A Talk with Chef Kawate: Florilège Embarks on New Journey

Tokyo’s Michelin two-starred restaurant Florilège has been temporarily closed since this 20 July and will be moving to a new location. For many people, this would be a reluctant farewell to the delicious memories they have had here.

At one of the most beautiful counter-style seating restaurants, Chef Hiroyasu Kawate has earned two Michelin stars for his culinary prowess and Florilège was ranked number three on Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants 2022. Florilège has created many unforgettable flavours for its diners and is a proud flagship in bringing French cuisine to Asia. I was lucky enough to dine here one last time before the restaurant moved. That day we booked out the entire restaurant for lunch and Chef Kawate created a special menu and wine pairing for us.

Wine pairing

Vegetables were still at the heart of the dishes at Florilège that day. Zucchini is topped with some baked almond slices, paired with aubergine purée and curry sauce made with zucchini purée. The zucchini is juicy and tender, and the almond slices add an extra crunch as well as some nutty flavour to the dish. The eggplant purée and curry sauce are smooth and silky, enhancing the sweetness of the zucchini. The rhubarb ice cream wrapped in fried squash blossoms and topped with strawberry powder was a surprise, but not at all out of place.

July is the season for Ayu (sweetfish). Here the fish bones are separated from the flesh and deep fried separately. It is presented inside a corn taco with perilla leaves. The ayu is tender and juicy, alongside refreshing perilla leaves and chewy corn taco. Every bite is full of multiple textures and flavours, finished off with a zippy drizzling of lemon juice. The fennel dish uses a seafood broth and is drizzled with some fennel green tea oil on top. The combination of fennel and umami abalone composes an elegant enjoyment.

Zucchini with eggplant purée and curry sauce / Fried zucchini flower with rhubarb ice-cream/ Sweetfish Taco

The beautiful chicory and black truffle is a warming dish. Chicory is marinated in white miso, steamed, peeled in slices, and sandwiched with black truffle slices. The sauce is made with tofu skin, which makes a warm and soothing dish.White turnip (daikon) is steamed to retain its original sweetness, then deep-fried for a crispy texture before being finally sprinkled with kombu powder, kombu oil, and garnished with watercress. The creamy clam béchamel with caviar ties the entire dish together, bringing the umami from the ocean and sweetness of the vegetables to another level. I never thought turnip could be made so rich and satisfying.

As a signature dish of the restaurant, duck is bathed constantly with its own fat to get a golden-brown exterior. Plated with beetroot sauce and asparagus, the sweetness from the vegetables elevates the umami of the duck with its fatty skin fusing perfectly with the sauce. The result is soft and juicy with a lingering aftertaste.

Duck with beetroot

First dessert is Miyazaki mango slices drizzled with velvety mango sauce. At the bottom there is coconut ice cream and on top is powdered milk using liquid nitrogen as the cryogen. The finale is a regular item on the menu featuring Amazonian cacao beans. Inside the omelette is silky, bittersweet dark chocolate lava, coupled with whipped cream, crushed cacao and a dash of espresso to balance out the bitterness of the chocolate.

Mango with coconut ice-cream/Amazon cacao omelette

I sat next to Chef Kawate at the counter and we talked a lot about his decision and future plans. “Deep down, I have always been thinking about creating a restaurant with a long dining table,” there was nostalgia in his voice, “Initially, I wanted to open a restaurant with that kind of ambiance. However, due to various reasons, I couldn’t make it happen, so the current restaurant design is the second choice.”

However, even as a second choice, Chef Hiroyasu Kawate has not given up his dedication to his dream. “Even while working in the current restaurant, I have been constantly pondering about this idea: a restaurant with a French-style, long wooden dining table,” his expression was somehow blue, as if he were remembering the old days, “The timing is just right, and it perfectly aligns with my vision. Everything seems to be in perfect harmony, which has led me to decide to relocate.”

Chef Hiroyasu Kawate

Sounding a bit sentimental, he says the decision to relocate isn’t that he is bored with the current operation, but he has new goals in mind. “I have new ideas and goals and I want to step onto a new platform.” He choked up a little over the sadness of having to leave the place where he had spent many years cultivating. “But if I want to pursue new goals and make new attempts, sticking to the status quo becomes difficult. I don’t open this restaurant to win awards, but to make our guests happy. I hope our guests can experience a new concept through our cuisine. All this needs to be achieved by constantly making changes. Although there is a lot to be missed, I still want to work towards my new goals.”

Chef Hiroyasu Kawate and the Author

Chef Hiroyasu Kawate’s decision is not a simple farewell, but a determined pursuit of his vision. The next iteration of Florilège will replace the counter with one communal table. Let’s look forward to a brand new journey for Florilège.
*The new Florilege restaurant is EXPECTED to open at the end of September.

Author: Jocelyn 华姐

Photo: Katherine Gu

Share your love
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
Articles: 329

Subscribe Newsletter

Stay tuned with us.

Please fill up your information.

【Jocelyn专栏】东京Florilege 2.0 结业丨专访主厨川手宽康:开放板前到共享法式餐桌

东京米其林两星Florilege餐厅,已在今年7月20日关上为食客敞开的大门,将搬迁至新的地点。这个决定对许多人而言,无疑是一段错愕的别离,意味与在这里的美味回忆告别。

在这个最美丽的板前餐厅之一,川手宽康主厨以他精湛的厨艺赢得了米其林两星的荣耀,并在亚洲50最佳餐厅排名中最高名次第三(2022)。他的餐厅,曾是许多人尝遍了人生滋味的地方,也是将法式料理带进亚洲的一面骄傲的旗帜。我有幸在餐厅搬迁之前,最后到此用餐,当天中午我们包场,川手主厨也特别为我们创作了特别菜单以及配酒。

配酒

Florilege 当天菜品依旧以蔬食为主角。其中一道典雅的节瓜,薄脆的杏仁片被整齐地铺在上面,搭配着茄子泥和节瓜泥的咖喱酱汁。节瓜保持着水分充足的鲜嫩,烘烤过的杏仁片赋予了松脆口感和坚果香气,与茄子泥和咖喱酱的丝滑口感交相呼应,共同凸显出节瓜的甘甜。一旁搭配炸节瓜花里包裹的大黄冰淇淋表面是草莓粉,有种奇思异想,却又毫不违和。

七月份是香鱼的季节,传统炭烤香鱼不甘于平凡,骨肉分离后,鱼骨独立酥炸。香鱼搭配紫苏叶和玉米塔可饼,香鱼肉质细腻,紫苏叶的清新与taco的香甜相互映衬,勾勒出层次分明的口感,而柠檬酱汁则提供了清爽的收尾。茴香菜使用鱼为基础的高汤,淋上茴香绿茶香油,茴香的鲜甜与鲍鱼的鲜味相互融合,呈现出一道雅致的佳肴。

节瓜佐茄泥与咖喱酱/炸节瓜裹大黄冰淇淋/香鱼塔可

美妙的菊苣与黑松露千层是道暖暖内含光的菜品,先用白味增腌制过菊苣之后它蒸熟,一片片剥开,然后把黑松露片夹入,酱汁以汤叶(腐皮)制成,品尝来温润而舒心,真心是和魂法餐。接下来一道蒸煮的白萝卜保留了本身的甜味,经过油炸后变得酥脆,配以昆布粉和昆布油,再以水芹叶点缀,与奶油蛤蜊白酱和鱼子酱的搭配,实现了海鲜与蔬菜的和谐交融,从来没有想过白萝卜可以带来如此的满足感。

作为餐厅招牌主菜的鸭肉,经过不断淋上鸭油以获得金黄色的外皮,搭配甜菜根酱汁和芦笋,融合了蔬菜的清甜与鸭肉的鲜味,鸭皮的油脂与甜菜根酱汁相得益彰,口感柔软多汁,令人回味无穷。

鸭肉佐甜菜根

第一道甜品以宫崎县芒果切成薄片,搭配甜美浓郁的芒果酱汁和椰子冰淇淋,再撒上液氮冻制成的牛奶粉末。收场是一直在菜单上的常客,以亚马逊可可豆制作的甜点呈现出外层巧克力薄皮包裹内部融化的巧克力熔岩,搭配鲜奶油、可可碎和咖啡浓缩,平衡了苦甜之间的味道,呈现出亚马逊巧克力的独特特点。

芒果椰子冰淇淋/亚马逊巧克力蛋卷

透过这次的机会,我与主厨川手宽康深入的对话。他与我坐在板前,真挚地道出他内心的所想。「我心里一直梦想着,将这个餐厅打造成拥有法式长桌的氛围,」他的声音中透露着对过往的留恋。「一开始,我画下了这样的蓝图,但因种种原因,我们的设计渐变成现在的样子,这可以说是我的第二选择。」

然而,即便是第二选择,主厨川手宽康并未放弃对梦想的执着。「我一直在思考如何在餐厅里实现法式长桌的梦想,这个概念一直伴随着我。」他表情有些伤感,彷彿在回忆着过去的日子。「现在,我们终于找到了一个可以实现这个梦想的机会,时机如此成熟,新地点不仅符合了我的理念,更符合了种种条件,于是我决定迁移。」

主厨川手宽康

主厨川手宽康表示,这次的搬迁并非对现有餐厅感到厌倦了,而是他心中有了新的愿景和目标。「我希望追求更高的飞翔,迈向崭新的境地,这是我决定迁移的原因。」他语带哽咽,透露一点不舍。「我对这家餐厅和厨房充满了感情,乘载着太多的回忆。然而,如果我想要突破旧有的局限,尝试新的创意,就不能停滞不前。我经营这家餐厅的初衷并非为了得奖,更希望能让客人开心。透过我的料理,我希望能为客人带来崭新的食物理念,而这一切都需要不断地创新和变革。虽然我对离开这里充满不舍,但我更渴望投身于新的目标,全心全意地追求着。」

主厨川手宽康与笔者

主厨川手宽康的决定不仅是阶段性的告别,更是对于理想的坚定追求。从到全新的共享餐桌餐厅,期待Florilege全新的旅程。
*Florilege新餐厅“预计”九月底开幕。
文字: Jocelyn 华姐
图片: Katherine Gu
分享你的喜爱
Jocelyn Chen
Jocelyn Chen
文章: 301

订阅电子报

Subscribe tastytrip newsletter.

请填写您的订阅资料
查看上一篇:
全球餐饮动态:巴黎前米二主厨佐藤伸一回归;日本Tabelog发布冰淇淋百名店

Amsfield蝉联新西兰“年度餐厅”;...

关闭