Ling Long in Two Cities: Varied Experience Under 1 Michelin Star

The new generation of chefs has begun to embrace their own land. They have learnt Western techniques, but have decided to unleash their talents on the canvas of Chinese cuisine. After winning a Michelin star for Ling Long Beijing, Jason Liu, at the age of 30, once again garners a star for the restaurant’s new venue in Shanghai, the most challenging city for top-notch restaurants in China, after opening only for few months. In my mind, the two spots are not on the same level any more.

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip Youtube

I visited Ling Long Beijing more than two years ago, and now the restaurant’s new outlet in Shanghai is housed in Waldorf Astoria’s 120-year-old heritage building at the forefront of the Bund. Besides the superior location, Ling Long Shanghai has started out with a full upgrade in interior design and artwork display. Since its opening this year, Ling Long has received wide acclaim and become very difficult to book even at a time when Shanghai’s high-end restaurant industry has not yet fully recovered from covid.

With doubts in mind, I originally planned to visit Ling Long Shanghai when it launches a second iteration on menu. But a Singaporean chef friend came to visit me and specifically asked for Ling Long, and the restaurant happened to have a reservation just cancelled. We had no reason not to go. I know Ling Long Beijing is delicious, but there is room for improvement in terms of completion. The outstanding performance by Ling Long Shanghai was completely out of my expectation.

The appetizer features a pea pod enveloping charred sweet peas, accompanied by caviar and smoked scamorza cheese. The smoky, sweet, and savoury flavours of the peas are enhanced by the addition of caviar, creating a multi-layered experience. The second appetizer is a king crab leg poached with fermented grain sauce and finished with butter and cream, placed on top of tomato water and celery oil, and garnished with tomato jelly and shiso flowers. As you bite into the crab meat, it yields a luxurious and creamy burst of butter that exudes a robust tang. The tomato water and celery oil add a refreshing twist, while the shiso flowers bring a hint of Japanese influence to the dish.

Pea Pod

One of Jason’s signature dishes is a soup made with 3-year-old Tangshan black-footed chicken, dry-aged for three months to make the soup along with fresh chicken and Yunnan wild matsutake mushrooms. Instead of using fresh chicken to concentrate the soup, Jason takes a different approach by first curing the chicken and then making the soup, which requires a considerable amount of time and effort. Jason mentioned that he is still researching and developing better methods for ageing the chicken, as he continues to refine his soup creations.

Next up is a flower-like dish featuring lobster, with a layer of jelly made from Chinese yellow wine covering the marinated lobster. This allows the jelly to easily attach to the lobster, and is accompanied by radish, herbs and vegetables. The lobster is slow-cooked at low temperatures to perfectly cut off the rawness. Looking at the photo of this dish piqued my curiosity about its composition, and I was pleased to find that the flavours are actually well blended. The plating could be simpler, if I had to be picky about the dish.

Lobster

Anotherone is the char-grilled palm heart, served with grilled scallop and a sauce made with caviar, finger lime, and Chinese pine nut, topped with dried scallop and shredded palm heart. The palm heart comes from Xishuangbanna (an autonomous prefecture for Dai people in Yunnan) and has a texture somewhere between wild rice stem and bamboo shoot. The crunchy nuts and caviar in the sauce give this dish multiple layers of mouthfeel and a strong umami. Personally I’m inclined to think that scallops can make a fancy dish with very little effort. However, in this dish, the presentation is spot-on.

Fish maw stewed withhomemade Parmesan is topped with cheese crisps and coupled by celery and rice cake. The sweet, juicy celery from Majiagou in Shandong province has no tough strings, while the rice cake is similar to Italian gnocchi in texture. An Italian-inspired Chinese dish brimming with umami that’s hard to resist, this showcases chef’s understanding of fusion cuisine.

Char-grilled Palm Heart

Thekinki fish is prepared by grilling and brushing a layer of sand ginger oil on surface to enhance the flavour. Only the sauce is a bit overwhelming, making it somewhat plain compared to other dishes. Ling Long’s Oyster & Beef is a signature item. The A5 Wagyu beef from Shandong province is deep-fried, seared and finally grilled to produce a crispy exterior and tender interior. The beef is marinated with a bold seasoning, with no need for additional oyster sauce to enhance the flavour. This dish is a no-brainer when it comes to deliciousness.

The vegetable fried rice features xcdc, bok choy, water chestnut, 5J ham, accompanied by Taiwan’s nest fern, clove fish cake, and craft brew soy sauce tailor-made by Kikkoman. A touch of Taiwan is beautifully added to this classic Shanghainese fare.

Wuchang rice from Northeast China

The dessert features three different types of honey presented in the form of airy cake, molten lava, and crispy flakes. To enhance the experience, a small speaker is provided to play the buzzing sound of bees, which makes the corners of the mouth turn up. After the refreshing jasmine bird’s nest, a nostalgic treat is presented by arousing childhood memories through the scent of osmanthus. The coin purse adds extra fun to the interactive dining experience. Hidden within the variety of Western and Chinese desserts are flavours reminiscent of traditional Chinese sweets. After all, going out to eat should always be a joyful occasion.

Being a young chef, Jason is precise in time control and cooking techniques, allowing the ingredients to shine at their best. The overall flavour portfolio is slightly sweet, which is quite compatible with the Shanghai palate. Despite that he is still exploring his own flavour type, Ling Long is a good restaurant with his ingenious creations.

At Ling Long Shanghai, thecuisine is highly completed and layered, the service smooth and personal. Compared with Ling Long Beijing, the difference is clear. Only the seasoning can be a bit more daring. Experimenting with more styles to spark diversity is also worth trying. Jason is very young, and time is the last thing he lacks.

Jason Liu is a chef with almost zero bad reviews. He is sincere, humorous and has a positive interaction with diners. He is willing to listen to others, and conversations with him can be direct, honest and specific. Wearing the Michelin Young Chef Award and Black Pearl’s Young Chef of the Year, and having been awarded oneMichelin star for two consecutive years, he is not overly ambitious, and he is one of the few chefs today who rarely leaves the kitchen and focuses on serving his customers. His understated and calm persona is a clear indication of how different he is.

It’s no exaggeration to say that Ling Long Shanghai and Beijing are two completely different restaurants. In Shanghai, where fine dining is still in the doldrums, Ling Long is bucking the trend and breaking the spell of new restaurants’s fleeting three-month popularity. For Jason, Ling Long is an honour as well as a presence that has brightened up Waldorf Astoria’s signboard.

Already a hotshot chef at such a young age, Jason’s future is not one to worry about. Any comments about him now would just be icing on the cake.

Jason Liu and the Author

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Ye Shi

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
White Truffle Hunting in Alba: Unearthing Priceless Delights

White truffles possess a unique aroma, often described as a blend of garlic and earthy undertones. Some perceive the subtle...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】玲珑:北京与上海风格迥异,同样一星下的水平差异与体验

新一代主厨开始认同自己的土地,虽然学习的是西餐工艺,但决定在中菜这张画布上挥洒自己的天份,今年刚满30 岁的Jason刘禾森,继北京玲珑摘下米其林一星之后,今年在上海这个全中国顶级餐厅汇聚、挑战性最高的城市,但他戒慎恐惧,上海玲珑才开业数月就摘下一星,在我眼中,玲珑在上海与北京并非在同一个水平上。

@Jocelyn華姐的TastyTrip Youtube

两年多前我曾造访过北京玲珑,而今年玲珑进驻上海外滩第一排的华尔道夫酒店这栋有 120 年历史的建筑里,起手式就远胜北京玲珑,上海玲珑的室内设计与艺术品也都大为升级,开业至今表现也获得一致好评,在上海高端餐饮业仍未完全复甦之际,玲珑一直是预定困难的餐厅。

心中存着怀疑,原本计划等到上海玲珑第二版菜单出来再次造访,然而新加坡厨师朋友来访,点名上海玲珑。刚好餐厅有人取消订位,我们才有机会一探究竟。这次上海玲珑表现让我惊艷,印象中北京玲珑的虽然可口,但在完成度还有进步空间,然上海玲珑表现则是出乎我意料之外。

开胃小点豆夹壳包覆炭烧甜豆仁,搭配鱼子酱和烟熏斯卡莫札起司,炭烧、甜豆仁、烟熏味,加上鱼子酱呈现多层次复合味道。第二道小点糟卤帝王蟹腿,妙处在于蟹腿里包裹奶油,底部是西红柿水和芹菜油,上方是西红柿果冻与紫苏花,这道菜入口甜香袭来,蟹肉咬下涌出绵密的黄油,味道馥郁浓烈,加上番茄水与芹菜带来味觉上的转化,搭配紫苏花有中日交融的味道。

炭烧甜豆仁

汤品是主厨的成名作之一,选用3年的唐山黑脚老鸡,用3个月的时间风干熟成做成鸡肉火腿,以火腿和新鲜的鸡肉熬制成汤,汤里加入云南野生松茸。主厨反其道而行,不使用新鲜鸡肉吊汤浓缩,而是先浓缩鸡肉再去熬汤,是一道相当费时的料理,Jason告诉我,他还在研发更好的鸡肉风干方式,继续在汤品上着墨。

前菜是一道如花样般的龙虾料理,在熟腌龙虾上覆盖一层中国黄酒做成的虾冻,让虾冻容易沾附在龙虾上,搭配心里美萝卜与些许香草蔬菜。龙虾采低温慢煮的做法达到断生的完美状态,这道料理光看照片就令我好奇他的组成,结果整体味道融合相辅相成,唯一要挑剔的是摆盘设计可以再简化一些。

龙虾料理

再来一道前菜是炭烧棕榈心,配上炙烤扇贝,酱汁是用鱼子酱、指橙、中国松子粒熬制的鱼卵酱汁,上面有干贝和棕榈芯丝。棕榈心来自西双版纳,口感介于皎白笋与竹笋之间,酱汁中的坚果与鱼子酱颗粒,让这道菜有多重口感与复合感,旨味强烈。一般看到扇贝便觉无趣,心里总是想到这是偷懒食材,但在这道菜里的呈现却恰如其分。

中国产的帕玛森煨花胶,上面放上起司脆片,中间搭配芹菜和年糕,来自山东的马家沟芹菜无渣,又有蔬菜的鲜甜,而年糕口感类似意大利的马铃薯面疙瘩Gnocchi,这道菜是意式中菜的表现,展现融合菜功力,且旨味(umami)四溢,很难不讨人喜欢。

棕榈芯

糟粕金吉鱼采立鳞烧的做法,表面刷上一层沙姜油,提鲜增香,然酱汁稍多,虽也美味,但相对其他菜品有些无趣。玲珑的蚝与牛也是一道成名作,选用山东 A5 和牛,经过高温油炸、油煎与火烤三道程序烹调,外脆内软。牛肉抓腌调味重口但淘洗,反而不需要蚝油再提鲜,已是不假思索的美味料理。

东北五常米做成的菜饭,配上上海青、马蹄笋、5J 火腿,配菜是台湾的山苏与丁香鱼饼,加上龟甲万酱油为其特制的两倍精酿酱油,为经典上海菜添加些台菜的个性。

五常大米

甜点的部分是3 种不同的蜂蜜呈现空气蛋糕、流心和脆片。上菜时还搭配一台小音响,播放蜜蜂缭绕的嗡嗡声,让人不觉扬起嘴角。在清爽的茉莉花燕窝之后,也是一道回忆甜品,先以玉兰花透过嗅觉唤醒童年记忆,再以投币方式增添趣味,多种中西式甜品中隐藏中式传统甜品的味道,出门吃饭就是要开心的呀。

主厨刘禾森年纪轻,但他在时间掌控度、科学烹饪法技巧都非常纯熟,让食材展现最佳熟度。整体口味偏甜,然与上海人口味也相当契合,创作有巧思,虽然在味型的领域还在探索中,但的确是家好餐厅。

上海玲珑料理层次感与完成度都很高,设计与服务流畅度都很优异,与北京玲珑高下立见,不过调味变化起伏还可以再大胆一点,未来可尝试更多菜系让自己的料理更多元化,Jason很年轻,最不缺的就是时间。

刘禾森是几乎零差评的厨师,他诚恳、幽默,与食家之间能够处于一个正面良好的互动关系中。他愿意倾听他人意见,与他对谈可以很直接、坦承,也很具体。戴着米其林最年轻厨师奖与黑珍珠年轻主厨奖光环,连续两年摘下一星,即便黄袍加身,但他不好大喜功,他也是当今少数很少离开餐厅的厨师,专注服务客人,低调沈稳的个性已可看出他的与众不同。

玲珑在上海与北京已不在一个水平之上,说是完全不同的两家餐厅也不为过,在高端餐厅市场仍低迷的上海,玲珑可以逆风而上,打破新餐厅热度只维持三个月的魔咒,至今仍一位难求,对年轻主厨而言是很难能可贵的光荣,而餐厅的存在也再度擦亮华尔道夫酒店招牌。

主厨刘禾森年纪轻轻已经是当红炸子鸡,前程不需忧心,现在对他的任何评价都只是锦上添花。

刘禾森主厨与笔者

文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: 叶适 Ye Shi

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 298

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:东京米其林「青空」摘三星 Maz空降二星;Noma Projects发行会员制

旧金山米三Quince重新开业;杭州青岚...

关闭