效果。

我最喜爱炸虾之后的炸虾头,那完美的酥脆感极度激发食欲,另外外酥内糯的乌贼也是让我念念不忘。早乙女先生已做了五十几年天妇罗,他说人的舌头最敏感的温度是45度,他还了解什么温度最能逼出食材本身最佳的味道,如炸虾必须控制在45~47度,最能逼出虾肉本身的极致鲜甜,炸沙梭鱼需将水分减少七成,星鳗水分多,要炸上两分钟才能烘干,去掉腥味等等。星鳗呈上时,以筷子切开,顿时香气缭绕,让人食指大动。这一切都是经年累月实际测量的数据,一旦数据够多,就成为一门科学。

虾头/星鳗

另外,是山居的紫苏叶包海胆也是一绝,他说早期海胆几乎都是搭配海苔,后来他做了改良,起锅时,紫苏叶酥脆,而海胆中心微生,因为脱水的缘故,放大了甜度,这依旧是我最喜爱的版本。而最后的收尾,以小贝柱炸饼做成天妇罗丼饭收尾,而做成炸饼的原因是单吃不如整团一起炸鲜甜,但我们当天因小贝柱质量没有达到是山居的要求,换成炸虾仁也相当美味。食材本身有各种风味,是山居的天妇罗调味只有盐与传统天妇罗酱汁,反映了他对自己烹饪技术的自信。用餐当天我们与美食评论家山本益博先生同行,他是早乙女先生的多年好友,他形容早乙女哲哉先生是科学家、数学家,也是艺术家。

紫苏叶包海胆

餐厅三楼展示早乙女哲哉先生的艺术收藏,据说多达四万件,包括江户时代古物,俨然一座小型博物馆。过去餐厅的菜单也都是由他亲手绘制,一直到近期才改成手绘之后印刷,菜单也印上了中文。他不仅是一名天妇罗师傅,那厚植心中的文化情怀与研究精神,让他能够五十多年来始终执着在一只油锅上,把烹饪当成科学与艺术事业来做。

早乙女哲哉先生15岁就在东京寻找工作,原本想成为寿司师傅,但听闻天妇罗师傅的月薪更高,便转而成为天妇罗学徒,进入上野的天妇罗百年老店天庄。他与寿司之神小野二郎是多年的好友,曾一起拍摄过NHK的纪录片《双神的约定》。在该影片中,九十多岁还在工作的小野二郎曾说要一直做到在寿司台上倒下,而早乙女哲哉则开玩笑地说,如果他倒在料理台上的话会掉进油锅,当时看影片的我一边哭一边笑。尽管两人年龄相差约二十岁,仍能培养出坚定的友谊,这令人感动。

早乙女哲哉先生(左)与小野二郎先生(右)

这几年我多次造访是山居,虽然早乙女先生并不会主动聊天,但一旦聊开,便能感受到他潇洒不羁且极富幽默感的作风。他是个谈吐四两拨千斤的人,但五十多年来对一件单纯的事物能够如此坚持与努力,这种日复一日将简单事情做到极致的精神,已经足以让人敬佩。对于各种被神化的说法,他似乎并不以为然,但他的精神已经令人佩服。

早乙女哲哉先生(右)与笔者

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Katherine Gu/Peray Hsiao/mikawa-zezankyo.jimdofree.com/instagram
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 329

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料