FANHUA Allows Northeastern Chinese Cuisine to Bloom in the South

Fengtian Restaurant, a Northeastern cuisine restaurant that originated in Shenyang has now made its first foray across a distance of nearly 3000 kilometers to Shenzhen, introducing an even more exquisite dining experience with the unveiling of FANHUA.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip Youtube

China’s Northeast region boasts the country’s best abalone, sea cucumbers and sea urchins, mostly harvested from the cold, clean waters off the northeastern coast. However, for a long time, the notion of Northeastern Chinese cuisine was largely associated with a hearty medley of meats and vegetables cooked in a giant iron wok. The situation has changed since Fengtian Restaurant opened in Shenyang and redefined Northeastern cuisine. A little over a year ago, Fengtian Restaurant launched its new outlet FANHUA in Shenzhen, proving that Northeastern cuisine has the power to warm the hearts of diners even in the southern heat.

Xiao Kuan describes FANHUA’s style as an example of “anti-Northeastern cuisine”. The theme of our dinner was Land & Sea: Endless Treasure, through which the delicacies of the Northeast shined through in each dish. Wine pairing was designed by Ms He Lingzi to avoid information overload and aesthetic fatigue. The alternation of meat and seafood in the menu was a challenge to traditional wine pairing. With dishes lying at the heart of everything, the wines were carefully selected to fit the theme while honouring the local terroir. The wines were mainly from Italy and France, with a sweet wine from Northeastern China as the finale.

The first course is Dalian sea urchin paired with six-year aged Italian Balsamic white vinegar jelly. The acidity of the vinegar allows for better support of the original flavour of the ingredients. Next is Tiger Salad with Liaoning Sea Cucumber, a popular salad from Northern China which sees a combination of refreshing vegetables and firm, chewy sea cucumber, elevated by a slightly spiced seasoning that perfectly whets up your appetite.

Dalian sea urchin paired with six-year aged Italian Balsamic white vinegar jelly

The nextis thin slices of Dalian abalone wrapped in Lapi (mung clear noodles), accompanied by sweet sesame chilli sauce that tones down the spiciness of the previous salad. China’s northeasterners like the pigeons barbecued as a juicy game bird, grilled over walnut wood, with a strong smoky flavour that’s typical of a Northeastern roast. The pigeon meat is low in fat, very dense and close-grained, a texture which may not be what southerners are accustomed to, but definitely gets addictive as you chew on.

Smoked Jinzhou roast pigeon

A classic Northeastern dish, Crispy Fried Sweet and Sour Pork, uses Jilin black mountain pig, deep-fried to crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, coated with a sweet and sour sauce made from Raohe black bee linden honey, which exudes a rich, tallowy aroma along with the sweet, tangy sauce. A floral orange wine (La stoppa, Ageno Bianco, Emilia IGT, Italia 2018) is selected to lift the richness of the pork with its catchy palate and refreshing citrusy nose. A clever pairing arranged by Lingzi.

Dalian’s specialty sand worm, with its soft and chewy flesh, is poured over with boiling rice soup to preserve its fresh and crunchy texture, complemented by refreshing sea vegetables. FANHUA’s lactic acid fermented cabbage is made under strict control of the pH value, combined with the rich fish maw broth to bring out the best of each other. The star of this dish is no doubt pickled cabbage instead of the fish maw.

Dalian’s specialtysand worm

Next up is a scrumptious and flavourful combination of tender and juicy Hulunbuir free-range beef steak, earthy porcini mushrooms and gelatinous sika deer tendon from the Changbai Mountains.

Middle section of the wild beltfish is chargrilled to best retain its juicy flesh and umami flavour, highlighted by the addition of an attractive charred aroma. This is followed by a rice dish made with fragrant Northeast Wuchang rice and mixed with honey mushrooms, a specialty of Daxinganling Mountains. For dessert, there is the signature Red Bean in Egg White inherited from Fengtian Restaurant, coupled with simmered hawthorn which is delightfully sweet and sour. It is complemented by Cailonglin Jinding Ice Wine 2016, a sweet wine produced in Huanren County, Liaoning Province, echoing the local produce of Northeast China.

Northeast Wuchang rice mixed with honey mushrooms

Adapting to the local conditions has been a significant challenge for a newly opened restaurant, not to mention introducing dishes from the Northeast to a southernmost city with entirely different produce and dietary habits.

The owner, Lena Wang, mentions that when the restaurant made the decision to open a new branch in Shenzhen, the team responded with full support and demonstrated their strong sense of purpose. In the end, we were served Northeastern home-style dishes – Pickled Chinese Cabbage with Pork and Blood Sausage, and Long Beans & Steamed Bread. The winter in Shenzhen is not cold, but traditional dishes like these can surely melt even the crudest heart. That night was filled with delicious moments and festive reunions, ending in a warm and cozy ambiance.

Lena Wang (the owner of FANHUA) and the Author

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Ye Shi

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Four Seasons Bangkok, a Jean-Michel Gathy Triumph

After a six-year hiatus, Four Seasons comes back with an incredibly stylish Jean-Michel Gathy crown jewel. Swapping its central location...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】跨越近三千公里,奉天繁华让东北菜在南方绽放

从沈阳到深圳约2800公里。由沈阳起家的东北菜,首次跨越这近三千公里的距离,在深圳开设分店,推出了更精致的东北菜餐厅——奉天繁华。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip Youtube

东北地区孕育了中国的多种顶级食材,包括鲍鱼、海参和海胆,这些都来自东北沿海。然而,长期以来,人们对东北菜的印象仅限于大锅菜。直到沈阳的奉天小馆崭露头角,重新定义了东北菜。一年多前,奉天小馆南下至深圳开设了奉天繁华,证明即使在南方炎热的气候下,东北料理仍具有温暖人心的魔力。

东北人的料理常被认为是豪迈的粗食,尤其是大锅菜。小宽老师打趣地说,奉天繁华的表现是「反东北菜」的典范。这次的晚宴主题是「山海无尽藏」,透过这场宴席能够一一展示东北的山珍海味。餐酒搭配由葡萄酒专家何凌子女士规划,避免信息超载和审美疲劳。菜品中,肉类和海鲜的交替呈现,对于传统的葡萄酒配餐来说,这是一定的挑战。在以菜为主,尊重菜单的原则下,酒款的搭配被精心挑选,符合「尊重风土」的主题。主要的酒款来自意大利和法国,以中国东北的甜酒作为收尾。

第一道菜是大连黄金海胆搭配意大利六年陈酿巴萨米克白醋,后者是以果冻形式呈现的。考虑到陈年意大利醋的甜度较高,与食材相搭配需要足够的酸度,以保留食材的原味。接着是东北调料老虎菜搭配辽参,后者是新鲜的海参,质地鲜脆厚实。老虎菜的微辣与海参的口感相结合,在口中带来曼妙的舞姿,这道菜也非常适合作为开胃菜。大连黄金海胆搭配意大利六年陈酿巴萨米克白醋

接下来是以大连鲍鱼包覆拉皮,鲍鱼薄片的滋味鲜美,肉质软硬恰到好处,搭配的芝麻辣酱产生甜口效果,也调和了前一道老虎菜的辣味,起到承上启下的作用。另一道烧烤鸽肉展现了东北人偏爱的烧烤方式,更象是一种野味的表现。使用核桃炭烧烤,带有浓郁的碳燻味。鸽肉脂肪少,烧烤后的肉质纤维感较重,也许不是南方人习惯的口感,但完整地呈现了东北烧烤料理的原始风味,越嚼越香。

烟熏锦州烧鸽子

东北经典菜锅包肉,使用的是吉林黑山猪肉,炸得外酥内嫩,裹上加入东北饶河黑蜂椴树蜜的酸甜酱汁,口中同时存在馥郁脂油的香气与酱汁的浓密甜香。选用橙皮花香四溢的橘酒(La stoppa, Ageno Bianco, Emilia IGT, Italia 2018)搭配锅包肉。浓郁稍抓舌的口感正好解除了锅包肉的份量感。橙香恰好也给予锅包肉一丝清新脱俗的香味,这是凌子老师安排的巧妙搭配。

辽宁大连的特产海肠,肉质爽脆鲜美,为保留其鲜甜爽脆的风味,用滚烫的米汤浇淋,再辅以海菜,清新爽口。而奉天繁华的东北酸菜炖花胶,在严格控制酸菜PH值的情况下,乳酸发酵的酸菜搭配浓郁的花胶汤,带来相互平衡的效果。这道菜的主角是酸菜而非花胶。

大连海肠

牛肝菌烧梅花鹿筋搭配呼伦贝尔牛排也让人齿颊留香。呼伦贝尔草原放养的肥牛肉质鲜嫩、富含脂香,与牛肝菌和长白山梅花鹿筋一同烧制时,其滋味更显浓香醇厚。

炭烤野生带鱼则选取中间段,其肉质厚实,即使经过碳烤,汁水依然保留,散发着诱人的碳烤香气,完美展现带鱼鲜美而醇厚的风味。接下来是一道米饭料理,选用东北五常大米,搭配大兴安岭特产的榛蘑,混入五常大米烹制成的闷饭,入口即感香气浓郁。甜品是奉天小馆的招牌菜雪绵豆沙,搭配熬制的山里红,带出酸甜滋味。搭配的是中国东北辽宁省桓仁县产的甜酒「蔡龙麟金鼎冰酒,2016年」,与东北的物产相呼应。

大兴安岭榛蘑卤肉焖饭

奉天繁华来到深圳,虽然只有短短一年的时间,但考虑到中国幅员辽阔,适应上便是一大挑战,更不用说将东北菜带到风土截然不同的南方城市。
主理人王宇提到,当初为了在深圳开店,厨师团队在公司的决定下,一呼百应地南下深圳,这需要极强的使命感。最后餐厅奉上了东北家常菜——酸菜白肉血肠锅以及豆角呼饼。深圳的冬天虽不冷,但这样的传统菜色最能触动人心。这个夜晚注入了团圆的气氛,在格外温馨的氛围中落幕。

奉天繁华主理人王宇与笔者

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Yena Lou
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 295

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:韩国釜山二月迎首版米其林;意大利披萨名店推出菠萝披萨引热议

1 韩国釜山二月迎来首版米其林 来源:m...

关闭