5.5 Meters Below Surface: Exploring Norwegian Restaurant Under

In Norwegian, “under” has the dual meaning of “below” and “wonder”. It is also the name of a restaurant located at the southernmost point of the Lindesnes coastline in Norway, a restaurant five and a half meters below the surface of the water, exposing you to the wonders beneath the sea in a unique dining experience that goes way beyond expectations.

Located in the icy waters of the North Atlantic Ocean, the travel and stay is an integral part of the experience. Curiosity awakens at the sight of this thick concrete structure half-sunken into the sea. It’s hard to get the same kind of surprise when you’re in the middle of a bustling city.

图片

Each of the three storeys of the restaurant offers a unique view of the outside marine environment. At the seabed, 5.5 meters below sea level, lies the main dining area. Danish chef Nicolai Ellitsgaard will usher you into the journey which begins on the mezzanine level where appetizers are enjoyed; meanwhile the passage down the stairs is a metaphor for the journey of descending from land to sea. Like a sunken periscope, the panoramic eye of the building is an 11-meter-wide and 3.4-meter-tall horizontal window which offers a visual gateway to the sea and connects the guests to the wildlife outside. Wouldn’t it be therapeutic watching a school of jellyfish dancing outside your window while enjoying good food?

图片Author and Chef Nicolai Ellitsgaard

Under has an open kitchen where the kitchen team prepares every dish. There are some dishes particularly impressive at the dinner, such as the mahogany clam. These clams are typically between 60 and 100 years old, and they display their longevity through the visible lines on their reddish-brown shells. Vibrant and flavourful tomato water is used to enhance the delicate texture of the clams without overpowering their original taste. In addition, the elderflower oil gives a floral note that evokes a summery feeling and complements the overall composition.

图片

Under’s culinary journey is not all about clams. Eel fishing has been banned in Norway for many years but four years ago a group of fishermen started to test fishing to see if the eel population was going up, and the result was getting better and better each year. Thanks to them, more and more fishermen are getting the licence to fish eel again. Under’s way of serving the eel is with the Béchamel sauce, also a Scandinavian tradition. Using a technique called “pan chino” (Chinese bread), half a sphere of foam is deep-fried before the eel is added and the other half of the sphere is filled and deep-fried, resulting in a crunchy, marshmallow-like texture with a creamy, soft eel filling.

Another standout dish is the egg custard, in which Under uses green shore crab, a common but easily overlooked delicacy near the coastline. The crab shells are simmered to make a crab stock, added with cream and eggs to create a silky egg custard. On top of the custard are Arctic shrimps. These shrimps are usually too small to be sold at the market and are usually sent directly to the factory to make canned goods. But Under purchases them from local fishermen and often at higher prices to help the fishermen’s livelihoods. The shrimps are served raw to retain their delicious nutty flavour and seasoned with the seaweed (especially the candied kelp) placed around the bowl.

图片Egg Custard

The menu includes langoustine, a dish that is hard not to like. The chef is very particular about the size of the langoustine: only those between 21 and 24 centimetres long are selected. The accompanying sauce is made from the liver of the langoustine, which is roasted in their shells and then mixed with pickled plum, cream and vinegar aged for seven years to create a harmonious balance of flavours.

Under also pays homage to native Norwegian cuisine. Inspired by the stuffed puff pastry pithivier in Bergen, the lamb dish combines the neck and the front leg. The back legs are salted and cured using a traditional technique called “Fenalår” in Norway, which ensures a depth of flavour, tenderness of the meat and a lingering aftertaste.

图片Langoustine

Many friends asked me about my views on Under’s cuisine. Chef Nicolai Ellitsgaard honours local ingredients, cares about local community, and works closely with local suppliers while he brings out the best of ingredients in every dish.

The story of Under began in 2010, when the family who owns the restaurant initially wanted to build an underwater hotel. However, given the magnitude of the project, they began to look for alternative solutions to revitalise the area. In 2016, they asked if chef Ellitsgaard would like to take part in the project, who at that time was considering leaving the culinary world but knew instantly that the project was meant to be successful. The collaboration resulted in Under, an underwater restaurant that goes beyond expectations.

图片

Under was awarded a Michelin star in February 2020, ten months after its opening in April 2019. Despite twists and turns brought by the pandemic, the restaurant did relatively good. In addition to its fantastic location, the restaurant has attracted a diverse team of talents from 14 countries.
Under’s cuisine showcases a harmonious connection between nature and cooking. Through the lens of its remoteness, breathtaking scenery and thoughtfully crafted dishes, one can savour the flavours of the ocean while being immersed in the mysteries of the sea. Surmounting the initial ambition of being a destination restaurant, Under has become an icon of culinary innovation.
Author: Jocelyn 华姐
Photo: Jocelyn 华姐

图片

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
New Journey for Three-starred North Italian Chef Niederkofler

Following the closure of the three-starred St. Hubertus restaurant in March this year, the world has had its eyes on...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】海平面下5.5米处用餐,深入探索挪威海下餐厅Under

在挪威的南部Lindesnes偏远地区,海下餐厅Under以挪威语「奇迹」之意命名,提供令人惊叹的海洋景色。Under位于海平面下5.5米处,提供了超越传统期待的用餐体验。抵达时,水下世界的景观令人感到兴奋。

Under餐厅在如此偏远的地方,创造了一种期待和冒险的感觉。前往Under的旅程是整体体验的成分。当看到这座混凝土建筑物沈入海洋中时,好奇心就会觉醒。如位于繁忙的大城市中,的确很难有相同的惊喜。

图片

餐厅分为三个楼层,都提供了对海洋环境的独特视角。主用餐区位于5.5米的深度,是整体体验的核心。主厨NICOLAI ELLITSGAARD来自丹麦,旅程从夹层开始,在这里享受前菜小食,透过窗户观赏潜入水中的景象,预示着即将沉浸在水下的深处。餐厅的用餐区的中心是11米宽和3.4米高的水平窗户,成了人类通往大海的大门,一个宽大的窗户,延伸至海底,用餐过程当中看着窗外的水母跳动,非常的疗愈。

图片笔者和Chef Nicolai Ellitsgaard

Under有一个开放式厨房,厨师们在此制作每一道佳肴。这次晚餐让我特别印象深刻的有几道菜,其中一个引人注目的特殊食材是红木蛤。这些蛤蜊的年龄在60至100年之间,它们通过可见的贝壳上的纹路展示了它们的寿命,令人叹为观止。为了突出蛤蜊的风味,巧妙地结合了几个元素。番茄水的添加使蛤蜊的细腻口感更上一层楼,番茄水富含鲜味,却不会掩盖蛤蜊的本味。此外,接骨木花油赋予了花香的气息,唤起夏日的感觉,与整体构图相得益彰。

图片

Under的美食之旅不仅限于贝类。餐厅大胆地重新引入挪威鳗鱼,打破了对鳗鱼捕捞的历史禁令。通过严格监测,一群渔民成功恢复了鳗鱼种群,从而将其纳入Under的菜单。根据斯堪的纳维亚传统,鳗鱼搭配了奶油白汁。使用了disfrutar pan chino(Chinese pan)的技术,先油炸半球的foam再放入鳗鱼,填上另外半球油炸,出品酥脆而口感像是棉花糖一般包裹着低温的鳗鱼内馅。

另一个引人注目的菜品是蛋羹,Under在食材里使用了绿岸蟹,在海岸线附近常见但被人们忽视的美味。将蟹壳熬制成蟹汤,加入奶油和鸡蛋,制作出丝滑的蛋羹。在蛋羹上面,放上了北极虾。这种虾通常太小,无法在市场出售,通常直接送往工厂成为罐头的一部分。但Under设法从距离这里只有30分钟的渔民那里采购,他们支付更高的价格,帮助渔民的生活。生食以保留它们美味的坚果味道,并使用碗边的海藻(特别是糖海带)调味。

图片蛋羹

菜单还包括螯虾,是很难不喜欢的一道菜。主厨对于螯虾的大小要求非常严格,精心挑选介于21至24厘米之间的螯虾。配套的酱汁由螯虾的肝脏制成,先将其连壳烘烤,然后加入腌制的梅子、奶油和经过7年陈酿的醋,形成和谐的口味平衡。

Under也向挪威本土美食致敬。羊肉菜品受到卑尔根的pithivier的启发,结合了羊的各个部位,包括脖子和前腿。后腿则采用挪威传统的”费纳洛尔”(Fenalår)技术,通过腌制和储藏,确保口味的深度和肉质的鲜嫩,令人回味无穷。

图片鳌虾

这次的来访,许多的朋友询问,对于Under食物的看法,Nicolai主厨尊重本地食材,重视人文关怀并且与本地的食材供货商取得更紧密的连结,每一道菜品都体现出食材本身的风味。

Under的故事始于2010年,当时餐厅的所有者最初设想建造一家水下酒店。然而,考虑到项目的庞大性,他们开始寻求别的方案来振兴该地区。2016年,来自丹麦的主厨NICOLAI ELLITSGAARD被邀请参与此次项目,当时他曾考虑过离开烹饪界。双方的合作最终催生了Under——一个超越期望的海下餐厅。

图片

自2019年4月开业以来,Under已经获2020年2月的米其林星级评定。然而疫情带来了波折。尽管面临各种障碍,团队坚持不懈。除了梦幻餐厅位置,拥有来自14个国家的多元团队,Under吸引了一群来自不同国家的工作伙伴。

Under的菜品展示了自然与烹饪之间和谐的连接。通过其偏远的位置、独一无二的景观和精心制作的美食,让人融入到海洋的奥秘之中,品味海洋的味道。Under已经超越了最初的仅仅是目的地餐厅的期望,成为烹饪创新的象征。

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Jocelyn 华姐

图片

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
享受最难忘暑假!世界上最小厨师「Le Petit Chef 2.0」登陆北京,带来魔幻沉浸式飨宴

巡回全球的「小厨师Le Petit Ch...

关闭