The Upper House, a Hong Kong legend

   Admiralty

The House Car arrives punctually and awaits as I descend the gleaming staircase of the Landmark, Mandarin Oriental. The dedicated, beaming senior valet in a crisp white shirt loads up my luggage while the entire Landmark concierge congregates at the driveway for the farewell. It is a short ride from Central to Admiralty. The Upper House leaves a sleek first impression in the prompt travel as I flip a copy of Monocle magazine.

My love affair with Hong Kong dates back to 2009, when the once remote and uncouth colony evolved into the invincible podium for the British Taipans. Tales of these mega conglomerates never fail to fascinate me, particularly the Jardine Matheson and the Swire frenemy synergism. As I am chauffeured along the Queen’s Road, the familiar cityscape is dotted with the trophies of these foreign tycoons: the eternal Mandarin Oriental guards the harbor with the Jardine, the minimalist Murry poises on the slope as the Wharfs’ pride, and the Upper House marks the pinnacle of the Swire dynasty.

The Upper House showcases the innovation and adventurism that defines the prime trader and developer, the Swire, and that never goes out of fashion. This 117 key property has enjoyed immense popularity since its opening in 2009, on the upper levels of an eighties skyscraper in Admiralty, as the inaugural hotel to be designed by André Fu and the cornerstone for his later glowing career. The glimpse of the verdant and futuristic Pacific Place marks an entry into the quiet, timeless yet undoubtedly luxurious sanctuary.

I alight the comfy sedan and arrive at the enclosing vestibule reception exuding dapper elitism. The team greets me and escorts me ascending the grand escalator lined by lanterns in dimming lava-tone light. The effusive millennial refinement continues to the guest room level where the adorning candor of creamy limestone and oak ignites omotenashi sensitivity. The transition from the familiar, glossy Landmark to the novel, smart Upper House is astonishingly seamless.

André

Guest rooms are the core of the Upper House; the entry-level option, Studio 70, is generously spacious to Asian standard, with a holistic style bathroom. I am immediately mesmerized by the unhindered vista of the Victoria Harbour through the picture window of Suite 90 as the effervescent assistant director of guest experience, K Ma, accompanies me into the residential heaven. The soothing oaky muteness filtrates the sizeable bed chamber and vanity area and precipitates the minimal Noh climax in the limestone-lined bathroom.

The soaking bathtub is placed meticulously in the center as if it were an altar. I am awed by the visual theatricality and perfect symmetry, and here luxury is so effortless and timeless. Despite trace watermarks and clever reupholstery telling the real age of the hotel, the guestroom feels fresh and almost brand new. The exemplary André Fu aesthetic lures me to unwind into an unimagined leisure escapade.

Guest services are extraordinary and ensure a home away from home experience. Soft drinks and staples are well stocked in the mini cellar of the complementary Maxi Bar, and I just cannot help but grin at the ultra-healthy welcome snacks placed on the coffee table next to the yoga mats and blocks. The pressing service and in-room dining options are also top-notch.

Fitness enthusiasts and spa maniacs may be slightly disappointed by the limitation of facilities in this masterfully repurposed highrise for the gym is tiny, spa center and swimming pool are lacking. I truly don’t mind an in-room grooming or massage session after evening turndown but deign to travel for a plunge in the sister property, the East Hong Kong.

André Fu also curates stunning arts and conceptual installations to adorn the Upper House and deliver Asian authenticity. Marvin Fang, Cynthia Sah, and Man Fung Yi are everywhere. The real statement piece is the omni 40-meter-tall instillation signed by Hirotoshi Sawada ornamenting the pentagonal inner atrium. I gaze upward from the pond beneath and admire the laced metal artwork akin to ripples merging into a metaphorical helix of the orient and the occident.

Taipan

The discovery of various considerate little touches leaves me in awe again: guests can access fresh filtered water from the tap next to the Maxi Bar; plenty of charging sockets are at the bedside; a compact toiletry bag filled with goodies and Bamford amenities is gifted to every guest. The pampering Upper House jamais-vu indulgence breathes a peculiar and reassuring Cathay Pacific déjà-vu accent.

I depart for Central at twilight to catch up with my hotelier set. The Aubrey, my usual go-to izakaya for casual soirees on the top floor of the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong, is almost full. Crafty Japanese cocktails, fresh Tokyo Bay sashimi platter, and crispy tempura legumes in fine batter are served in the usual flawless manner.

The exceptional Upper House sojourn soon becomes the talk of the evening and follows all tales and gossip of the Four families and British Taipans. These century-old traders have morphed from cement, textiles, and tea trading establishments to conglomerates helping milliards figure out industrial, aviation, and property development. Were it not for these pioneers sailing off from Liverpool and seeking opportunities in the Far East, there could be no naissance of high Asian hospitality.

The chinoiserie odyssey of the Taipans, the triumph and the demise of traders, and the drastic modernizing and turmoil befalling Asia nourish Hong Kong, the miracle child of greater China, and the thriving hospitality industry in the post-Pacific war era. I have been a devout reader of Regency-era authors, and thus not unfamiliar with imperialism and orientalism. The Anglo-Chinese cultural crosstalk, though started as a political coercion after the Opium War, catalyzes the British gentility dignity, and supreme Chinese hospitality, and fertilizes the soil for the grand hotels of the Taipans.

After the jolly dinner rendezvous, while waiting for the House car pickup, I order a copy of Nobel House by James Clavell, a fictional portrayal of the fierce rivalry between the Swire and the Jardine Matheson.

Advancement

Breakfast at Salisterra ends late, and I snooze twice the morning wakeup ringtone and languorously sit up in bed. Grooming does not take long, and I hurry upward to the famed tea salon, bar and dining room complex for a vitalizing detox brekkie. At the end of the sky bridge, I am greeted by Kristina Snaith-Lense, the accoladed general manager and soul of the Upper House.

Salisterra@upperhouse_hkg

As one of the female leading hotelier triumvirates besides Amanda Hyndman and Jill Goh during the COVID on the island, Kristina Snaith-Lense shares with me how female sensitivity and leadership distinguish Hong Kong as the pioneer hub in service industries. “Gender can indeed provide a unique perspective in leadership, particularly in the hospitality industry, where empathy, attention to detail, and a nurturing approach are invaluable. Female leaders often bring a different kind of intuition and sensitivity to guest needs, creating an environment that feels both luxurious and comforting. The presence of strong female leaders in Hong Kong’s luxury hotel scene undoubtedly contributes to its appeal, and distinction, and fosters an inclusive and dynamic environment that benefits both guests and staff.”

About the prospect of the intimate and selected House Collective portfolio of the Swire Hotels, she continues with a hotelier’s zeal. “The House Collective creates “Houses Not Hotels”, each with its own distinctive character and sense of style. Our people-first hospitality and vibrant guest experiences set the brand apart and earning the Houses loyal fans world-wide. We have recently announced our latest addition to our growing family in Shenzhen, Tokyo, and Xi’an.”

I descend into the cosmic shopping center of the Pacific Place and reckon the extraordinary experience and tales of these Hong Kong grand hotels conjured from the rich Taipan legacies and endeavors of diligent Hongkies. The distillation of culture, lifestyle, and joie de vivire shall continue drive the Upper House forward to the very forefront.

Photo:Joseph Wan/@upperhouse_hkg

Author:Joseph Wan

Share your love
marketing
marketing
Articles: 1102

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

全球酒店专栏:​香港奕居 华洋交融

金钟

香港奕居酒店,自2009 年初夏于金钟盛大揭幕以来,便以全港面积最宽敞客房,与卓越绝伦服务,声誉鹊起,成为全球菁英旅客与风尚时人访港下榻首选。奕居所属太古酒店,为英资太古集团掌上明珠;太古立碁香港百载,域跨飞航、零售与房地产开发,与文华东方酒店集团所属怡和控股为香港两大英资洋行巨擘,逾百载对华贸易竞合,与港府撰书世界金融与运输枢纽传奇。

矗立于太古广场之巅,奕居前身为太古广场第一期住宅曦暹轩 (The Atrium),居于香港JW万豪酒店上层塔部。酒店 117 间沉敛奢侈风格客房与套房,巧用橡木、篁竹与牙色云石,品味幽雅洗炼,熔融华洋兼美,是港裔才俊建筑师傅厚民 (Andre Fu) 展露头角名作。

夏初日光灿灿,奕居派车依时停泊于置地文华东方酒店大门前。礼宾团队办妥退房,一众偕笔者自云石阶梯却级珍重话别,并将数件细软行李交付予身着白衫清朗的奕居同仁。自中环驱车,沿皇后大道前往金钟,仅短短数分钟矣,咫尺间却可一览香港酒店与英商发展史。前有怡和集团与香港文华东方酒店不朽雍容,道经九仓瑰宝美利酒店 (The Murray),便抵达太古集团冠冕奕居酒店。

金钟山阜苍翠蓊郁,礼车缓缓驶过太古广场,泊于石灰岩饰回车廊,一派惬意。礼宾团队久候,引领笔者穿越前厅内敛尔雅,上行套房内办理入住。奕居迎宾扶梯双饰灯笼,彤光朦胧,尽展傅氏东方静谧审美。

华风

如居似舍,奕居以开阔尺度为经,家外之家优容款待,纬织罕见奢侈体验,独步东西。入门房型 Studio 70 面积逾七百平方呎,设置为套房绰绰有余,放眼东亚已属稀罕,且泰半面积巧划为浴室,覆以莱姆石清润,自成一方胜景。随助理客户关系总监步入下榻 Suite 90,维港景致明媚无遮,起居室橡木自适宁静,缀以瓷青榄绿织品,往卧室流淌静谧。

穿越高挑梳妆室,石饰浴室宛如汉白玉,偌大浴池居于正中,对称之美令人屏息,却无一丝显摆慑人,宛如能剧舞台。置身其中静享浸浴,远眺金钟群山旖旎,烦忧全然抛诸身后,窃得浮生半日闲。傅氏美学超群,始业迄今逾十五载,奕居丝毫不显疲态,诸多机关巧思奉为世代圭臬,其来有自。

如家似归,惣心服务殷勤妥贴,更令奕居体验为宾客津津乐道。套房沙发上置瑜珈垫与瑜珈砖,迎宾美点精选各色坚果与果干排盘,房内Maxi Bar奉予多款无偿轻饮与零食,更遑论上乘衣物熨烫与客房餐饮安排。笔者最为赞叹奕居房务同仁精心,迷你酒窖内备妥多樽零卡可乐,随意畅饮。

繁花

远距交办妥公私琐事,便挨坐窗边赋闲浅啜无糖轻饮。午后维港潋滟,波光金澄似锦,甫下榻时种种颖奇感受渐褪,换由自在与从容取而代之,凭添一份熟悉奥妙,仿如搭乘国泰航空般体贴殷切。

暮色四合,匆匆乘车返回中环,与酒店业内知交相约文华顶楼The Aubrey小酌。日式风格调酒一如既往完美无缺,东京湾直送鱼生上乘鲜留齿颊,天妇罗烫热且面衣薄如蝉翼,不能怪笔者长年钟情文华。诸多友人难得齐聚,宛如小型联合国,闲聊话叙家常之余,更聚焦百载怡和与太古竞合史。

从利物浦到上海,再转往珠江口,英商大班兴衰,见证中华千年远流如何与西方文明碰撞,转型并浴火新生。笔者忖思,太古与怡和融贯华洋的敦厚风格浃髓沦肤,与香江繁盛紧密不可分,一如奕居天井内饰由东瀛金属雕塑家泽田浩俊 (Hirotoshi Sawada) 杰作,以维港粼粼水光为灵感,飞升幻化为东西交织双螺旋。

远瞩

次日姗起,从卧房望出,仍然是那不腻维港港景。随意梳洗后便轻装往顶楼全日餐厅Salisterra用早膳。从两覆云石梯厅步出,阳光从天井牛眼窗金灿泻下,美不胜收。不成想总经理Kristina Snaith-Lense恰好从天桥另一端走来,亲切寒暄后便陪同笔者窗边入座。

Salisterra@upperhouse_hkg

Kristina Snaith-Lense甫获亚太版T+L旅游杂志选为香港年度最佳酒店总经理。关于女力与酒店产业前瞻影响,她热切分享道:「女性经理人敏感且充满同理的视角,能带领团队提供更细腻且温柔的宾客体验,这对于酒店业至关重要。香港酒店业可以很自豪走在全球前端,有许多超奢酒店都是娘子领军,这并不多见。」

而关于居舍系列以及所属太古酒店在亚太的展望,她接着说道:「居舍系列希望可以跳脱传统酒店视角与定义,每一间由太古打造的居舍都是独特的。我们非常人为中心,无论是宾客还是同仁,这是居舍系列酒店如何成为全球旅客下榻首选的原因。我们也期许在不远的未来,旅客可以在深圳、西安与东京体验居舍。」

封面:Joseph Wan
图片:Joseph Wan/@upperhouse_hkg
撰文:Joseph Wan
分享你的喜爱
marketing
marketing
文章: 1102

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料