Noma Kyoto Speaks of The City’s Time-honoured Elegance

The most common question I got on this visit to Noma Kyoto was: Is it good?

After 20 years of championing new Nordic cuisine, Chef René Redzepi has decided to transform Noma Copenhagen into a full-time food laboratory by the end of 2024. Those who want to have a taste of Noma’s avant-garde cuisine will have to follow up closely on periodic pop-ups held in the future.

@TastyTrip YouTube

René Redzepi and Author

I visited Noma several times in the past, but I haven’t had a chance to go to Copenhagen for almost three years due to covid. Last year I heard that Noma was planning to do a pop-up, which later turned out to be in Kyoto, so I decided to visit this time. A mecca for its fans, Noma is as influential as Spain’s El Bulli which pioneered the culinary trend known as molecular gastronomy. Generations of chefs trained at Noma have travelled near and far to sow the philosophy of new Nordic cuisine, which has now taken root in places around the world.

Noma has operated pop-ups in Tokyo, Australia and Mexico, and this time it takes place at the Ace Hotel in Kyoto. It was by chance that René saw a photo on Instagram of the hotel, a 1926 building renovated and extended by Japanese architect Kengo Kuma. Renéasked if Noma could come to the hotel to do a pop-up and Noma Kyoto was finally decided after Japan announced lifting covid restrictions on foreign tourists.

Noma Australia@reneredzepinoma_instagram

For the 10-week residency at the Ace Hotel, René brought a crew of 103 people. I was in Kyoto in March doing culinary research (catching up on my writing) when I saw the team getting off two tour buses. And I could recognise some familiar faces from the crowd: chef Kenneth Foong said he was very confident about the menu this season; that evening I also met Mario, a Chinese chef working at Noma. I was really looking forward to what Noma Kyoto has to offer.

To avoid tourist crowds, I came to Kyoto when the cherry blossom season was over and stayed at the Ace Hotel as well. The hotel has a very modern design, with some areas performing library functions to create a strong sense of community. It’s a concept of East meets West, an interplay of hippie culture and art of oriental architecture.

To better relate to the local cuisine, Noma Kyoto’s dining space is decorated with elements of kombu and dashi is frequently used in the dishes. Noma Copenhagen is surely no stranger to using seaweed during the seafood season though.

It’s been a few years since I wrote about Noma again, and I’ve really thought it through. The new Noma 2.0 cookbook contains dishes spanning two seasons, evoking memories of the past. As it has for years, the restaurant explores the possibilities of a full range of ingredients, presenting the best of them conveyed through an unimaginably elaborate process that is both wild and traditional, unpretentious but time-consuming. In the spirit of Noma 2.0, the Kyoto pop-up pays true homage to the city’s profound history and diverse culture, with local approach in ingredient selection, preparation and presentation.

The opening amuse-bouche is a Hassun (八寸) dish that pays tribute to Kyoto’s kaiseki cuisine, which normally sets the seasonal theme. It is presented by Chinese chef representative Mario, evoking in me a sense of closeness to the dish. Sweet and sour pickled cherry leaf is spread with black garlic puree, very appetizing. Tomato jelly covered in dried pollen exudes a poetic beauty; yuba and ramson make a very special match that’s inspired by a touch of Kyoto. There is a non-negligible population in Japan with pollen allergies, so the staff would make sure no one with pollen allergies is served this dish. But pollen is indeed a springtime produce often used at Noma and the fans are well aware of that. There is also a koji cake with ginger, dried tomato and rose. Demonstrated through these moreish and colourful bites, Noma approaches its food with simple elegance and natural processing (such as using sun-dried ingredients).

Hassun (八寸)

The shabu-shabu (Japanese-style hot pot) features a dashi broth made with smoked kombu seaweed and pine needle, kept warm by a heated stone placed inside the pot. Chef Ishizaka, previously at Inua, took the opportunity to kindly give us a kombu lesson, explaining to us the various types and origins of kombu, from Hokkaido’s young kombu to Okinawa’s local kombu. Here we have an assortment of Japanese kombu, accompanied by Kochi spinach hearts and roots, konatsu yuzu, fermented seaweed, and sea buckthorn yuzu vinegar.

Shabu-Shabu

The cuttlefish slices are marinated in whisky vinegar and served chilled on a square of ice. Enjoy this delicacy once it’s served for best mouthfeel – what a wonderful soft-crunchy texture! Also presented is a shiro ebi and miso crisp tart with (I think) local ants. It reminds me of Noma’s 2016 documentary called Ants on a Shrimp, which follows the superstar chef and his team as they relocate to Japan to set up a pop-up in Tokyo. The sweet shrimp complements the super fresh acidic notes from the ants while the miso crisp rounds off the lovely dish. The jelly on top is peach gum cooked in kombu & bonito broth.

Cuttlefish and Whisky Vinegar/Shiro Ebi and Miso Crisp

Tokushima bamboo shoots are cooked in miso broth, paired with corn & bonito sauce and placed in squid broth infused with jasmine tea. Tender tips of the bamboo shoots are so thinly sliced that I marveled: “It’s been a long time since I’ve tasted such tender bamboo shoots!” The use of jasmine tea is ingenious, contributing to this elegant, stunning dish.

The kombu broth for the swordfish belly sashimi is almost as rich as brown butter, but with a hint of acidity to balance the delicate richness of the fatty fish belly. 

Bamboo Shoots in Squid Broth/Swordfish Belly

The tofu dish is a salute to Kyoto cuisine as well. Noma Copenhagen is well versed in tofu making. Here we have tofu made from mung bean soy milk and served with nasturtium, a common ingredient in Nordic cuisine, topped with shaved wild almonds for a layered texture and an elegant presentation.

A highly sought after fish found along the coastline of Hokkaido, the kinki fish (thornyhead) is marinated with miso and grilled until crispy outside and tender inside. It is incredibly juicy and elevated by an intense flavour of mayonnaise.

Tofu and Wild Almonds/Kinki

With precise cooking time control, lotus root steak is slowly barbecued with juniper berry and porcini soy sauce to mimic the taste and texture of meat. The serving sauce is made from Yamato clams and egg yolk that carries a peppery aroma. The lotus root is already amazing on its own.

Lotus Root Steak

Echoing the abundance of ferns harvested this time of year, Noma presents sansai (wild mountain vegetables) in fresh and grilled forms, beautifully presented on a platter and paired with tomalley miso sauce. A “Kyotoisation” of a classic Noma dish, or a “Nomalisation” of Kyoto sansei?

The main course features charcoal-smoked Ise ebi with sansho leaf and baby lime, underneath which is air-dried smoked pumpkin, sweetcorn and tomato in a kombu sauce. The perfectly cooked lobster is pure lusciousness.

Mountain Vegetables(Sansai)/Ise Ebi

Lavishly topped with rose petals, the aromatic Kamameshi (Japanese iron pot rice) presents glutinous rice from Ishigaki Island (top rice producing area in Okinawa) cooked in ginseng tea and dashi and flavoured with rose vinegar and rose oil. The rice grains are cooked al dente and blend harmoniously with the rose. The dish is a testify that kamameshi can be charming in itself even without seafood.

For dessert, there is a yuzu smoothie presented in the form of shijimi clams. A subverted version of strawberry daifuku (mochi stuffed with strawberry), dried strawberry filled with mochi is coupled with roast sweet potato drizzled with amazake (Japanese fermented rice drink) and finished up with cream. Eggfruit is also topped with condensed amazake and has a similar texture to avocado that has won me over.

Green rice and roses/Yuzu Shilimi Clams/Dried Strawberry and Mochi

The pairing sakes throughout the menu are all sourced from suburban regions of Kyoto, which is not an easy thing to do within such a short time. What is even more remarkable is that Noma does not show off its techniques to seek attention, nor does it go for extreme minimalism, but creates a unique dining experience with a menu that’s both inventive and rooted in Kyoto’s history and rich culinary traditions.

Summoning a team of more than 100 staff, Noma Kyoto is more than just a pop-up, and it’s not just about whether it tastes good or not. Although the food world is split on the plan of Noma Copenhagen turning into a food laboratory and will be open only for periodic pop-ups around the world to continue its ethos, Noma is an ever-learning organisation, dedicated to food innovation and the development of new flavours. The close of Noma as a full-time restaurant will only be the end of an old chapter, not the end of its pursuit of groundbreaking work in food.

Author: Jocelyn 华姐
Photo: Monica/instagram
Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 298

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

Read previous post:
Restaurant Born: New Chinese Cuisine Inspired By French Flair

In Singapore, Restaurant Born has been ranked among the Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants for its first entry in less than...

Close

【Jocelyn专栏】百人阵仗落脚京都 Noma Kyoto全纪录

这次到Noma Kyoto最多人询问我的问题就是:好吃吗?

Noma20年来在世界引领新北欧料理之后,主厨René Redzepi决定2024年底哥本哈根Noma熄灯转作实验室,在未来想要品尝Noma料理的人只能追随他的脚步拜访快闪餐厅。

@TastyTrip YouTube

René Redzepi和笔者

虽然过去拜访Noma好几次,但因疫情已经接近三年没去哥本哈根,去年听闻 Noma计划做popup,后来确定落地京都,就决定拜访。有许多的Noma追随者到 Noma都是为了朝圣,其地位已如西班牙El Bulli创造分子料理时代,Noma培养的优秀厨师到世界各地播洒新北欧料理哲学的种子,现在已开枝散叶,代代更迭的意义非凡。

Noma快闪实验造访过东京、澳大利亚、墨西哥,这次选择京都是一个浪漫的过程,René在一个偶然的情况下看Ace Hotel Kyoto建筑师隈研吾在Instagram上的一张照片,饭店将建立于1926年的京都老建筑改造外加新建全新大楼。就主动写信询问疫情结束后能否来做快闪,几经波折,直到日本宣布开放的时间比预期中晚,Noma京都终于正式启动。

Noma Australia@reneredzepinoma_instagram

René就从哥本哈根带了103人的团队来执行为期十周的餐厅。我三月在京都做美食研究(赶稿子)时遇见这个阵仗,当时团队刚下两部游览车,酒店大堂满满的人潮,有些是两年多前的熟面孔,主厨Kenneth Foong说到他对这一季的菜单非常有信心,当天晚上也终于见到在Noma工作的中国厨师Mario,着实让我很期待Noma Kyoto的表现。

为避开观光人潮,这次我特别在樱花季后来到Noma,也选择下榻Ace Hotel Kyoto,酒店国际化很深,有点图书馆的意味,也有很强的社群感。许多访客都因为其由日本著名建筑师隈研吾设计,在此可以感受到西方嬉皮文化与东方古老建筑艺术的碰撞。

Noma为了展现日式料理风情,餐厅空间以昆布为意象做为装饰素材,或许也是为了传达本地化的符号,出汁一直都在日料理是贯穿的存在,当然Noma本店的海鲜季也有许多的海带大量使用,对此Noma并不陌生。

以往拜访过多次Noma,然而再次提笔已是几年后,我着实思考了。 这次2.0的新书里面有三个季度的菜品, 也是我过去流逝的回忆。 精确的说 ,Noma的菜品无一不是在展现食材的最佳状态,透过超乎想像的繁复传统方式的工艺传达,说是原生态(wild)也是复古。野生的气息,接近真实,不矫揉造作,却耗时费力。这次以Noma 2.0的精神来致敬京都这座古老而优雅的城市,从食材的选用、料理的作法与呈现都非常的在地化。

开场的致敬京料理的“8 寸”就令人惊艳,由中国厨师代表Mario呈上,格外有亲切感。腌制樱花叶抹上黑蒜泥,滋味酸甜开胃,花粉与番茄果冻美的诗意,汤叶和野蒜是很特别的搭配,有点京都的味道。虽然日本人有许多花粉过敏人口,但也确实是这个季节独有的产物,如果是Noma老粉应该对此不陌生。另外还有姜味麴蛋糕,番茄干搭配玫瑰。除了酸爽开胃之外,富丽的色彩也让人感到绝无冷场。Noma善于利用大自然手法,几乎是复古的方式来处理食物,譬如在太阳下烘干食材。

8寸

Shabu Shabu汤底使用烟熏幼昆布与松针做成的出汁,汤里放入加热的石头来保温,很有意思,先前在Inua的厨师Ishizaka san趁机做昆布教育,解释昆布的类别与来源,从北海道的幼昆布到冲绳的土墙藻,来自日本各地的不同海藻,加上高知县的当地菠菜心和根,以及小夏柑,伴以当地发酵海藻,沙棘果柚子醋。

海藻涮涮锅

接下来的墨鱼薄片使用威士忌醋腌制,冰镇在方型冰块上,必须尽快食用,脆既糯是什么美妙的口感!同时呈上的是白虾和味增脆片挞,搭配(应该是)本地的蚂蚁,想到当初Noma东京的纪录片就叫做虾上蚂蚁是其中一道菜,重回日本后依旧是一道互相呼应的菜品,白虾的鲜甜与蚂蚁的酸爽互相辉映,配上味增脆片让整道菜画龙点睛。顶上的啫喱是用昆布柴鱼高汤煮过的桃胶。

乌贼和威士忌醋/白虾和味增脆片挞

接下来是来自徳岛的竹笋,用高汤和味噌水煮熟,配上玉米鲣节酱,以茉莉花茶叶为基底的乌贼汤汁,将最细嫩的笋尖切成薄片 “好久没有品尝过这么嫩的笋!茉莉花茶在此运用的十分巧妙、优雅,是令人惊叹的一道菜。

剑鱼肚刺身的汤汁是昆布鱼汤,浓郁的程度宛如Brown Butter,带些微的酸度,不过脂肪较为细致不厚重,搭配这样的酱汁收互补之效。

竹笋乌贼汤/剑鱼肚刺身

再来一道向京都致敬的豆腐料理,哥本哈根的Noma对于制作豆腐已经很熟悉。豆腐是以绿豆浆制成,搭配旱金莲花,这种花在北欧料理经常出现,上面撒上野杏仁削,豆腐口感细嫩,摆盘优雅。

金吉鱼先腌后烤,口感外酥内软,汁水丰沛,制作得相当精细,使用味增腌制外,蛋黄酱味道更强烈。

豆腐和野杏仁/金吉鱼

再来一道莲藕排,莲藕口感软糯适中,展现时间掌握的准确度,烤莲藕整体放在烤架上,上面加上杜松子和牛肝菌酱油,以大和蚬和蛋黄制成的酱汁带有一些胡椒香气,酱汁显得多余了些。

莲藕排

山菜是呼应这个季节收获丰富的蕨类植物,Noma以新鲜或炭烤方式呈现,搭配虾脑味噌调制的酱汁,这也是Noma经典菜的京都化,或说是京都山菜的nomalize。

接着主菜是由炭烟熏的伊势龙虾,搭配山椒叶及小青柠,底下有风干烟熏南瓜,玉米,番茄做成的酱,搭配昆布的酱汁,虾肉本身有完美的熟度,是纯粹的美味。

山菜/伊势龙虾

釜饭掀盖后香气扑鼻,上面撒上满满玫瑰花瓣,使用来自石垣岛的绿糯米经过参茶与出汁蒸煮以玫瑰醋和玫瑰油调味,粒粒分明,口感介于糙米与糯米之间,与玫瑰味道毫不违和,这道饭不需要蟹肉锦上添花,米本身就相当迷人。

甜点是做成大和蚬样的柚子冰沙,栩栩如生。干燥草莓内馅是麻糬,是本地化草莓大福的颠覆版本,搭配烤红薯上淋上甘酒和奶油。鸡蛋果也加上浓缩甘酒,口感类似牛油果,也深得我心。

绿米和玫瑰/柚子大和蚬/草莓干麻薯搭配烤红薯

整套菜搭配的清酒产地都是近郊区域,短时间能找到这些酒已经很不容易。更难能可贵的是,Noma不选择大胆献技,创造话题,也不是一昧追求极简,而是运用本身的烹饪工艺,去呼应京都文化与饮食的特性,将古城的优雅展现的淋漓尽致。

动用上百人的阵仗,Noma Kyoto绝对不只是快闪而已,也不是单纯的好吃与否可以断定,虽然美食界对于哥本哈根转型做实验室,搭配popup延续Noma精神的评价正反两极,但Noma就是一个学习性的组织,Noma京都只是阶段性的总结,在永不止尽的道路上,Noma的结束只会是一个章节的句点,不是终点。

文字: Jocelyn 华姐

图片: Monica/餐厅instagram

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 329

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料