Rosewood Hongkong, Marvels and Milestones

Prologue

March begins with unprecedented hectic errands, the outburst of workloads diverts my spinning thought to another weekend getaway for the soma and soul. The late night whim to sojourn in the famed Rosewood Hong Kong and dive in the gleaming marble vanity heaven is absolutely beyond a fancy. My travel agent services affluent clients for long and reads my craving, she settles the booking in a click. If I had lost the sense of balance, it could only be regained through the sense of place.

When Rosewood Hong Kong opened in 2019, the vertical 65-storey estate at the Dockside of the Victoria Harbour was a sensational game changer. It is a flagship, marks the ambitions and vision of Ms. Sonia Cheng, the CEO of the Rosewood Hotel Group, to sail into the glittering world of ultra luxury hospitality. Eighty percent of the 413 rooms and suites share the unhindered harbour vista. The accoladed designer Tony Chi epitomises his aesthetics in this peerless institute set in historic Kowloon, and juxtaposes all the Chi’s icons: gleaming Carrara marble, hammered copper decor, check fabrics in neutral hue, and geometric motifs on lacquered panels and divided mirrors.

@Joseph Wan

As the chauffeur pools the limo on the cobbled driveway adorned by enormous lamps, the valets swiftly handle my belongings and usher me through the shimmering hallway to the check-in parlour. The harbour view room is ready and I am whisked into the neat and sizeable lodge. Yet the caprice to treat myself further for a suite cannot be accommodated plainly, an upgrade is beyond questions. I am chaperoned by the duty manager into the corner suite, the cordial chitchat almost assures an uplifting stay as I marvel at the delightful details and gleaming glamour in all the corners.

Descend

The greeting amenities are delivered in style at sunset by the housekeeper, who also picks the garments for the scheduled styling and shooting later. The twilights on the Peak Mountain twinkle in the endless mirrors and bedazzle against the supreme kaleidoscopic aesthetic of the suite decor. I marvel at such a spectacle, Hong Kong from the dockside, and wonder whether I should set my own bath and indulge in the luxuriating monochromic vanity nirvana. What a dilemma. It is perfect but for an oddity that the butlers are rather invisible and less proactive. Nevertheless, it is a prelude to episodes of service faux pas.

I wake up to a bright morning, and text the butler team to coordinate the schedule at the stylized elevator landing. Breakfast served at the Manor Club is sumptuous and delectable, yet the varied appellations I am addressed to and long waiting for my quotidian beverage, a chilled Americano, affect the appetite for either the dim sum classics and white asparagus delicacies. Fellow guests begin to queue at the hot station for another fresh fish ball pho and jam up the glittering buffet room in droves for the very last replenishment at 11 am. I just lose all the cravings.

The Club feels like a Tsarina’s midnight party as even more guests pour in and audible chatters start to echo from the remote end. I retain the composure and gaze into the vintage mirror across the rococo minimalist-style coffee table where the opulence and the chaos entwine. My photographers have dispatched already, and to my bewilderment, I am then informed by the butlers that the housekeepers are only about to tidy the suite and the scheduled shooting could be conducted at the Club without a chaperone as a prerequisite in the afore correspondence. Hmmm…

The butler manager, Mr. Ishwan Randawe, discerns the subtle austerity in my tone and tries to accommodate my unease with grace and keenness. Still, serial communication mayhem and discordant butlership since arrival exhaust my spirit. Tight manning precipitates disruption of service delivery. Neither the tarnished mood nor the suboptimal impression can be easily ameliorated despite attentive maneuvers afterward. As the very last radiance of the sunlight dims, I begin to draft a letter of candor and concerns, then double click to send it to the relevant managers.

Before check-out, the Rosewood excellence eventually beacons as the chef de cuisine assists me with the fruit plating with an adequate addressment. An icy Americano is immediately ready and brought to me with a warm, effortless gesture. Butlers wait on other fellow guests without trace signs of weariness. At the very last quiet moment, I gulp the coffee and speak gently about my leaving. The shadow of the vertical estate looms on the complex recollection of a bruised leisure stay. I bid the Tesla driver speeding up and leaving the exhaustion and doubts behind in the dust of the dockside.

Ascend

A week afterward, on the 5th anniversary day of Rosewood Hong Kong, I alight the uber from Central and walk into the familiar hallway, where the managing director Mr. Hugo Montanari awaits after the charity lunch to mark the serial festive celebrations, or the Rosewood Front Row. Charismatic and earnest, he welcomes me back and leads me to the Holt’s Cafe. “Your feedback is constructive; my team and I truly value your opinions and advice.” says Hugo as he listens to me about the eclipsed sojourn and concerns for the upcoming Art Basel craze. “May we invite you back to experience the daily efforts we have put in as the services should have been exceptional?”

“I might have been too much accustomed to a certain style of services, and I am aware of my own opinions are not unbiased but deeply genuine.” My positive response earns approval from the seasoned hotelier. And his openness impresses me and leads to discussion in depth about the Rosewood philosophy and the hardship Hong Kong hospitality industry shall never be succumbed to. “We try to make our guests feel happy and special, that is the challenge and the reward. And I look forward to truly showing you our full capacity. And as an institute erected by this most beautiful harbor, we wish to message the world that Hong Kong is now open.”, says Hugo with pride and passion.

A second stay is settled in early April, a long weekend escapade. Aboard the same Cathay Pacific flight, I flip through the films before taking off. An Almodovar film coproduced by Saint Laurent is the delicious and stylish choice: Strange way of life. An unconventional cowboy romance on a ranch about choice and destiny for a second opportunity. The synopsis sounds simply irresistible, far more enticing than either of the bland onboard meal options: grill chicken and scallops.

The film ends in silence, and the aircraft starts to descend. I adjust my shawl from the Saint Laurent special collection dedicating to the film. The mobile buzzes as I hop on a buggy heading to the immigration. “Good evening Dr. Wan, welcome back to Hong Kong and we are expecting you.”, the text message reads.

As my chauffeur decelerates and stops at the discreet but ornate entrance of the vertical estate, a familiar smile greets me with immaculate civility. It is Ishwan, together with a senior valet, waiting for my arrival. The same sumptuous suite is ready, and so are the greeting amenities and the eternal harbor view. Without much hustle, the in-room check-in completes in bliss, then I am bestowed with the pleasure of chitchatting with the butler manager as a lovely friend.

At the Manor Club, it is reassuring to see all the butlers attending guests with such a mastery of service excellence and elegance. Also, the skillful coordination of tasks and scheduled activities impresses me. I am particularly enthralled when the Butler team buzz to deliver an en libre tray of ice buckets and Coke Zero at turndown. Nothing can surpass some trivial yet personal preferences being observed and remembered.

Epilogue

Stepping out from the Rossano Ferreti hair salon, which is too recent and therefore an undiscovered sanctuary nestled in the Asaya cosmos, I am greeted by two butlers who call upon me to double check the preferred time for housekeeping. They even offer to send my acquisitions from the Ferreti grooming collection upstairs with an air of solemnity, I can only oblige.Services are always about details and communications.

@rosewoodhongkong

 

Author:Joseph Wan

Photo:Joseph Wan/rosewoodhotels.co/@rosewoodhongkong

Share your love
marketing
marketing
Articles: 1085

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Mandarin Oriental Bangkok, the Parnassus of the Mae Kong

Amidst the jolly sparkling Sunday brunch vibe at the riverfront, my request for usual liquid kale and ginger detox formula...

Close

全球酒店专栏:​香港瑰丽,形魂合璧|TastyTrip

楔子

香港瑰丽酒店自 2019 年早春揭幕,便以港九奢旅之最,名动东亚。六十五层楼高擎天府邸,自太古仓码头旧址拔地而起,直上云霄,由瑰丽酒店集团主席郑志雯女士委由建筑大师季裕棠操刀,历经十载落成,计有四百一十三间房间与套房,饰以几何纹样漆面与明镜,错落点缀Loro Piana羊毛壁布打造起居空间尔雅。卫浴则巧嵌黑白云石,设有独立浴缸与铜锻面盆,动线涵纳男女衣帽间,精心处处,展现季式独到美学。

三月伊始,工作情事纷乱,治丝益棼,身心俱疲之际便又向往香港或曼谷短游避世,希冀透过旅行,安顿不宁身心。深夜辗转,信手点开世界五十最佳酒店页面寻求灵感,香港瑰丽高踞全球第二,雍容典雅。纵耳闻稍誉过其实,且新富鹬集,仍是好奇不已,遂去讯委由友人订房,心神驰骋九龙水滨绝景。

@Joseph Wan

午后私车缓缓驶入满铺鹅卵石的回车道,夹路矗有巨型灯饰与艺术雕塑迎宾,甫停泊于酒店前庭,门卫熟练接过行李,寒暄片刻便引领我穿过豪华门廊,前往柜台办理入住。前台经理Jeffrey Ho朝气十足,接过护照,旋告知港景客房已齐整,倾刻即可入住或是先于贵宾廊瑞阁 (Manor Club) 小酌;笔者素喜居卧分离,洽知套房升等费用可堪负担,便表示先参观后决定。前台经理推开港景客房殷厚大门,季氏美学无双,维港景致旖旎,然起居紧挨卧床略显侷促,怎能不往套房挪去?

玉损

步入山景套房,偌大落地窗仍揽西九龙城与维港景致无遗,橄榄绿色漆屏与明镜铺排起居间奢侈已极,卧室缀以浅灰格纹布料与奶油色漆屏,则显府邸气度静雅。夜幕初降,远方太平山灯火曳摇静谧,星轮缓驶,当此胜景坐卧品茗,乐不思蜀。房务同仁奉上迎宾果盘与总经理亲笔信,道安铺设夜床之余,利落收取隔日摄影用衣物蒸烫。浴室黑白云石轮奂巧砌引人入胜,置身其中乐享浸浴,烦忧全然抛诸身后。然只一事隐约有异,便是瑰丽著称礼宾管家服务,自预定到入住聊胜于无,岂知无限耽溺不意玉损,皆导因于此。

慵起前往瑞阁早餐,关于酒店内摄影与动线安排等琐事征询管理仍未有回音,更遑论入住前通讯软件上礼宾部门问洽回覆,总不甚清晰积极,笔者便暗忖不妙。日禺时分,贵宾廊已满座八分,礼宾管家匆匆询问房号后便由我随意入座。餐台玲珑,珍馐琳琅排开,白芦笋沙律与传统点心原是心水至爱,然此时瑞阁吵闹如市,兼之冰咖啡与西柚汁久候,让人食欲全无。当管家告知房务同仁恐无法实时清房其余事项一问三不知,而摄影团队将抵,如此混乱更是十足倒胃。

难以按捺悻悻,管家经理Ishwan Randawe见状,便一力接管所有联系琐事,确保房务与礼宾服务在线,更表示摄影陪同此次豁免,请我放心。乍似警报解除,然而诸多细过错失皆缘于横向沟通失灵,而笔者惴惴,美好第一印象陡然色变,见微知著地反映管理困境。哑然失笑之余,更忧心下旬巴塞尔艺术展 (Art Basel) 与瑰丽酒店五周年,世界第二美名或将蒙尘,遂书下拙见反馈予管理层。

退房在即,瑞阁管家旋即奉上咖啡,并殷切称名问候,不复前日仓皇。然而笔者五味杂陈,也再度忖思奢华意义与酒店服务精髓。步出大厅,一切困惑与未逮,都将沦为府邸水畔下的波臣。

还璧

返台数日后,西裔总经理Hugo Montanari恳切覆答致歉,并诚邀话叙。恰逢笔者连两周访港洽公,便巧订香港瑰丽酒店开幕五周年纪念日慈善午宴后,于府邸驰名茶餐厅Holt’s Café一会。「我们相当重视您的反馈指教,也明了个中绝非无病呻吟。关于瑰丽驰名管家服务,我多说无益,只能力邀您再度体验。」

「感谢您百忙中拨冗聆听我分享拙见,作为多年奢华酒店迷,很难没有本位或是偏好,然出发点只是期许瑰丽酒店能更加卓越。」,总经理Hugo Montanari闻后首肯,他微笑极其迷人,风度自信又谦和,与我接着分享香港酒店业现况。「香港向全球敞开,但许多国际旅客并不知道我们殷切期盼他们返港。作为酒店人,我们的使命与挑战便是如何让所有人宾至如归。」

时入四月,再度搭上熟悉不过的国泰航班,飞机餐如常寡淡,烤鸡跟带子烚无颜色,全然不及阿莫多瓦新片十分之一更惹味。由Ethan Hawke与 Pedro Pascal文本新绎,讲述前缘如何再续。这一机巧,令笔者心情大好,更加期待重返瑰丽。平顺飞抵香港国际机场,落地坐上高尔夫球车便收到管家团队来讯亲切问候。

私车驶入府邸,管家经理Ishwan Randawe灿笑远迎,偕资深门卫一道引我入房办理入住。套房仍旧华美,但怎若熟识如友的关切与问候,更能令人心暖。瑞阁精雅如昔,管家团队充满赤诚,接待又入里细腻;他们暗记下笔者常点轻饮,开夜床时与冰桶一同奉入房内,并妥善协调房务与前台,确保公私行程无论巨细,皆能丝滑衔接。瑰丽奢侈无双,而相称府邸服务,乃是透过日常积累,悉心于互动中体察宾客,最终透过微小处展现无上款待。

后语

五周年香港瑰丽庆典,团队迎来当代发艺巨擘Rossano Ferreti于水疗楼层 Asaya揭幕首间义式沙龙。笔者甚喜于酒店下榻期间理容,而造型师慧手巧,妙语如珠,更是令人心花怒放,不待推荐,便选购了同名发品。怎知两位管家已在柜台等候,欲再度确认客房整理与宾客来访琐事,见我提袋走出,主动上前协助送房。盛情难却,便邀请他们一同前往瑞阁。

又是退房时刻,自电梯迳直步出,恰逢总经理从大厅走来欢送,我便趁此良机分享诸多瑰丽管家精微体贴举措,更是盛赞管理能精益求精。「擎天府邸是我在九龙唯一住址,也是香港的第二个家。各位的努力造就绝伦体验,更令瑰丽之美深深触动我。」。总经理Hugo Montanri恳切笑答:「我们都等着你回来,一路顺风。」

@rosewoodhongkong

 

封面:Joseph Wan
图片:Joseph Wan/rosewoodhotels.co/@rosewoodhongkong
撰文:Joseph Wan
分享你的喜爱
marketing
marketing
文章: 1085

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:京阪米其林幽玄摘二星;Noma Projects 快闪纽约

1 京阪米其林幽玄摘二星 来源:mich...

关闭